Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Investigator Tells Court How Chidinma Ojukwu Allegedly Stabbed Super TV CEO Usifo Ataga To Death

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

Police Investigator Tells Court How Chidinma Ojukwu Allegedly Stabbed Super TV CEO Usifo Ataga To Death

A police officer serving with the homicide department of the State Criminal Investigating Department (SCID) Yaba, DSP Olusegun Bamidele, has continued his testimony at the Lagos High Court in the alleged murder case of the Chief Executive Officer of Super TV, Usifo Ataga.

In continuation of his testimony before the court today May 10, the police officer while answering questions from the Lagos State’s Deputy Director of Public Prosecution, Adenike Oluwafemi, told the court how investigations revealed where the late Usifo Ataga and Chidinma might have met before arriving at the crime scene.

The witness said;

''While I was investigating into the background, I and a friend of the deceased went to Angel Villa Hotel in Lekki. The owner of the hotel was approached and the story was related to him. Luckily the hotel had a CCTV which revealed the presence of the deceased and Chidinma at the hotel.

After we tracked her to her home in Alagomeji and brought her to the DCP’s office, she was asked about her relationship with the deceased. She denied initially and this prompted us to deploy the CCTV. She then agreed that she is the Chidinma Adaora Ojukwu we were looking for.

We then took her in the company of her foster father, one Onoh Ojukwu back to the house in Alagomeji where we initially arrested her. We conducted a search of the house in their presence".

According to the officer, the search yielded a maroon-colored cloth which Chidinma wore on the day the late Usifo Ataga was murdered.

“The cloth was stained with blood. Then Onoh Ojukwu shouted: “Chidinma, you have killed me, you have done something wrong outside. Chidinma was also crying. We also recovered the black/blue long-sleeved gown she wore when she left the apartment in Lekki. This further established that she has something to do with the deceased.

We recovered Access bank statements of the deceased, we recovered a UBA bank statement with the name Mary Johnson, an ID card with Chidinma’s picture but which carried the name Mary Johnson, an international passport with her picture, a Uniport certificate with Chidinma’s name boldly written on it, her phone and some other documents I can’t recollect. We then went back to the office.”

He testified to the Court that at the office, he provided Chidinma with some food, malt drink and water, after which he started to question her and record her statement.

“She said she knew the deceased, that they met at a hangout in Victoria Island. The deceased was introduced to her by her friend’s boyfriend. She mentioned the friend as Fiyin and the boyfriend as Tony. She said the relationship started in February and after a while, they developed sexual relations.

I remember she mentioned a date, 12th June, 2021. She received a call from the deceased that they needed to see and go out. Based on the request, she sourced for the apartment.

She confessed that shortly after her arrival at the apartment, on the 13th, the deceased drove in, in his Range Rover. On his arrival, she said they were both hungry and drove out to eat and returned to the apartment, watched film, conversed leading up to sex. They also engaged in smoking. On the 14th, they did the same thing.

She said she initially came in with the loud smoke. That’s the name she called it. After they finished it, they needed more. She recollected that she made a call to the second defendant, Quadri who helped her source for the loud and another drug called Rophynol. She also mentioned that the items were brought in through a despatch rider to the apartment.”

He further told the court

“She described Adedapo Quadri as someone introduced to her by a friend. That Dapo supplied the drugs to her. The IPO asked her about the potency of the drugs. She responded that a tablet is enough to knock out whoever uses it while loud is a cigarette light smoke.

She said on the 15th, after engaging in smoking, the deceased asked for more sex, which she denied him. The deceased went to the chair to relax and she thought he was no more interested in sex, only for him to return to the bed to ask for more sex. She said she pushed him away, which resulted in him knocking her head against a stool that had a glass.

Having sustained injury on the head and knees, there was a struggle between them and she said she managed to lay hands on a kitchen knife with which she stabbed the deceased on the neck twice. She confessed that she stabbed him severally without counting and the deceased eventually fell to the floor in the room".

The police officer also narrated to the court, Chidinma’s statement on how she met the second defendant, Adedapo Quadri.

“When we interacted with the first defendant, she mentioned the second defendant, Quadri and how they met. On the premise of this, we carried out a search on the call logs of the 1st defendant since she said she doesn’t know his house or address. The call log showed regular calls between both of them.''he said

Bamidele told the Court that Chidinma said;

"They spoke on phone twice on the 15th June 2021. On the 17th, there was a conversation between both of them for about 3 times. On 18th, there was conversation twice. On 21st of June, it is also established that they called each other and this prompted the tracking team to swing into action. Eventually he was tracked to Surulere in Lagos, arrested and brought to the office.

