Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NDLEA Questions Socialite Obi Cubana For Alleged Drug Links

Friday, January 14, 2022

NDLEA Questions Socialite Obi Cubana For Alleged Drug Links

The National Drug Law Enforcement Agency on Thursday January 13,2022 grilled socialite, Obi Iyiegbu, aka Obi Cubana, for his alleged link to the illegal narcotic business.

The PUNCH reports that Iyiegbu, who is the Chairman, Cubana group of companies, was grilled for about five hours at the Abuja headquarters of the NDLEA before he was granted bail and asked to return at a future date.

Impeccable sources told Punch that suspicious payments were made into Cubana’s account by three convicted drug dealers from Malaysia, Nigeria and India.

Operatives of the NDLEA and the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission have now widened the probe into Cubana and his business network based on the premise that he may be involved in the drug business.

“Obi Cubana arrived at the NDLEA office around 9am and responded to questions for some hours before he was granted bail at 2pm. There are suspicions that he may be a drug kingpin. Some convicted drug dealers paid funds into his account.

“We have been able to establish three of such payments. One of the persons that paid money into his account was convicted in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; another one that was convicted in New Delhi, India; also paid money into his account while a third person that was arrested at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos and convicted in 2017, also paid money into Cubana’s account,” said a source.

The socialite was allowed to go home in order to get some documents which would be presented to the NDLEA.

The Spokesman for the NDLEA, Mr. Femi Babafemi, refused to comment when The Punch sought his reaction on Thursday.

An aide to the socialite, Chioma Nwachukwu, however, refused to comment on the matter when she was contacted by The Punch.

“There is no comment on the matter now,” she simply said.

73 comments:

1. Na wah ooo...
    These people are really out to destroy Obi!..
    He is a businessman for crying out loud and money can be paid into his account by different means..

Obi should be careful with people he allows in his circle..so many osu imis..ndi ufu obi

1. Forget that thing, when you know say at some point, your ways no pure based on some dirty deals and hustle, why not just lay low. All the while him dey low key, he was doing very well, his businesses equally doing well. But as typical black man, I must show off. Naim use him hand invite feds and every every for himself. And dem go ever see dirt on him. Now him Don dey try stay low key again, but the damage is already done....but wait, I think say everybody been dey hail ds ndlea boss Marwa before , unto say he is doing a good job....so why the attack on him now cos of this small investigation for una favourite? Naija people sef na wa. Wetin exactly we want sef?

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. If he's truly a genuine businessman, then he has nothing to fear.

4. Queen queen, because it is Obi Cubana, EFCC should not investigate their suspicion based on what was discovered. You should also advise him to not involve himself in any illegal business that may dent his image.

5. Queen leave matter.... nothing wrong with questioning. Obi too should lay low. I've learnt that when God blesses you, you go silent. It's people who don't understand spiritual things that make noise. I used to do it before but now I've learnt.

6. Why now? Since he buried his mum they have been inviting anf watching him. What of Tinubu. If they need loan they should say so, may be he can help Pa Buhari and APC . Yeye NDLEA.

2. we dey look na...flaunting money anyhow as if he is the most hard working...igbos, behold your brother wey una dey look like god.

1. This little comment of yours reeks of low self esteem, jealousy and tribalism.

2. Go and tell that to Tinubu idiot! Jealousy as always

3. Anon 09:56 you can't help the tribalism jab, right?

4. behold your brother wey una dey look like god 🀣🀣🀣

3. Ndlea over foreign transactions???
    Are they now Effc??

Since he did party in OBA na one case or another.

