Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UK Suspends Processing Of Visitor Visa Applications From All Countries In Its Red List...

Monday, December 06, 2021

UK Suspends Processing Of Visitor Visa Applications From All Countries In Its Red List...

The British High Commission has suspended the processing of visitor visa applications from all red list countries, including Nigeria.

This was announced in a statement issued by the commission, a development coming hours after the UK added Nigeria to its travel red list as a result of concerns over the Omicron COVID variant.

The UK said the decision on the suspension of processing visitor visa applications in Nigeria would be in effect until the travel ban was lifted.

The statement read in part, “To support the UK Government’s aim to protect public health from COVID-19 and associated variants of concern (VOC), UK Visas & Immigration (UKVI) will pause making decisions on visitor visa applications in all red list countries, including Nigeria, until travel restrictions are lifted.

“Visit visas cover travel to the UK for tourism, visiting family and friends, undertaking short-term business activities (for example, attending meetings), undertaking short-term studies (under 6 months), taking part in research or exchange programmes as an academic, medical reasons (for example, receiving private medical treatment).

“If you apply for a visit visa in a red list country and you meet the UK Immigration Rules, your application will be paused. You will not receive a decision on your visit visa application whilst red list travel restrictions remain in place.

“You will not be able to request a refund of your visa fee once you have given your biometrics at a Visa Application Centre (VAC). If you already hold a valid visit visa and are intending to travel to England as a visitor from a red list country, you will not be allowed to enter.

“Separate guidance is available for travellers entering Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland

The commission also said visas or entry permits from red list countries would only be issued where there were compelling and compassionate circumstances.

It said, “There are only very limited exemptions to travel and entry requirements for critical workers and medical and compassionate cases. If you have submitted a visit visa application and you do not wish to withdraw, we will continue to hold your application. If you choose to continue with your visa application, you will not receive a decision on your visit visa whilst red list travel restrictions remain in place.”

from The Will Nigeria..

28 comments:

1. God pass them. Every evil plan & agenda the West have for Africa will surely backfire in Jesus name.

2. Racism at its peak and i don't really blame them that much...It's Africans that have blatantly refused to work together to deal them heavy blows and who doesn't know that they need us no matter how hard they try to pretend? I pray that Africa as a continent gets to regain Its lost glory soonest cos it isn't funny anymore..

1. UK sef dey ban people from from coming in. I don't blame you people. It's Africans that caused this rubbish. If they don't make you feel superior you won't dare do this😤

4. Does this affect student visa or dependent visa. Pls someone should educate me. Heart attack Don hold me oo.

1. Worry not, it's for your good too.

2. Wat stupid good. After I boro moni take apply for priory package..

3. In student cases, I think it’s only when your program is under the period of 6months. Others not inclusive

5. Ahhh the list wouldn't have been complete if Nigeria wasn't there,it would seem suspicious 😋😋🤪

6. Ncdc isn't helping issues at all, can a country like Nigeria detect a variant

1. Mad o 🤭😃

2. Lols.. it's well with Nigeria

7. Canada has ban all flights from Nigeria

8. They need our looted $$$€€€££ not the people. Most people that own homes with looted funds brag about their 10 year UK multiple visa. Imagine owning a home in a country that can deny you entry and access to that home, serves them right as the loot belongs to naija people. Fix Nigeria instead of traveling to England for knee replacement surgery or headache, they won’t hear. Omicron was just an excuse. Last last, na confiscate they will confiscate some of the assets bought with Naija commonwealth and convert it to their own under one excuse or another. Senseless rulers killing citizens with corruption.

1. Nobody need say no more. They will run to these countries to change their eyeglasses prescription and will not look to develop their own lands. And even now when it is stark clear what is happening in this world they still don't get it. Just happy massa is sending free vaccines for them to stay healthy. The same ones who dropped their private jet to poach young doctors to go fight pandemic in their nation, interesting how now Nigerians are not welcomed, now that they got what they want out of Nigeria. When will these leaders wake up and realize what is happening. It's been like that since the firs time these ppl landed in Africa, it's always wanting Africa or Africans to build them up or rescue them in some way.

9. Hope the ban stop Buhari from visiting also

10. Kaị!
    This is not a good development at all.

11. They should also ban the british -Nigerians from visiting their parents In Nigeria