Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctor Freaks Journal - The "Oga Alex '' In Us....

Saturday, November 27, 2021

Doctor Freaks Journal - The "Oga Alex '' In Us....

This writeup is strictly for men..... LOL

12 February 2020:

I arrived at my home, into the waiting warm hands of my Ekiti Queen. The aroma from the kitchen was irresistible! Wify just made "Egusi" soup and my favourite at that (it's been like that since I got married) -"Eba Yibo" and a chilled bottle of water to wash it down (for the records, not beer or brandy oh).
If you're not married to an Igbo woman, you don't and won't know what you're missing. Lol.

That I've had a hectic day was an understatement! 

From the mechanic to meeting after meeting and finally, SARS (I'm a lawyer, remember). Meanwhile, I still had a short agreement to review that tonight. In any event, a spirit had been urging me on all day to write about a friend. The one who not too many will want to associate with considering the circumstances surrounding his death. 

There was this story that trended about a girl -Perry (real name withheld) in whose company a man -Alex had reportedly given up the ghost. May his soul rest in peace.

I knew him, yes and I called him "Oga Alex". He was a year my junior in the university. We both studied law at the same university.

We both conversed in Yoruba language, in fact, I laboured under the illusion that he was Yoruba all through our days at the university. Not as if where he came from mattered anyway. He was older, but he was a jolly good fellow. 

I "taught" him International Law (I fiddled with tutorials in International Law in my university days and he was one of my "students". I had a particular encounter with him and same stuck till date. 

I had lots of female friends in my "uni days", quite a number of them, all platonic, yes (and some naughty ones smile). "Oga Alex" led me to a corner and spoke to me the way an elder brother would speak to his younger one, the one whom he loves. He was like young man, you think life is all about following girls up and down? "Life is tough out there, you had better start thinking of how you will make money after school".

On a very serious note, I actually became scared of the future for the first time from that moment. Funnily enough, I started avoiding him. He was such a great influence. Today, I'm mourning the same man who gave me tutorials on women.

Fast forward, news broke about a man who died in his hotel room and that a s#x-worker was reportedly found in that same room. Pills were also discovered. Aphrodisiacs and high blood pressure drugs. What a combination. The two don't mix now! The girl was reportedly detained and she was accused of murder, allegedly and many have been advocating for her on the face of the social media.

The aim of this write-up is not to judge "Oga Alex" or Perry, far from it. Guess what, men, we need to talk to ourselves -man-to-man. It is easy to judge "Oga Alex" now that he's gone to meet his maker in a most inglorious way. I would have prayed for the repose of his soul, but my faith does not subscribe to that concept. 

This is a story for another day. For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. The aim still is not to judge the men, the aim is to rub minds with fellow men. In our quiet time, let us take a cue from "Oga Alex". Growing up, there was this advert that goes thus: "e fit be you oh". In the "Days of Grace" "we" may have got away with some acts including but not limited to rolling with "Conference Materials", "Travelling Partners", "Olosho", etc (before the women would start decoding, let me save the rest.)

It is rather unfortunate that "Oga Alex" had to go the way he went. May his soul rest in perfect peace (no harm in wishing him that, but I'm also mindful of the fact that one cannot pray for the dead, in my faith).

Men, a word is enough for the wise.

its me 
Kunle

14 comments:

1. He really gave you good advice. Many don't get it until it is too late. Quite ironic how he ended up, though who am I to judge? He may have given you that advice from experience. Anyway who is to say that he wouldn't have wanted to go like that?
      Hmmmmm, let men enjoy the wife of their youth and be content.
      Well done Uncle Kunle.

2. Also knew the Oga Alex, from a distance tho..

Apart from the 'embarrassment' involved, some men won't mind 'going' through that way, but in an older age, say between 80-90 years๐Ÿค”

3. Anyhow a man like, he should do himself. May God grant me love life. My husband’s side chick will be the ones to take care of him in his old age, that’s sure. I just Dey look am. God should continue to bless my hussle, bless my children and make them comfortable. May they not forget the way of God that I taught them. Na to follow go take care of grandchildren when I grow old o. He shouldn’t continue to follow small girls up and down.

4. What I don't understand is going to the extreme to please a woman with the usage of drugs. If na one min the stuff last, get up, dust body and waka. The same girl that's likely to bed another guy within mins of leaving you, it's just senless. The peace of mind that goes with loyalty is out of this world.

1. Oga i wonder oo, you want to impress ashawo, ashawo wey just want your money.

2. ๐Ÿ‘Œ@your last sentence

5. "A word is enough for the wise"... Nice one sir

6. Keep it up Kunle. I hope they will hear.

7. Nice write up ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

8. a man without Christ is all vanity...yes I will judge, stop fornicating and committing adultery...for men they think it is their birthright as men and moreso Africans to do and undo...stop sleeping around...except a man be born again he will not enter the kingdom of heaven. so yes except you (man, woman) repent and change your ways, if you die in sin you will go to hell..