Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Reportedly Arrest 2 After Student Deborah Was Killed And Burnt Alive For Blasphemy Against Islamic Religion

Saturday, May 14, 2022

Police Reportedly Arrest 2 After Student Deborah Was Killed And Burnt Alive For Blasphemy Against Islamic Religion

The Police Command in Sokoto State says it has arrested two students of the Shehu Shagari College of Education (SSCOE), Sokoto for being a part of the mob that killed their female colleague Deborah..

The Sokoto State Government had on Thursday confirmed the death of a student at the college; ordering the indefinite closure of the institution.

In a statement issued by the Police spokesperson, ASP Sanusi Abubakar said a distress call on the incident was received by the police around 9.00 a.m.

“We received that students were rioting over one female student, named Deborah Samuel. She was a level two student, who was accused of making a social media post that blasphemed the Holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW).

“Students forcefully removed the victim from the security room where she was hidden by the school authorities, killed her; and burnt the building,” he said.

Abubakar added that upon receiving the information; the police-led team and all other operational commanders in the state moved into the school; and brought the situation under control.

“Two students were arrested in connection with the crime. The school has been closed down by the school authority, and policemen deployed to give tight security coverage,” he said.

The Police chief assured that all the suspects in the viral video on Twitter would be nailed by the command.
Meanwhile, the Sokoto State Government on Thursday, May 12, confirmed the death of a student at the Shehu Shagari College of Education (SSCOE) Sokoto; ordering the closure of the institution indefinitely.

The student unrest was caused by an alleged blasphemy made by the deceased student against Islamic religion through a social media group.

The students, in mob outrage, traced the female student; and killed her as well as burnt the corpse at the school security gate after overpowering the school security.

Addressing a news conference, the Sokoto Commissioner for Information, Alhaji Isa Bajini-Galadunci, confirmed the student’s death; and said the state government had ordered immediate closure of the school.

from 1st news

46 comments:

1. See the faces of the evildoers! I hope they won't wipe this off like nothing happened. May they face a very painful judgement too.

May you get justice for what has been done to you, Deborah. Keep resting with your maker.

1. They will release them when all of this dies down

2. Am even sacred of talking about it because I don't know what I will write or say that someone will trace me like they did Deborah 🤷‍♀️ we worship who fights for us not the other way around.🤷‍♀️ am going anonymous for this post, Stella. Eru n bami. I live somewhere in the North and have seen their anger first hand. God rest Deborah's soul....

2. See the faces of the evildoers! I hope they won't wipe this off like nothing happened. May they face a very painful judgement too.

May you get justice for what has been done to you, Deborah. Keep resting with your maker.

3. Thank God for the arrest

1. What will they do to them after the arrest?

2. Which arrest?
      They're just trying to maintain peace, and pretend they're not in support of the act

3. Don't thank God yet! This arrest is just to quell tempers. They'll be arrested and released without any fanfare. Na their way be that. They will be assured that it's just for the cameras

4. After arresting them, what will you do to them?

1. Nothing will be done! It's their religion.

2. Good question

3. They cannot jail them. They will be released secretly. If they dare jail them, a highly placed cleric will make a phonecall and they will be released or
      their people(Boko Haram/fulani herdsmen/terrorists) will invade the prison and kill warders, release them and cause a jail break. Very lawless and wicked set of people.

5. For the hours it took this crime to be consumated,where was the police

6. You arrest 20 people and then what? It's not going to change the fact that her family will be traumatised for life. It won't change the fact that Nigeria is a place where money speaks louder than justice. In a few years, I will not be surprised if the people arrested are roaming the streets. Who do you want to ask when if they know the right people and have the right connection, you have no problem. It is Nigeria biko.
    Lad Las, inasmuch as this girl's death pain me anyhow, the truth remains the truth. When in Rome, you must act like a roman. What are you standing out for if you have nothing to stand on? You live in the North, Islam is the main religion there, you know their ways, you know how they think, respect their faith. Do you see a Muslim carrying his praying mat into a church and trying to gain entry into the altar simply because it is a holy place? Or Jehovah witness guys preaching to a suya guy? Even the Bible we all carry tell us of a time Abraham conspired with his wife and they both lied that she was his sister..and when that king found out through a dream, he was distraught. Abraham's reason was he feared that no one in that place feared God. So for his life and that of his wife's, they both lied. What about Yeshua, he lied to his brothers that he won't be attending the celebration in Jerusalem but later went for the festivities. He lied because he knew his brothers were always mocking his faith. Many times, he was almost lynched for telling people that he was God's son. Today, we all claim to be sons and daughters of God...today, he is gone but we all pray in his name. You have to learn to respect people's faith and act like a roman when in Rome. Wisdom is killing a rat in a clay pot without breaking the pot.
    Yes they were not supposed to post religious content on the group since its for school stuff, but they did..you can ignore it and pick what matters to you. While I was in the Uni, some people take advantage of that group platform and turn it to a gisting space. What's my own? I take what concerns me and that's it.
    Huge lesson to be learned here. Nothing like freedom of speech. You talk anyhow you see anyhow.
    The koko is she is gone and no amount of arrests or call for justice or cries will bring her back.
    Rest well mama.