During interactions with him, he confessed that he knows the Ist defendant who was introduced to him by one of his friends called Sam. The same Sam had earlier told Chidinma that Adedapo Quadri is capable and can assist her to prepare any documents she needs.

Quadri also mentioned that Sam gave him Chidinma’s phone number after which he called Chidinma and they agreed on where to meet. He confirmed that they met at Sabo & another time at Alagomeji area.

During their interactions, he agreed to the request of Chidinma to assist her with preparing certain documents. The documents he assisted her to procure are drivers license, an identity card, UBA statement of accounts, Access bank statement of accounts and a passport.

The UBA statement of account carried the name Mary Johnson while the Access bank statement has Michael Usifo Ataga’s name on it.

The drivers license has the picture of the first defendant on it with the name, Mary Johnson.” said the witness.

Justice Adesanya adjourned further proceedings in Court till Thursday, May 12,2022.

from Punch

43 comments:

1. "he provided Chidinma with some food, malt drink and water, after which he started to question her and record her" is this how nice the police have become???πŸ€”
    is this how the police provide food, malt and drinks to all murder suspects. make una continue!
    can see they are also trying to introduce a self defence line for chindima into the story.

1. 1. They have to make her relax

2. They needed her DNA and that's one way if getting it.

2. Yes. In other parts of the world, they do provide them food.

3. Maybe sentence to death by starvation would make us feel better.

4. They actually do that sometimes. so because she is an accused person, she wont eat? if there was nobody to bring food for her, then the police who had her in their custody are obliged to feed her.

5. DNA kwaπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚@13:44

14:11 We re in Nigeria, I wasn't talking about other parts of the world, this didn't happen there. why re you under anon by the wayπŸ™„
      Ms Saphire: oh yes, she killed a soul, a father , a brother, an uncle. death by starvation would be too honourable for a murderer like her. I don't waste my pity on any murderer be it a man or a woman. how many murderers have been treated with such kindness like they are treating her?

Mercy Aigbe and Judy Yul that y'all be sentencing to hell re 1m times better than her, at least they didn't eliminate the men they were sleeping with.

6. What does Mercy aigbe and Judy have to do with this? Please stay on topic, and FYI Saphire and the anon are right.

7. They are not usually that harsh on women in custody especially if she is soft, crying and not stressing them. If na man they will beat him he won't be able to see the food, he will direct the malt bottle to his nose if his hands are ever free to lift one.

8. 15:34 you lack logical comprehension hence you telling me to stay on topic cause other logical beings could easily deduce that the three of them;Chindima , Judy and Mercy are/were in the sidechic group. i.e having affairs with marriedmen.
      they might be right to you since y'all reason alike😊😊😊

9. Why are you so worked up kidjo, better go and drink some water and calm down. Again, mercy and judy did not commit a crime, so have no relevance to chidinma the murderer, stay on topic!

10. they are all the same, or you don't know the meaning of sidechic? you re an adult with a smart phone unless you are not smart enough to use it to Google the meaning of sidechic since you've refused to comprehend. . you are the one that's worked up trying to prove shit there isn't.

Mercy and Judy committed a sin by having affairs with marriedmen before marrying them, na 1rope tie the 3 of them.

11. Of course, any family that seeks justice in Nigeria knows they must grease hands. The Atagas were the ones financing the investigation so money for malt and jollof wasn't a problem. Perhaps the investigator auto bought himself a plate. This is common with people who are personally interested in case in Nigeria. Even with cases conserving the poor, the good cop bad cop tactic is still used.

12. A sin is not a CRUME, jeez!! Stop arguing blindly biko. Chidinma committed a crime, the other 2 did not and thus are not relevant. It's not that hard nau.

13. Kidjo pls laud it! They're ready to soft peddle for a murderer but want to crucify adulterers because that's the one they feel can easily pertain to them. It's apparently all about selfishness. Rubbish!

14. 20.43 is adultery a CRIMINAL OFFENCE, yes or no? When Chidinma's case occurred, there was an uproar and rightly so, thus you can't simply assume no one crucified her unless you have a short memory.

FYI, it's loud, soft pedal.

15. my previous reply to you must have gone to S spam. I don't like exchanging words with unintelligent people like you. 18:42, you use words contradicting yourself alot, same thing you did on a post I corrected you on yesterday, hence you coming here to attack me under anonπŸ™„πŸ˜
      You said she committed a crime and not a sin like them Mercy Aigbe,πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ so what do we call her sleeping with Mr Ataga, a marriedman ? or is she his legal wife? .its a sin dear(adultery like the other two,) she committed a sin before a crime(killing him,which is also a sin)
      I hope you are not a lawyer cause you won't win any case with this your contradiction stuff you always do here . goodnight, make I go prepare for tomorrow

16. Hehehe, so you assumed I am a bv you clashed with yesterday (some of you really take this online world so seriously), no wonder you've been getting so defensive..! Well, you assumed wrong, I haven't replied any of your comments before today in weeks.

