Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Arraigns Popular Instagram Celebrity Mompha For Alleged N6b Fraud

Wednesday, January 12, 2022

EFCC Arraigns Popular Instagram Celebrity Mompha For Alleged N6b Fraud

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has arraigned a Dubai-based internet celebrity, Ismailia Mustapha, aka Mompha and his firm, Ismalob Global Investment Limited for alleged money laundering to the tune of over N6billion.

The agency arraigned Mompha and Ismalob before Justice Mojisola Dada of an Ikeja Special Offences Court on eight counts bordering on the offences.

The defendants were accused of conspiracy to launder funds obtained through unlawful activity, retention of such funds, transfer of funds for a suspect Olayinka Jimoh a.k.a Nappy Boy, and unlawful transfer of funds for a record label, among others.

The sums named in the charge seen by The Nation are N5,998,884.653.18, N32million, N120million and N15,960,000, totaling over N6billion.

The EFCC also alleged that Mompha concealed his interest in expensive wristwatches and other movable assets valued at over N70million.

Mompha pleaded “Not guilty” to the eight counts while Islamob Limited (represented by Mompha) was named in and pleaded “not guilty” to the first six counts.

Mompha is also standing trial at the Federal High Court in Lagos alongside Ismalob Global Investment Limited on an amended 22-count charge bordering on cyberfraud and money laundering to the tune of N32.9bn brought against him by the EFCC.

He pleaded not guilty to each of the counts.

12 comments:

1. 7 days for the thief, 1day for the owner, I'm waiting to see how this will play out

2. So Mompha na Agba Picker🤔🤔🥺🥺

3. Until I see this guy behind bars, I remain a Thomas.. Yeye dey smell.

Lovelace

4. Until I see this guy behind bars, I remain a Thomas.. Yeye dey smell.

Lovelace

5. Na wa oooooooo
    so this is how he makes all those billion, he brag about making

6. Odiegwu for our dear country's system. This gragra if for international bodies to comot eye for em body ba, if you escape man you no go escape God.#ifyouknowyouknow

7. I wish the charges were better flesh d out. In a country where Tinubu and Orji Uzoh Kalu are running for the highest office, efcc has to do better than just charge a business man for converting money in different currencies. A bureau de change has no business with investigating their customers. All they do is foreign exchange. If Effc thinks the funds are illegal, they should go after the people bringing it to this man's shop and not him. It's like suing McDonald's because someone used stolen money to buy a hamburger.