1. I agree with you on this.
      Arresting them won't yield anything cause we all know these fanatics have supporters in the higher ups, very soon they are going to free them.
      We should be very careful with such people that have nothing to lose, they don't even value their own lives. we should be mindful of our environment and watch our tongue.
      May she rest in peace and may God console her family.

2. Stop victim blaming
      Condemn what they did. We all know the rest about being careful but focus on the terrible act of extrajudicial killing and leave the victim condemnation out of it

3. Is this all you have to say about the people that murdered an innocent girl? Yet you come here blasting pastors all the time( not like they killed someone o). Here you are even subtly blaming the girl for what happened to her. Your moniker suits you paa. Stop pretending to be a Christian on this blog. It's obvious you are not.

4. @Yeye Person how can you say this? "Yeshua, he lied to his brothers that he won't be attending the celebration in Jerusalem but later went for the festivities“.

So, when you change your mind about attending a function, it means you lied?

In the same breath you are blaming the victim for not minding her utterance about a religious sect, you are blatantly saying Jesus lied.

Take your own advice.
      Of course, Christians are not violent and Jesus Christ is the PRINCE OF PEACE.

7. False prophet ♡14 May 2022 at 10:47

I dont see anything happening to them afterwards, I can bet you, they're sipping kunu in a comfortable seat in there.
    It's even more heartbreaking that the gruesome murder was carried out by her fellow students.

8. I am just trying to understand a few things.
    This incident happened on the school's premises. Where were the lecturers and probably all other non academic staff?
    Since this reports stated she was hidden in the security gate before she was eventually taken out, why didn't any of the security or staff immediately call for external backup?
    I want to assume before something like this happens, small small rumors will have filtered into the school and amongst the students.
    It 6a very sad and unfortunate incident. And no arrest will bring her back or even bring closure to her family and loved ones.
    Again, we as humans need to be careful with the things we say and our environment. Not even one reasons the way we do. We all see things from different perspectives.
    RIP Deborah

9. So when they forcefully removed her from where the ‘school authority’ was hiding her, why didn’t the ‘school authority’ call for help? Why didn’t the police or security officers of the school save her. The answer is simple!

1. Eka, it all happened so fast.
      Do you know the distance from the station to the school?
      The aluu4, why police no come save them?

2. They should have called for help immediately but, when things like these are about to happen, the security guys who are most likely unarmed, young people that are just looking for a way to survive, are also scared for their lives. The mob will be overpowering.

10. The truth is that illiteracy and lack of exposure in the north has ruined us,no place in the quran was it ever stated that someone should be killed because of blasphemy (the prophet (pbuh)was a very peaceful person and condemned violence.The problem is that most of these people are brainwashed by their so called mallams.but if one truly studies the ways of the prophet then you will realise that people do what favours them and call it Islam.Am sure if you look at the lives of the killers and even alot of Muslims you will see that they are also breaking different sharia law daily.Nobody deserves jungle justice!!! And anybody that support it is a monster
    Watching those videos broke my heart.
    The fact that sokoto is even on of the states to high rate of homosexuals,drug addicts and Alcoholics
    We are so quick to judge others and not ourselves

1. So how do you counter it?
      The brainwashing and sickening hypocrisy?

Or na to comot eye from there?

11. Guys, Google Gideon Akaluka. That name stuck in my head. Something happened to him. One of the perpetrators was a lecturer in my school. The one holding the head on the stick. He was released after two years. They always get away with it. People should just look after themselves. With Buhari there, this is going to get worse. These people are blood suckers.

12. You have Muslims in your family, you have them as friends. They are clearly not blood thirsty. But whenever there is an unfortunate incident perpetrated by a few misguided and ignorant people, your bigotry and hatred for Islam jumps out.

To some of you, this is just another opportunity to shade Muslims and bask in your islamophobia and ethnic bigotry.

You don't need to hide under the guise of condemning the unfortunate incident to promote your Islamimophobia. Do it with your full chest.

Even in the North, there are people who are saddened by this. But let's hang the whole of the North/Muslims for the offence of a few.

Any small thing "God punish Lugard" are you that ignorant? Or you don't know there are Non Muslims in the North too. Some of the evil perpetrated down south are not less worse than the North. But of course, southerners/Christians are saints. Same people who killed and burnt a 7 years old boy in Lagos for stealing Garri.

