Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EX President Jonathan Explains Why He Conceded Defeat To President Buhari In 2015

Tuesday, March 01, 2022

EX President Jonathan Explains Why He Conceded Defeat To President Buhari In 2015

This is a must read!!!

''WHY I CONCEDED DEFEAT TO BUHARI''

“I was fully informed about the manipulations, intrigues, intimidation and betrayals. The consequences of not conceding were only better imagined. My natural instinct for peace automatically surfaced. I was going to make a decision which reflected my commitment to that ideal. 

This is the foundation of my essence. In my periodic projections into the future, I did not see how I would be presiding over any kind of chaos. I was prepared to promote the peace, unity and progress of Nigeria."

This is a huge sacrifice, but I hope my readers believe me when I say it turned out to be one of the easiest decisions I ever took while in office.

"With my mind made up, I knew it was time to inject peace into the tensed polity, especially before INEC completed collation.

“I was in my living room with some ministers, aides and friends. Among them were the Coordinating Minister for the Economy/Honourable Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Honourable Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mohammed Bello Adoke, SAN, the Honourable Minister of Aviation, Mr. Osita Chidoka and Waripamowei Dudafa, my Senior Special Assistant on Domestic Affairs.."

“They were recommending sundry alternatives, but I was quiet in the midst of their discussion. I hugged my thoughts, figuring out how to do that which was best for the country. My personal interest was receding rapidly and the interest of Nigeria looming large. I excused myself and left the sitting room. I walked into my study. Even here, my mantra was a strong circle around me, supporting and comforting me. Let the country survive. Let democracy survive. My political ambition is not worth people being ‘soaked in blood’.

“More reports flowed in and I could not wait anymore. The announcement of the final result could take issues out of all our hands. It was time for me to take action and bring peace to the nation. I felt I was destined by God at that point in time to inject the peace serum and douse the palpable tension in the country.

“I reached for the telephone and placed a call through the State House operators at about 4:45 pm. A peace I had never felt since my political sojourn, descended on me. It showed me where I had been in the past 16 years and where I was then. I smiled at the thought of what I was about to do. I waited calmly for the person at the other end of my call to answer.

Buhari: “Hello Your Excellency!”

Me: "Your Excellency, how are you?”

Buhari: “I am alright, Your Excellency”

Me: “Congratulations!”

Buhari: “Thank you very much Your Excellency”

“For several seconds the line was seized by the loudest silence I have ever known. Then we had a brief discussion. I could sense his relief too. He knew what could have been.

"Here is a man who had contested three times and lost. Maybe my gesture humbled him against his expectations because he thanked me and we talked about the handing over processes.

“Everywhere all over Africa, Asia and other parts of the world, countless deaths have been recorded on the scores of elections and power disputes. I mentioned Cote d’Ivoire earlier, where people died in their thousands during post-election violence. A similar scenario had unfolded in Kenya. African nations are more prone to post-election violence than other parts of the world."

Only very few African nations have not experienced post-election violence on a very grand scale or some bitter power tussle fed by tribal or ethnic sentiments.

"I hung up the phone, confident that my decision was right for Nigeria and would probably have a great impact on Africa. This may well be the beginning of a new perspective to power; a perspective which places national interest above personal preference. It should not always be about winning."

"After my conversation with Muhammadu Buhari, which lifted my spirit greatly, I felt better and lighter; it was time to break the news to my Ministers and aides. I wandered back into the living room. These are people I came to know after a period of time. I anticipated what their response would be."

“In my new found calm, I stood before them and told them what I had just done. The elections were over. I had called and congratulated Muhammadu Buhari on his victory. It was time for all of us to move on. Stunned silence greeted the room for some time and after they overcame their shock, they all congratulated me."

“My Aviation Minister, Osita Chidoka, sought my permission to tweet my phone conversation with Muhammadu Buhari. I obliged and he did. The country was no longer waiting for the declaration of the election results. The nationwide tension automatically dissipated as though a red hot piece of iron had been dipped in a bowl of water.’’

Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan
Former President, Federal Republic Of Nigeria
(My Transition Hours)
from facebook Ejiro Adigbo page

45 comments:

1. Thats what brought us to this mess we are in right now

1. On this day, I was heavily pregnant and had left the office for a meeting. Then Orubebe started that "war drum" and I froze. My boss was calling everybody one by one to leave the streets and back to the office. I didn't trust my then Malo driver so when my husband called and came for me, we fled. The tension was 100 degrees Fahrenheit! As we drove I prayed for my unborn child and the country.

Then we heard just a phone call doused it!

God bless Jonathan.

He should be wise not to let the North use him this time. He should maintain this good name he acquired just by this phone call and not contest for presidency again. He was not a good president, yet he was better than the walking misfortune we have now seating in Aso rock.

2. Thank you for the honest critique of the Jonathan years which I think many have forgotten because of Buhari's lackluster performance.