1. Go back and read slowly and try to comprehend.

2. 11:14..thanks seen the drug relatedπŸ€”

3. Wow Ibidunni so you commented without reading the post???? WOW!!

4. Staying low-key is the moto if you have so much money

1. If you know what you've been involved in.

5. My OWN is why cant these guys stay off SM? Much as we know these guys will let them go scot free, you have labeled yourself and family

6. @anon 10.02, i agree that since he did burial its been one case after another but you will agree with me that since then also, he has been flaunting wealth all over the place, his noise level has quadrupled. He is now doing sooooo much show off. Instead of him to still maintain his low profile that he has been doing since. There are a lot of people that are doing whatever he is doing and more, have more money than him but you wont hear pimp or see them all over social media flaunting wealth and life style. The anti crafts agencies are right in trying to know what he is doing for a living. I am ibo by the way so its not a tribal thing. I am just saying its common sense to down play some things at times.. I come in peace..

1. Thank you for being objective jare.

2. There are what we call stinking rich men in Nigeria but we don't even know their names. Its not easy having it and not flaunting it but sometimes the best way to enjoy your wealth is living a reserved life.

3. You are not igbo...you are not...cant you make a statement without the "IBO" slant..?

4. Who dash you? in your dreams ba? You're not Igbo because no person bearing full Igbo blood will type what you typed

5. I greet you people who have monopoly of Igbo blood and character. Una Well-done oπŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

6. You are *Ibo* but Obi Cubana is Igbo.

7. 12:36 Anon thank you. School dem,the difference is in the personality and open living. Ibo is not Igbo. πŸ‘Œ

8. Biko wepu tribalism na ife a. U guys don't live with him. Remember social media is a facade. It's high time people stop carrying other people's matter for head

9. It’s ok what you typed up there but naah.. for two major reasons, you are not ‘igbo’.

10. Umunnem we are IGBO we are not IBO dear IBO / YEEBOH Anonymous find your square root

11. Anon 10:30 abeg find your root o.

7. He was really Stupid with what he did with that burial.that was very uncalled for, now look at what he has brought himself into.

8. I don't understand Nigerians. Kai we deserve the leaders we have. Which one is "he should stay low key" why not advise that he should do away with crime. Kai we are truly a nation of dishonest people.
    I am so disgusted.
    Why must we support crime??
    Mehnnn God help us.
    We condemn our leaders yet we say obi Cubana should stay low.
    I am not saying he is guilty, but if he is, he should stop it immediately, instead of advising him to lay low .
    oh My God
    #sigh

1. πŸ‘πŸ‘

2. Louder Eva!!

3. Beautiful comment.

4. Their hatred for ndi Igbo will always give them HBP. What of Tinubu?

5. What of Tinubu is such a daft response though.

6. So everyone that doesnt support Obi is now a Tinubu supporter or is a tribalist.
      Which sort of mindset is this. Im yoruba and i loathe Tinubu sef.

9. I knew it'd get to this, I once predicted that they were going to use his own people to set him up, here we are. It's his brothers they are using against him. He should have stayed low key to avoid unnecessary wahala

1. Kidjo, I disagree. He should have stayed low key and continued with his "business"? If we truly seek change in this country, it starts with each one of us. Please refer to Eva's comment above.

2. KIDJO which his brothers? You have quickly accused his people without any prove. Don't say what you aren't sure of.

3. Which brothers? Don't just conclude.....

10. Look at the "mothers" we have up there πŸ‘†πŸ‘†πŸ‘† suggesting that Obi should have been "low-key", their issue is not the source of wealth but that it should be hidden. No wonder we have a society where teenagers and young adults have become murderers because their mothers, who help shape their moral compass are criminals themselves. 21-year-old Chidinma, 16 and 17 year old killed RCCG Pastor, 20-year-old kills girlfriend in UJ for money rituals, 15 and 16-year-olds caught in Ondo trying to use a 13-year-old girl for money rituals...the above mindset is the reason, their mothers πŸ‘†πŸ‘†πŸ‘† aid and abet them!!! Shior!!!

1. Welcome to Nigeria,
      Land of the most evil but religious, hypocritical, pretentious & selfish.
      A people who recognize evil only when it affects them negatively yet justify it when it is convenient.
      The only people who point fingers at their government but never take responsibility for their actions.

