Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Will Smith Resigns From Film Academy After OSCARS Slap

Saturday, April 02, 2022

Actor Will Smith Resigns From Film Academy After OSCARS Slap

American Actor Will Smith on Friday April 1,2022 announced his resignation from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences amid continued fallout over his slap of presenter Chris Rock at the Academy Awards on Sunday. He described his actions in a written statement as “shocking, painful, and inexcusable.”

“The list of those I have hurt is long and includes Chris, his family, many of my dear friends and loved ones, all those in attendance, and global audiences at home,” he continued. “I betrayed the trust of the Academy. I deprived other nominees and winners of their opportunity to celebrate and be celebrated for their extraordinary work. I am heartbroken.”

Smith said he “will fully accept any and all consequences for my conduct.”

Academy President David Rubin wrote in a statement that the organization “had received and accepted Mr. Will Smith’s immediate resignation” and would “continue to move forward with our disciplinary proceedings” ahead of a board meeting on April 18. Smith’s resignation means he cannot participate in Oscar voting or attend certain academy events, but unless the academy decides otherwise, it does not affect his best actor win or award eligibility going forward. It is unclear whether he will attend next year’s ceremony to present best actress, as is tradition for the previous year’s best actor winner.

In his resignation statement, Smith also expressed his desire for the attention paid to his actions and the various responses to it to be redirected.

“I want to put the focus back on those who deserve attention for their achievements,” he said, “and allow the Academy to get back to the incredible work it does to support creativity and artistry in film.”

From Washingtonpost.

51 comments:

1. Chai!!! But I still love you sha...
    Does it also mean he will stop acting movies?

1. False prophet ®2 April 2022 at 13:33

I still see him acting in the future, it just wouldnt be recognized by the academy.... no matter how interesting or "blockbusting" it is. So that will reduce the gridlock of actors willing to associate with him in the future.
      This is what you get when you dont consider the consequences before you act, it's like seeing a damsel & you let your emotions get the best of you, you have unprotected sexual intercourse with her, then in hindsight, you see how foolish you acted.

2. False prophet ®2 April 2022 at 13:59

"At your highest moment, that's when the devil comes for you".... Denzel said.
      I see blacks always blames the devil for their woes, did the devil pull him out of his seat to waltz to the stage? His wifes countenance did, she is the "devil"

3. Until the academy comes up with disciplinary measures against him. You can’t say his future movies can’t be nominated for academy awards because he resigned. His resignation only means he loses right to nominate or vote for nominees. Doesn’t mean he can’t be nominated or win any future awards yet. Non members of the academy can still be nominated

4. Mrs Ebelechukwu Obiano:
      bianca ashewooooo

Chief Willy Obiano:
      bia nwanyia sit and keep calm,people are watching

Mrs Ebelechukwu Obiano:
      mechie onu,ewu,efulefu

That's how it went down in awka with Obiano's legs properly crossed,he didn't get up nor move a feet.

That's what real men do.They maintain decorum until the event is over then inquiry follows.

5. Yvonne, are u deceiving yourself or what? Non members havent "resigned" from the academy.
      Some has resigned, u still expect him to be nominated? Do u know what resignation means?

6. Will fucked up with all these apologies in my own opinion.

He should have maintained his *get my wife's name out your fucking mouth mood*.

He should have walked back to his seat with Jada pretending to be in serious pains and left the place

People will go home and ask Chris to go and apologise.

But he wanted his Oscar award so bad. His staying back made him look arrogant and poked the wrong nerve (envy) in the people that would have shown sympathy.

Now Chris is walking about blabbing...

7. The guy Chris is so smart,he knows if he say 'pim' about this incident, that's when his own blaming will begin,for now he had rather be quiet about it.He knows the slap is the only reason people are not talking about the 'joke'

8. Action and reaction can be complicated. It can lead to more actions and reactions, and sometimes chain reactions.
      More reactions will still follow in the days ahead.

2. Dude martyred himself and his career to defend a entangled wife that he and someone else was fucking. Ndi Isi Ojiii. Treat your insecurities before you marry anyone. I can't imagine how their children view marriage. Ladies and Gentlemen, pick the boring girl or guy and live a peaceful life. Men, judge a woman with your eyes closed.

1. When he was cheating on her up and down nko

2. Na who them catch be thief

3. He should have been escorted outside immediately he did that. I guess the academy and their security never experereit.
    He probably used something before that event cos his mood was very labile .

1. They havnt been trained on how to respond to such physical assault on stage, not even in their wildest dreams...

4. Here comes the man in black,galaxy defender...

5. Woman don finally end this one carrier..

SMH🀦

One SDK girls 'real man' down, more to go🚢🏽‍🚢🏽‍

1. Keep walking dude,they mustn't catch you.
      To think dysfunctional Jada was fuccing a boy half her age yet Will didn't slap him.
      Fucc his supporters.

6. Apologies Accepted!
    Now go clean up your home and bring back the Will Smith that the world loved.

1. Yimu.
      Such stain will never be erased

7. This will definitely affect his career, they see him in a different light now. Wetin toto go cause for this life eh

8. WHO CARES? They should follow up by banning him for life! Period! There should be a big consequence for his action and violence should NEVER be rewarded. If they they just give him a slap on his wrist, that will be a bad precedent. A bad behavior should NEVER be rewarded for bad behavior because his behavior on that night is not only inexcusable but also distasteful and despicable from a man if his status

9. WHO CARES? They should follow up by banning him for life! Period! There should be a big consequence for his action and violence should NEVER be rewarded. If they they just give him a slap on his wrist, that will be a bad precedent. A bad behavior should NEVER be rewarded for bad behavior because his behavior on that night is not only inexcusable but also distasteful and despicable from a man if his status

10. By the time your bad wife is done ruining you and taken all you ever worked for, she'll leave you and on to the next!