I remember the phonecall to the REC at Borno so I don't buy this fake saintly account from Jonathan, a man who personally financed the immoral and illegal impeachment of a number of governors who opposed him. He, just like all of them, is a politician. Where was this peace when he had the mothers of the Chibok girls arrested by his wife?

He should just maintain his position as an ex president and not accept any Greek gift from those he claims betrayed him. Mama Peace also made enough money through the back door which is more than enough for a lifetime. They shouldn't go looking for what was not forgotten in aso rock.

3. He lost the election but his party won't have that the reason he had to make the call.

2. Inside gist is that auntie P gave him a resounding slap after making that call accepting defeat

1. hahahaha. Aso Rock that year was deserving of its own reality show.

1. There is no honour amongst thieves! The political calculations and plots have begun.

4. I think we should get over this by now, You conceded defeat, you see where it has brought Us.
    I think what we should be talking about it's how to make the nation better again.

5. I like this President. πŸ‘Œ He was all about the Peace.

6. Roses 🌹1 March 2022 at 13:32

This man saved my life and that of many others in Northern Nigeria following the elections.
    I worked for an NGO at the time. My work involved a lot of travel after which I would come back to my main project base in Jigawa. The threats and insinuations of violence was palpable. Even on the streets, people you knew and constantly helped mocked at the fate that would befall you if Buhari was to lose the election. The term 'yankan kaji' or the 'slaughter of chickens'became common and very popular among the local youth. Every Christian and non-muslim was at risk. All the churches in that town were burnt to the ground, and I mean all. There were no arrests, no mention of who had done it.
    Most of my colleagues and I camped in a house within the hospital premises (not that this was a safe option, but at least we were together). We couldn't travel back to our families as the roads were not safe.
    When Jonathan conceded, the tension died inexplicably, they had what they wanted, who they wanted and they thought the North was better off with a Muslim even if he was dead or dying. If only they'd known, if only they'd known.

1. You are very correct, roses. The north was so tensed then, Kai.

2. Everything you said was correct. I was working in Sokoto then. Za mu keshe su is what I kept hearing anytime I passed by a hausa youth. It was said with the purpose of instgating fear etc.

7. Please GEJ should get out of our faces! He was a weak president!!! All he shoulda done was move the capital of Nigeria to a neutral place like Enugu !!! Moreover

1. Weak man you say? How? Because he wasn't a violent man? Please ,everyone cannot be bloodthirsty demon. Allow him to be a weakling, its not your weakling.....

2. Golibe nwannem, it's not every senseless Anon u should reply. Some are voices from the dark.

3. @ sparkle/999 darkness !!! Are you okay? Did you see how Golibe made her point like a civilized person!!!you must be a village idiot for calling yourself senseless!!!
      See make your point ?and move on!!! Anuofia!!! What blood shed did Jonathan avert , that's not being shed right now!!! Most of you just come here to show your stupidness , instead of having an intellectual conversation and discuss like enlightened minds, you come here to display your low intelligence. If you Nigerians are not careful , you will end up like Ukraine, that ended up with a clown as president!!! Shalom

8. Replies
    1. He's a very selfless and considerate man.....

9. History and posterity will be kind to you.
    Very few leaders go for this option

10. People like GEj and Ikpeazu of Abia State are the reasons that I believe that Ph.D earned in Nigeria is a total thrash. I don't think both men have IQ above 80. GEJ's ineptitude and incompetence made thrice rejected Buhari to be an option. He should go and take several seats

1. Thank you. You are absolutely right. If GEJ had performed, he won't have had to concede to anyone, let alone a three time loser with a weak school leaving certificate and failing health. This kind of account written for him (because I mean, we all know he cannot pen anything worth publishing) is medicine after death, a case of Jona comforting himself in the Lord.

2. God bless you even the north wouldn't have voted for Buhari
      at that massive wave. Their treat was loud because they don't want another INEC that will compromise the electoral process.

11. Most of y'all won't understand what this great wonderful man of peace did. I am in the security sector and believe me, many ppl esp the northern extractions were looking forward to war. The contender was as blood thisty as he is poor in leadership.
    I don't need to tell y'all how millions of Molotov cocktails were arranged by touts to finish both the easterners and anyone assumed to be a gej supporter. He was all for soaking in blood and gore.
    I for one, am glad that he gave it up cos even some initial supporters were somehow hoping that APC would turn the nation better...hahahaha, now who dey suffer am pass. Those of you who now regrets gej handing over, will always spew thrash...na bcos e don show wuna pepper but back then, y'all was like this no corrupt man will do better,lol
    May God bless GEJ now and forever.

1. GEJ may have been a peaceful man (Almighty God bless him for it) but PLEASE Nigeria would not have faired better under him and the massive corruption he kept smiling over.

