Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Students In War Torn Ukraine Refuse To Return To Nigeria , Say Returning Is More Dangerous

Sunday, March 06, 2022

Nigerian Students In War Torn Ukraine Refuse To Return To Nigeria , Say Returning Is More Dangerous

Some Nigerians in war-torn Ukraine have rejected the Federal Government’s offer to evacuate them, insisting that it was more dangerous to return home.

As of Saturday morning, nearly a thousand Nigerians who fled Ukraine to either Poland or other neighbouring countries, have been evacuated.

However, not every Nigerian affected by the ongoing war between Russia and Ukraine wishes to return to the West African country.

Some Nigerians who spoke with Channels TV said they would prefer to find alternatives in Europe rather than returning to the country.

Lukman Ibrahim, a student, who fled Ukraine into Poland, said, “I will seek for student permit and continue my life from here. Because home is not safe, everybody knows this. You now expect me to come home and face the same thing when I just survived a war? I will never do that.”

Also speaking, one Emeka Nnamdi, who is still in Sumy, Ukraine, said “I am currently doing my Masters here.
I finished my six years of medical school here. And I am doing a speciality course, which will take me three years.
But if I’m doing a speciality course in Nigeria, it will take me more than five years, if not seven years. So why should I come home?”

“As the war has broken out, we are supposed to run to our country for safety. But I’ll rather stay here,” Ibrahim added

“We are all here risking our lives, but going back to our country is riskier.”

from Daily post..

41 comments:

1. Do i blame them? If they can find their way to Poland or other European countries it may be better for them. Not everyone of them has rich parents,some hustled their way to get Ukraine and they have absolutely nothn to return to in Nigeria.

1. I don't blame them one bit, if they come back they might not be able to go back there again

2. A colleague was sayn his Bro entered Europe thru Morocco in the 90s, settled in Ukraine 1st,before now moving to UK later. The guy didnt leave with visa. Imagine telling such person to return to Nigeria,where does he want to start from when he's the hope and benefactor of his family in Nigeria.

2. Hmmmm...this is heartbreaking

1. I feel for then. :( I understand why they don't want to go back to naija.

But I also feel like, they know or should have known about the conflicts BTW Russia and Ukraine before it got to the stage.

My closest friend was from Ukraine and she told me about what they go through with Russias different antics and how they fight back.

This was over a decade ago o and its open knowledge. My point is that UKR and Russ have been frenemies for a very long time. Anyone going there should have known this and be prepared.

It's similar with how the land in some parts of the world are situated in areas that are prone to earthquake or volcano. But people still choose to rent or buy houses in those areas inspite of the risk of an incident.

All that said, I feel for them so deeply. It's scary being in a foreign land which is always in conflict with another much bigger foreign country.

3. Tor they should remain there nah.

4. Make dey kukuma die there na.Yeye

1. You're not wise.
      Prudent, I put it to you that ure not wise. You've sold your brain.

2. Lol.. come on anon 10:48, is that news or are you new here?

3. 😫😫😫😫 10:48 and 12:06 have mercy on her, she's fond of misyarning!

5. This is to show you how bad Nigeria is.

6. They are right, this country is too tough

7. Why do I find myself concurring with them. Good luck guys. Be safe.

8. Home is not safe and when we say it as it is, we are being labeled unpatriotic. Nigeria failed it people. If things was going well in the country, you won't get to see things like this. No place like home is not when the home isn't safe anymore.

1. There are people who are living in their bubble in this Nigeria. They are the ones who attack people for calling out Nigeria's mess. They live relatively comfortable lives without any care or regard for others who are truly suffering. There are people who have lost their lives, parents, children, means of livelihood, ancestral lands, homes, etc because the country failed them. There are girls & women raped & abducted every single day, kidnappings, ritual killings abound, etc. All of these are happening with no hope in sight. But people who live privileged lives in safer parts of the country will call you unpatriotic for speaking out for those who have been severely affected.