1. Anon 13.05 Amen!!! Well said. I think this is going to be a breaking point for them and in as much as I’m not God, I really doubt if they will be able to hold on being together with the backlash from this incident. It was too much from from people of all race. And anyone that is against abuse from man to man or woman to man should be against his action which in my opinion was totally uncalled for in such a big setting even on any setting. You SHOULD NEVER put your hands on anyone except in SELF DEFENSE. I really was rooting for him to win the award until he MESSED it up for himself! Wow!!! That stings

11. Is will bigger than the Oscar’s?

12. I guess all the idiots like Ruth Kadiri, who could not even comprehend The GI Jane 2 Joke , will now understand how stupid they were judging Chris Rock, who was actually complimenting Jada to be featured in 2. It is very important to only allow good to control you in any situation. Jada is in a competition with her husband, that's why she is doing everything to be in the spot light, whenever is about will. She has a sick foundation, obviously witchcraft like Jezebel ! For someone who her grand mother taught to pleasure herself( masturbate) at 9 years old ;and boldly was on her red table to give her own daughter that kind of advice , with her own mum is controlled by high level marine demons of promiscuosness. Will is aging really fast and there must be something dark about will , that she is using to put him under control. Either he is gay or something sinister she has on him as well. In all always maintain your individuality in marriage , donot let any opportunist take over your life like this woman has done to will . Her career is dead! She now wants to suck all the goodness out of Will's life, because she is a miserable demon full of herself, but no substance.

1. I want to believe she has a hold on Will because she knows something dirty about him! Probably Gay! That sex with her son's friend was like a revenge I want to believe!

2. All the folks (dem know demselves) that were defending his action on the initial post jejely waka pass this one. Smh

3. May God help him come out of it.

Black Americans n voodoo is just like beans n bread.

13. Trying so hard to get Jada to adore him same way she adored 2pac. She won't, better be your own man and stop trying to please and overlook all the weirdness.

1. That woman juju man strong abeg.
      I need his contact.
      Only Wills first son is normal in that family

2. Y'all sure love them wicked men better

14. Now Chris Rock is seen as the bigger person, he won without lifting a finger. Shame on you Will Simpth

15. This guy is really regretting the decision he made. A video was seem of his wife laughing after the slap. See person wey being dey frown o.

Chris doesn't seem to have accepted his apology either. Na wa!

16. Ban him! Strip him of the award! Make an example of him! He's a disappointment to everyone biko..to think that Chris is handling this way maturedly and professionally is another thing that's paining me jare. You just slap person husband, brother and father because of one woman? You done slap her entanglement bobo finish? Yeye man.

1. Don't be stupid, please.
      You honestly think the academy that allowed rapists like Roman Polanski, Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey, Woody Allen and Casey Affleck keep their Oscars should strip Will of his because of a slap? Delusion at it's highest. They probably won't, because they know it would look hypocritical if they did.
      Also Chris is NOT a husband. His wife left him for cheating and emotional abuse. I don't know why y'all want Chris to be a saint so bad!

17. Will, no mind them jare.
    Make all of them getat.
    Come to Nollywood, you will be worshipped. No be Jim iyke de slap people Ugandan? Abeg come Lagos, see as them go receive you from airport. Them de mad

1. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

2. Abi na🀣🀣🀣 afterall line don dabaru for front🀣🀣🀣

3. Nice one, His membership would have likely been revoked by the Academy so him resigning now is more honorable for him.

The award is unlikely to be revoked and he’s unlikely to be banned from future nominations.
      Whatever disciplinary measure they come up with , Will will be fine and his career would still do just fine.
      Will deserves better than Jada, really, a woman that stoops low to date her son’s friend even if she’s in an open relationship belongs to the street. Only him knows the hold she has over him. The love doesn’t seem mutual to me at all.

4. Anon 15.42. Your comment is the closest to the truth so far.

Of all the people to date and it happens to be your son's friend and Will didn't do anything to stop it nor did he hit the guy.

Yeah Jada is suffering from Alopecia and the joke was in bad taste but there is a time and a place for everything.

Will is just a jolly goofy guy but all the bad news about him is mostly from the actions of his wife. He says he doesn't believe in divorce but he better o, cos this is too much

18. Nawa,the way we want to kill this guy totally is really mind blowing!!! Yes,his action was highly condemnable.I have watched him for years,and have never heard anything ill regarding his career.True,he made a mistake for the first time but is that enough to rip him this way.These comments makes me shudder, it's as if some has a personal vendetta against him. I believe he has learnt his lesson.

Comedians should also be careful,I foresee a lot of them being sued in the nearest future.They should get creative or look for another source of livehood.

19. I get a lot of people don't like his wife, inasmuch as I also detest the way they've chosen to live their lives, that's their choice and business. Enough of blaming the wife for his action, the wife never told him to go up stage and slap the guy,he allowed his ego to take the better part of him.Everyone should be responsible for their actions biko,I know most of those commenting on this post are guys with their 'ego' issues. For them right now, it's become personal.

1. what's this one saying? 😏😏😏😏😏😏

did you see the eye Jada "eyed" him when he was laughing at the joke?

what do you think will happen to Willsimp at home?
      a hug or kiss?

go pound fufu o jere