I maintain my point that mercy, judy have no relevance to Chidinma. Murder and adultery are 2 separate things, obviously.

17. 21:27, thanx for the correction. I pressed 'publish' before I noticed it.

Nevertheless, u don't seem to be getting the point. U guys have been going on and on over Judy and Mercy's matter; then here u have a woman who committed the same SIN (adultery) that Mercy and Judy committed and on top of that, committed the CRIME of murder. YET when this other lady (Chidinma) is mentioned in more recent time, one hardly hears condemnations and calls for her head. What is heard instead, is how she shd be treated nice in prison. That is a woman who has done worse than what both Mercy and Judy did. She (Chidinma) has committed BOTH sin and crime, so based on what are BVs here virtually treating her matter with kid gloves and even making excuses for her, while attacking the likes of Mercy and Judy like hawks? EVEN if it's JUST MURDER alone, Chidinma committed. It's still a MUCH graver evil than adultery, in the eyes of man but BVs here apparently see adultery as the only evil worthy of condemnation; and probably bc that's the one that easily affects them. So, I repeat, it really seems to be all about selfishness as far as the comments of BVs here go.

2. Men I saw a 9ja prison documentary, see this lady doing time, see accent, English is so posh and clean, I was just wondering what her offense might be. This one prison no too big for you, if she did the crime then...

3. This is a case of rape

1. Are u trying to be funny or what?

4. Still on the marra....when are they sending her to prison kwanu...

1. She is already in prison custody, just that she is still on trial. do you think she comes from her house to court for trial? If she is convicted and sentenced to death, then she will have a chance to appeal her sentence up to the supreme court which may take between 4-10 years, so its a slow and steady process. Its a pity how this young girl just threw her life away for nothing.

2. Day a bigger no to useless friends and their bad influence. Quadri, Tony and Fiyin are still alive recruiting people to an early death while Ataga is give days before his diet breakthrough and Chidinmas had agreed the course of her life negatively. Choose your friends based on the values you wish to imbibe and the highest version of yourself.

5. Thought they're done with this case. Everyone seems to be tired of how they're going about this

6. How long does a case take? Really don't understand the process.

7. Chindima is a trained assasin and this won't be her first time. to her sympathizers, y'all should continue to allow sentiments becloud your judgements o.
    nobody is calling for her head like y'all called for the head of Osinachi's husband whenever the post comes on. comments nor many now cause na female murderer, if na man all the man haters for don show face dey curse the man generation. mtcheeeeeeeew
    A crime is a crime and should receive the same reaction, no matter the gender involved.

1. You are the one who is being sentimental but of course you won't see that.

2. all of a sudden you don't have an id againπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ will I beat you if you comment with your id? agbaya
      by the way, spare me the bullshit of not having an id.
      sentimental feminists everywhere

3. This id argument is getting lame, I don't have an id, eod.

4. U dey mind dem?

Women supporting nonsense!

5. Calm your titties, some people have second jobs, commenting on the blog is part time for them.

8. Abeg this trial is taking too long, convict the cold hearted murderer already.

1. exactly why I'm pissed. imagine the man's kids seeing their dad's killer everytime on tv/blogs.
      And some of her fellow murderers re attacking me for my opinions.

2. Okay, so you wanna carry knife and goan murder her in prison as per female Jack Bauer in the name of justice? πŸ™„ Let the law take its course simple, all these emotional outbursts doesn't change anything.

9. Nigeria my kwantiri!! This case is still dragging sha. Like, with all the evidence and every every, our intelligence officials can't conclude and let the families find closure? Unless there's something they are not telling us.

10. Have her lawyers coached her to make a claim of self defence and acting under influence?

Demon possessed creature, Nigeria is waiting for ur judgement.

11. Chidinma has been killing !!! Is not her first time. She is a cold blooded hired assasin and except she is ready to rope those who sent her on this mission ! She should be sentenced to death by hanging! All of you supporting nonsense on here , may your cheating brothers and husbands be murdered by a side chick, so you all know how it feels!!!

1. She might have killed him in error oh!

2. Who here is supporting her, who?! πŸ™„πŸ™„

3. 4:12, somebody says she stabbed a guy repeatedly and u're here talking about error. Are u for real?