This right here is the prime problem with Nigeria: Selfishness. "It is well with me, so screw everybody else". That's the mentality of the average Nigerian, that's why they curse us when we speak against the country. It's a shame because that's the same reason why we are not about to see better days anytime soon.

2. God bless you real good Anon 12:08, you captured it very well. I wish I can be your friend. I love intelligent people.

3. Anon 12:08 . God bless you!

9. It's true na, if I was the one, I will not return

10. An indictment to whom it may concern. Will some one take credit for happenings in the country? Some apologists will tell you it did not start under APC as if APC is not the government in power.

11. Abeg make everybody stay where e Favour am

12. False prophet ®6 March 2022 at 10:31

I see them stuck in a dilemma.
    I cant say I blame them, Putin single handedly changed the destiny of millions of humans, is it safe to say this is a path to their designed fate? I wonder... only time will do what it does best, to reveal. Even if they're obligated to build from scratch in Europe, they're in better and safer hands than Nigerian government funding a business for them.

13. They should try to cross to Germany. Germans are really helping this time.

14. If them won die for there,that's their business,as we wey dey this country we no dey alive mtcheww

15. Na only Mumu go return home,to come find wetin na,find Ur way my fellow country men,coming back here will be your worst mistake ever!!!

16. The airplanes that was flown to neighbouring countries sorrounding ukraine should have ferried us there for free as we no get 1000usd to pay,this country is tougher than hell😑😑😑😑

17. I will no longer judge runs girls na dem body dey use not anyone's dem no kill anybody,not justifying it but mehn...🀐🀐🀐🀐🀐🀐

18. I want to believe the returnees have well to do family and friends that can support them else if u came back outside of this just know that you are a coward and a disgrace to your family,if you survived to move to Poland,Hungary and Romania what Ur excuse of coming back???!!!COWARD!!!

1. Judging from your comments , it's like you are really suffering in Nigeria. Don't to have a means of livelihood? It is well with you

2. If this is your mindset and response to people who left a warzone, no wonder you are so mentally pressed in the same Nigeria where others are solving problems and making a decent enough living to send their kids abroad and then also have them return to relative safety in Nigeria. Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy. Try to morn with those who mourn.

There are people in Nigeria morally and legally increasing their incomes and even cleanly relocating or returning to set up businesses but your next thought is selling your body.

It's a mindset thing. Don't frustrate yourself into a desert trip that will only end in tears. Look around you for a problem you can solve then charge a fee for it.

19. Being alive is the greatest wisdom

20. It's obvious most of you, if not all of you are not doing well , feeding and clothing yourselves is difficult. As bad as things are there are youths who are getting good jobs in Nigeria, some get jobs abroad from the comfort of their homes in Nigeria. Some are running successful businesses. Failures will always support people like them . Nigerians who entered Poland, Romania, Slovakia were given 15 days visas, at the end of 15 days, they will be arrested and taken to immigration camps. They are foolishly expecting a very easy life in Europe without papers. At the end they will be deported . They decided to stay because they never had the intention of coming back after school. Over 465 Ukraine trained doctors failed the medical exams conducted by the Medical and dental council. Most choose to stay behind after school because they know the possibility of passing the medical exams in Nigeria is remote . They can't practice here without passing the exams

1. Thank you, I can see a lot of people are suffering here. I know people that are going so well in Nigeria that they are not thinking of traveling abroad.

2. 😁😁😁😁😁 Alexander, you just confirmed what Anon 12:08 said above beneath my comment. The fact that it's going well for some of us means to you we shouldn't show empathy for those going through hell right?

Pls go up and read that comment from Anon 12:08 and see the brilliancy in display.

3. I always wondered about the quality of education they were receiving in those distant places. Sad that with all those years of study, money spent and dealing with racism the level of education is subpar to Nigeria's and many other places.

Why would they come back if their education can't do nothing for them. Better they stay there and make the best out of their lot with what they have.