2. If you guys know what happens in the North ehhhh, una go come out with one voice.

3. Lily Rose you captured Nigeria so well.��

4. I fear the way the average Nigerian think. It is pathetic. What is wrong with us? Dishonest people.

11. I wonder why ppl cry more than the bereaved, his kind of business needs as much publicity as he can get. I hope y'all knows he's also an entrepreneur, that is, ppl give him money to invest for them. Wether their money comes from drugs, crimes or politics is not his fault. It's the govt part to know and inform him to distance himself and not to throw him out with the bath water.

1. Shey you know say na MONEY LAUNDERING you define so...which na crime in Nigeria and all over the world.

2. SMH . My people, come and see comment.

3. If drug dealers give him money to invest, that's money laundering. In an organized country, charlatans like Obi Cubana and goofballs that follow him would have been jailed and their assets confiscated a long time ago. How much does he make from hotels and bars? Obi is a drug deal sponsor. He doesn't need to carry it himself. His boys are on the street for him and remit accordingly. Take it or leave it.

4. All it will take is for an unscrupulous judge to issue an ex parte order freezing his assets and it will reset his brain. Unnecessary gragra is idiotic. His village people are shaking his calabash and he refused to heed the warning. Many great men have come and gone before him. But the stubborn fly follows the corpse to the grave. All the information EFCC and NDLEA have on him are being supplied by people close to him who get percentage shares from the authority once he pays. As long as he lives, he will continue to pay.

5. Person wey do himself go dey complain say enemies do am. Obi continue. Even the wife cannot advise the husband to take am easy. Good wife dey necessary for a man to continue to progress. Ebby take control of your hubby and retrieve him from sycophants.

12. I'm not holding brief for Obi Cubana or any Nigerian but isn't he a nightclub owner?
    Won't people from all walks of life pay money into a nightclub account for their services?

So, businessowners should question their customers about the source of their money before they patronize their business?

I think it's hypocritical of those castigating him for the show of money by his friends at his mom's burial. Nigerians are known to spray money at occasions. After all, HIS FRIENDS SPRAYED THE MONEY. Why are they not being investigated?
    The way and manner you choose to spray it is your personal business.

NDLEA should also investigate all those that host lavish weddings, parties and events.

In fact, shouldn't NDLEA also set a budget that no Nigerian should exceed when during celebrations?

1. You said well!

2. My thoughts too. I do not hold brief for Obi but if a drug dealer comes to his club and buys drinks etc for #1m, (these people are reckless spenders) how else would he transfer the money if not through his account?

13. If he is innocent then there is nothing to fear.
    One thing is that anything can happen in this country. Be careful

14. Clear conscience fear no acquisition

1. Accusation*

Desist from speaking oyibo that you are not sure of.

2. 16:02
      That was a knock out punch πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

15. If he has any link with drugs, he should go down. Look at what mkpuru mmiri is doing to our youth. I saw one yesterday and I felt so bad. That us what they have been feeding oyibo. Now I understand the death sentence by Asian countries.

16. What do you expect when he keeps letting illiterates surround himself because of money. All those loafers are cheering him on because of crumbs from the table and he believes that it is love. I thought the guy is wise but flattery always gets the best of morons. He has a team of noisemakers and low-lives in PH who treat him like God and he got carried away. God blessed him. What does it take to enjoy his wealth in peace? How much exactly is he worth? Can he boast of total $10m network but he acts like Elon Musk. I lost total respect for the man. The lifestyle they are portraying and the noise he is making is what people used to make mockery of illiterate, rich traders at Onitsha back in the days. Outside of money, what does Obi have in common with stark illiterate like E-Money? I wish him all the best but he still remains a fool. He will continue to pay. Unnecessary noise is very expensive in Nigeria. Many noisy rich people have come and gone in Nigeria. I pray he learns and remain the boss that he should be instead of acting like a teenager who just picked money for the first time from a mugu.

1. Anon 06:21, you are also a scammer, Obi should hide and enjoy his blood money abi?!? Shameless people with no moral compass πŸ™„πŸ˜’πŸ˜