Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CAN Demands Sack Of Sterling Bank CEO Over Controversial Easter Advert

Thursday, April 21, 2022

CAN Demands Sack Of Sterling Bank CEO Over Controversial Easter Advert

The Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) has demanded that Sterling Bank CEO Abubakar Suleiman be fired over a contentious Easter advertisement.

The group called for Suleiman’s sack in a statement released on Wednesday, April 20; and also signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Joseph Bade Daramola, for his “hostility and hatred” of the Christian faith.

“The attention of the leadership of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) has been drawn to an ungodly, wicked, insensitive; and deliberately provocative advertisement of the Sterling Bank comparing the Resurrection of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ to ‘Agege Bread’; amidst the Easter celebration.”

“In case the management of the Sterling Bank is not aware; the resurrection of Jesus witnesses to the immense power of God Himself. To believe in the resurrection is to believe in God. If God exists, and if He created the universe and has power over it; then He has the power to raise the dead. If He does not have such power, He is not worthy of our faith and worship.”

“Only He who created life can resurrect it after death, only He can reverse the mystery that is death itself, and only He can remove the sting and gain the victory over the grave (1 Corinthians 15:54–55). In resurrecting Jesus from the grave, God reminds us of His absolute sovereignty over life and death,” the statement read.
The ostensibly sincere apologies did not come from a repentant heart. Who in their right mind would compare the risen Christ to a loaf of bread? That is offensive, absurd, and a parody of Jesus Christ. Christians should be wary of the banks as well as other financial institutions they patronise, according to us.

The Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON) is said to have interfered in the situation; with the intention of imposing sanctions on Sterling Bank. The CAN is awaiting the organization’s decision.

In the meantime, we demand the immediate removal of Sterling Bank’s Chief Executive, Mr. Abubakar Suleiman; as well as his management, whose acts have plainly demonstrated their contempt and disdain for the Christian faith, CAN demanded''.

from 1stnews

41 comments:

1. The bank has apologized, CAN should forgive as Christ thought us to.
    The bank is dead anyway, so...

1. What type of apology is that, do the bank board/ Media committee didn't consider the uproar?

It was intentional.they need sanction.

2. *taught* @ unknown

Btw, that was not an apology.

That is how you people will be using Christ's name to chop shit

3. Try this with the Muslims and there will be riot in Nigeria now.

4. Apology accepted but they have to face the consequences of their actions...

2. Mitchew..

I am not sorry to say that, something is wrong with you.

What has the bread got to do with Jesus Christ? No one can fight for God. Just focused on winning souls and not causing conspiracy.

1. This is the problem of Christains in Nigeria. Forgive. No one fights for God bla bla bla. Read your Bible very well. God's people are known for war. Touch them and have yourself to blame. They will fight you from generation to generation but what do we do now, just walk away and expect God to fight for us when He God has given us power to build and uproot. Represent him on earth.
      Let this man dance the music he is be beating.

2. Zaram, Pinky is right. No one can fight for God. They should call the attention of the bank, correct them, have them apologize in order for such not to occur in the future and leave it at that. No one fights for God, he sees and knows all. At his own time, he Judges accordingly. For those saying if it were to be other religions, they wouldn't have taken it lightly. Anybody or religion that is quick to physically fight for their God is implying that the said God has no power so much so that humans fight for him or do not even believe in their God's ability to fight for himself or are just so religious and fanatical about what they believe without proper understanding.

3. Jesus that said turn the other cheek, who restored the ear of the Roman soldier is the one who told you to fight from generation to generation?

The one who said father forgive them for they know not what they do? This is how you guys fall into the hands of toddler-stealing, women-raping, domestic violence -condoning and men-robbing marauders who steal kids from crippled women then give you 2million from the fruits of whatever they did with innocent blood.

Decide today if you want to be a Christian, Jew, Muslim, or bandit. The rules concerning violence/ insult/ discrimination for Christians are clear. Even the Jews that wanted to fight for God all the time where told a few times that God will fight and they'll hold their peace.

CAN is a registered and SECULAR body (yes, I said that). They can choose to sue for damages but as a person who has a personal relationship with Christ...

When the father's sheep are beaten to death, stolen or abused, what exactly did CAN do that is worthy of commendation? The bank should seal the lips of hypocrites with the cars and money they formed this group to acquire and let's face positive things.

3. Sack?
    That's extreme!
    Although that advert was low for a man of his standing.

1. It’s good for him
      How can a grown ass man in a top position make such statements
      Even people with business pages desists from making some comments let alone someone like him
      Mtcheww

4. When I heard that they banned an advert by Sterling Bank, I was like why? What’s their business with what anyone decides to advertise but as the person saying it said the advert was “like the agege bread, he rose” I was mad 😡
    I was so angry! I agreed immediately that it should be banned.
    But to sack this man, I don’t know, all I know is that if a Christian championed this type of derogatory stuff for a Muslim celebration, it would have been something else.