That one is bad, doesn't make the other good. NEITHER is a true option.

2. That peace and lack of bloodshed is more than leadership itself. This administration is the worst on Earth, who would have thunk we would be this hungry in life? Honestly, bubu has ensured his name will go off in infamy,as the worst. Name it, once it's evil, he has done it.

12. Very honourable man,globally now he is acceptable as a man of peace that which Buhari will never be accorded in his life time.If Buhari were Jonathan,Nigeria would have burn to ashes coz I am damn sure he would never do what Jonathan did.

13. Crying as l read this. God bless you again and again GEJ. I left my house due to fear of the unknown. It was dominated by Muslims. One of them had upto 20 young Muslim boys he brought from the village for violence. Ah. The fear grew daily and deeply. The hatred grew daily and fearfully. Coming from work each day was a problem because l don't know what will happen next. The young boys will gather in-front of my door at night and be discussing in loud voices in their local language.
    Then came the congratulatory phone call. The news went viral. The tone of their discussions changed.. One saw me the next day and said.. iyamiri God saved you. Oh. God thank you. I packed out the next month from that house with more than 4months unused rent.
    Jonathan. No matter what anyone thinks about you. I will forever love you. The number of lives you saved can only be imagined.
    We thank you for allowing Buhari win. If not his supporters will have said he will have brought down the moon on earth if he was president. He came and destroyed all the respect Nigerians had for him. All the beautiful name he had built for himself in time past has been washed to the drain.

14. The day Nigerians know the true story of what this man GEJ did for Nigeria by conceding, they will bless Jonathan for the rest of his life. The blood of many Nigerians would have flowed freely both in the north and south west and yes, they had foreign assistance stationed at...already. That phone call turned the table. This man is brave and did the right thing. Now we have seen what the blood thirst ...leadership is all about. And they are at it again. Any Nigeria rich, poor, old, young etc who hasn't experienced a taste of this...leadership can play blind again.

1. He lost the election and he no option than to concede defeat or else he would have been disgraced like Gbagbo.

15. President Goodluck Jonathan, God will always bless you. He made me a very comfortable woman today due the the free and fair fed govt employment i received during his tenure. Imagine getting a government job without knowing any oga at the top advertised on the newspaper. God used him for me. God bless you sir

16. God bless you Sir, you did the right thing. It might not make meaning to an ordinary person, it does to me with the spirit of God in me. Even before election, I already started yearning in my heart for him to submit to the northern, it was clear they wanted the sit and was ready to do everything within their power. These people don’t care about the economy of the country as long as their own is chosen.A common Alamajiri that hasn’t eaten for days is ready to fight when the drum rolls πŸ₯ of fight. In fact forget! I used to live in Suleja and work at Wuse11. First they started with burning down of churches, the Catholic Cathedral in Madalla was bomb while church was in secession. Corpses were littered, Banez plaza was down etc , they were approaching Aso Rock pretty quick, and was ready as ammunition and missles were in full supplies, the northern elites were cash-ready and also ready to lobby for resources from their religious neighborhoods country. A beg make I stopped. Flesh and blood did not reveal this to you GEJ . It was God. And should your spirit doubt you as human. Read the book of proverbs.

17. Where is my comment

18. The USA had their troops lodged in Ghana, waiting for a war to start in Nigeria. One of their security experts even predicted the division of Nigeria due to the election, but Jonathan saw it all and did the best thing to avert war, "the phone call".
    God bless you sir.

19. It was evidently clear that Buhari was going to win the election, even before the election was postponed. There was pressure and subtle threats for Jonathan to accept the result. The American government wanted him out , Nation members of the EU were not happy with him. The American secretary of state , the British foreign minister and the French foreign minister were all here to persuade him to accept the result before the election. The secretary general of the United Nations was also here, so were leaders of the AU and ECOWAS . Jonathan tried to use the postponement of the election to fix the boko haram problem by hiring South African mercenaries. He did the right thing, he read the mood of the nation correctly, but he didn't really have a choice. His own party members betrayed him.

1. Some idiots thought he conceded on his own volition. What awaited him would have been painful to watch. The handwriting was very clear. But ever emotional and gullible Nigerians want to give him a credit he didn't deserve.

2. Even the mood of the country then was greatly against GEJ. Boko Haram, Chibok girls and his helpless demeanour where the likes of Diezani raided the public purse was too much for those that matter to swallow. If he didn't conceed, he would have been dead or in exile by now. Nigerians were tired of him. We forgot the infamous Patrick Obahiagbon's interview on Channels TV and the chaos in Nigeria at the time that gave rise to that. Buhari is bad but GEJ is no angel nor hero. He saved his head. That's all.

3. he saved his head n yours.

20. The funny thing here is that most of those writing against him on this platform are socalled christians.

What a shame... Goodluck did not loose the election, it was rigged.

Una mumu can never be corrected..