What's wrong is wrong no matter the guise upon which it was predicated. But you see, most of the people or Hausas you criticise up north are way better than ya'll. They are more kind, religious and humane than most of ya'll and I'll choose most of them to ya'll 10 times over. Anyone who has really lived in the North will agree with me that an average Northerner is more humane, honest and kinder

- Olusunmade excepts

1. The hypocrisy is those among you are soo selfish timid and cowardly to do reverse brainwashing for the animals hiding under the religion to do evil

2. It is clear what will happen to the murderers of the boy who stole garri but the murderers of the woman in Kano market were let go. The man who murdered Gideon Akaluka was not only released but he rose to become a governor of the central bank and an Emir without facing justice. In the history of Nigeria, none of these kind of murders are followed with justice and that is the issue. Atiku is walking back his tweet on the incident because he realizes who he is dealing with.

Remember the woman who was murdered for evangelizing on the road in Abuja? Still nothing till now. It is not enough for Muslims in the north to feel sad. The fact that you think a person who doesn't believe in your religion can blaspheme it or that God delegated his defence to you is a mindset that needs to be highlighted instead of beating around the bush. With the vociferous criticism people of other faiths receive on this blog and elsewhere, it is mischievous of you to reduce this outcry to bigotry: a cheap dodge.

State exactly what Islamic literature stipulates concerning those who disagree with Islam or those who left the religion citing examples instead of this copy and paste that holds no water in the mosque. This horrendous murders have colored the history of every religion but your beating about the bush is delaying your religion and region from becoming humane.

13. Okay, let's thank God you've arrested them. But please, why can't you mention their names to the public and show them in your custody? I sha still no believe una sha

1. I personally don’t want their names mentioned
      They have some supporters and I don’t want them to be sen as heroes

14. And oh, Islam is the most Peaceful and Generous Religion ever, that's the reason why you see thousands of Churches in Kano alone, but you come to East and see only one Mosque in Anambra State.

Islam is Tolerant, we respect other people's Beliefs and Religions, but Speaking Against the Great Prophet Muhammad is highly Forbidden and could attract death penalty in some quarters. Tho its not in the Qur'an and traditions of the Prophet but it's in Islamic Jurisprudence. Some Muslims go with the stands of the scholars of Islamic Jurisprudence and some don't and think the scholars are wrong.

The brutal murder of Deborah was wrong and fact remains that those guys should not have taken matters into their own hands. But it needs to be clearly stated that what Deborah did was wrong. Blasphemy is a huge sin in both Christianity and Islam and could attract death penalty. The Bible is laced with verses of death penalty for blasphemy. Do l hear you say its in the old testament and not in the new testament aka period of grace? Lol. But l ask, why is it always Christians doing this? Its always Christians cussing the Prophet of Islam. You seldom see any Muslim doing that to Christians or cussing Jesus. Oh, its due to hatred for Muslims and Ignorance or trying to test the ability of Muslims. Well, anyone who tries that especially in a place like Sokoto and you receive the Deborah treatment, that's your cuppa!!!!

🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️

1. What exactly did she say? Do you know?

2. Using one line to say what the murdering bastards did was wrong but then go on to write an epistle on how freedom of speech is wrong.

No matter how u try to hide, we know ur stand on this. Boko haram!

3. Eka who has been supporting Ipob terrorists on SDK blog is calling me Boko Haram 😎

4. @ Eka, you just gave him a perfect name. That is exactly who he is .If I type what is on my mind now ,I trust Stella not to post. So Essah ,I will pass on your issue.

5. I am sure u did not know wat she said. Get out. Prophet my ass. How many law dey this country. Make these mallam mumu break out nd go deir way. Rubbish

6. "Blasphemy is a huge sin in both Christianity and Islam and could attract death penalty"

Saying Jesus is not the son of God and only one of the prophets is in itself blasphemy but how many Muslims have been killed for that in Nigeria? How many Jews have killed Christians for saying Jesus is the messiah in Israel? You have a lot of catching up to to.

Your approach of "I condemn it but" is the exact reason people like you murdered that girl.

15. When will world war 3 start?

16. Nothing will be done to them, after some time they will be released secretly.
    Mtceeeew

17. And those that bombed nynaya and a Catholic Church in madalla where released and granted amestly. Some sent abroad. One thing is sure. You cannot play God. If you shed blood, yours will be shed someday

18. So sad she died in this gruesome way...jungle justice this I condemned..I served in the North as a Muslim from the west I respected myself and respected some of the northerners personal opinion on the religion Islam ..trying to proof a point in the midst of ignorance always end in disaster. May The Lord comfort the family she left behind.As someone says up their adopt the Roman rules when you are in Rome and we should also learn to bridle our tongues...I fit talk I fit talk.....

1. But you’ve not learned much if not you won’t use your text here to blame the victim and praise yourself
      You think it’s your calm ways that kept you safe out there