1. Exactly what I told someone here @ ur last paragraph.

2. D advert is uncalled for.he shouldn't have done dat.@ ur last paragraph,ur right bcos if it was d Oda way round there would be letters calling for his immediate removal as well.lets have respect for other people's religion and beliefs while doing same for ours.religion is d major reason we have all this problems in naija.

3. Thank you dear. What stupid advert is that. Coming from a person of his status. A whole MD of a bank.
      Let him be sanctioned.

5. Pastors have raped , stolen and done outrageous stuff with CAN covering up and they are now in the trumpet section for an advert?

1. Why compare pastors with Jesus?

2. gbam!! CAN is an any-where-belle-face organisation

3. Zaram and yoriprincess e be like say una dey craze

4. All of you comparing Jesus with Pastors are not okay 😫😫😫😫😫😫😫😫

5. No one is comparing Jesus to pastors. We are saying the joke called CAN is in no place to fight for a Christ that they don't know. They need to quit using God and deceiving religious people for their selfish ends. CAN is a political group jostling for their stomachs. If God is to be defended, CAN is not fit to do it. They embarrass God enough already.

6. Go and take back seat....

6. They should forgive and move on ,Christ taught us to forgive,they should stop dragging this thing.

1. Forgive you say? Imagine if this is done by a Christian against islam. He should be sanction to avoid a repeat by another in future.

2. Zaram since when are islamists the standard? if you wan fight , port. no dey make senseless noise for here

3. Since when has Islam become the template for Christians to live by? Is Islam the only religion in this world asides Christianity. Jains are even more anti-violence than Christians and yet, these so called idol worshippers have not been wiped out.

They called Jesus a servant of Belzeebub and baba no fight anybody. They killed him and he prayed for their forgiveness. Make your placards and hit the streets if you want to fight Zaram. I hope the next time some charlatan poses with money and bible to try to silence the truth, you won't be quick to say we should leave your God of man.

7. If he was Christian and used his adverts to disrespect Muslims or Muslim holidays, we know what will happen.

After all, this country is currently for "them". He should be given the same treatment.

8. Not surprised. This man lacks decorum as a CEO of a bank. He's something else on twitter.

9. Abeg abeg abeg CAN rest!! Have you sanctioned the politician who enacted the crucifixion story in a distasteful way?
    It's a mistake from whoever it is managing their social media platform, for which the MD himself (who I'm sure wasn't even involved) has apologised for.
    What else do they want him to do?

10. They should do what is right

11. There is nothing to forgive
    We are not Saudi Arabia
    Move on
    It’s free speech

1. Kpakam

Even God has forgiven and moved on so WHO IS CAN?

Since when did new testament Christians start fighting GODS BATTLES?

Is CAN even okay?

Leave the man alone and concentrate on the revival of the almost spiritually spineless Christians we have in the nation.

Christians who are Christians in word and not in deed.

Christians who don't show the fruits of the spirit and are not LED by the spirit of God of which I am chief.

God help us to major on the relevant stuff and walk away from the irrelevant

12. Highly tasteless advert.
    I guess he must have learnt his lessons.

13. Wetin even concern agege bread wit bank and our Lord Jesus?? Abeg, that man should be dragged for every Kobo he has, idiat. To think he is a Moslem sef, can I try it with his religion?
    See them Israelites, try them and chop wotowoto beatings all round, that's how we should be.
    Sparkle777

14. All these institutions shd just restrict their good will messages and wishes to Biblical passages/quotes and 'Happy Easter/Merry Christmas'. Chikena!

All the other word gymnastics and gbogbotigbo...not necessary; before 'how are u' becomes 'how do u do'.

1. I don't bother to fill in religion on any form. I don't need robots wishing me a happy religious holiday: I know human beings that actually do that. What I need are accurate alerts as I do my transactions.

Enough of religiosity in Nigeria. Talk to your God yourself and let every other person hear word.

Some months ago, illiterate and troublesome Muslims were vibrating that Yoruba actors made a movie where someone used the burka to hide a cutlass and started attacking people in a bus. A Muslim imam who also acts had to ask them if they have vibrated at the same amplitude to Boko Haram there would put hijab on small children they are raping. Please, if you want to fight for God, be consistent so you can die quick and God will keep enjoying his eternal life.

2. Even shekau ties his murderous head when making blasphemous videos. God punish hypocrites.

15. It shows his kind of person. This went too far. Anything CAN wan do am its not too much. U forgive men but not people who make joke of Christ. Abi have u forgotten what Jesus did in the Temple when there were people buying and selling?

16. When I saw the advert I was doubting whether it was deliberate or an act of ignorance, then I saw the apology and it dawned on me that it was a deliberate act to bring dishonour to the Name of the Lord. Nevertheless, as Christians we don't fight for our God - our God fight for us. I trust God to defend His glorious Name.

Regarding to CAN, I'll press the ignore button.