Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EkweremaduGATE - Former DSP Sues NIMC, NIS Over Controversy Surrounding Age Of Alleged Victim In Organ Harvesting Case

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

EkweremaduGATE - Former DSP Sues NIMC, NIS Over Controversy Surrounding Age Of Alleged Victim In Organ Harvesting Case

Former Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, and his wife, Beatrice, have sued the National Identity Management Commission (NIMC) and others over controversy surrounding David Ukpo’s real age.

Others mentioned in the suit are the Comptroller General (C-G), Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS); Stanbic-IBTC Bank; United Bank of Africa (UBA) and Nigeria Inter-Bank Settlement System Plc as 2nd to 5th respondents respectively.

Recall that Ekweremadu and his wife were, on Thursday, remanded in the UK police custody, after they were tried before the Uxbridge Magistrate Court for alleged conspiracy to facilitate the travel of Ukpo, alleged to be a minor, for organ harvesting.

The couple, however, denied the allegations and the court adjourned till July 7 for hearing.

But in an originating summon marked: FHC/ABJ/CS/984/2022, dated and filed June 27 by their counsel, Adegboyega Awomolo, SAN, before Justice Inyang Ekwo of a Federal High Court, Abuja, the Ekweremadus asked the court for an order directing the NIMC to supply them with the Certified True Copy (CTC) of the biodata information of David Nwamini Ukpo.

The applicants said Ukpo’s National Identification Number (NIN):19438077110, which is in the possession of the agency, should be produced for the purpose of facilitating the criminal investigation and tendering same to establish their innocence with respect to Ukpo’s age in the criminal charges against them before the Uxbridge Magistrate Court.

They also sought an order directing the NIS C-G to supply the applicants with the documents and application form of David Nwamini Ukpo in the possession of the 2nd respondent presented for the issuance of International passport No. BO0569974 for the purpose of assisting criminal investigation and issuing same before the Uxbridge Magistrate Court, UK until July 7 in the alleged criminal charge brought against the applicants.

The lawyer noted that documents being sought to be handed over to the applicants will support the applicants in their defence and establish their innocence of the charges in the interest of justice.

Also, Bright Ekweremadu, the elder brother of the lawmaker, in the affidavit deposed to, said Ukpo informed the couple that he was 21 years old, having been born in the year 2000 and was ready to help Sonia.

Justice Ekwo fixed July 1 for hearing of the matter.

from dailypost

73 comments:

1. Ekweremadu, this is your karma.
    Enjoy UK jail.

1. He can't beat all the conspiracy charges. Some of us(divorced men) that got in trouble(i.e jail) for talking on phone know what we mean.. We(married and divorced men) have said it. Mark our words this day. He can't beat all charges. Just take a plea deal and don't waste the U.K prosecutors time on this case. You are a high profile guy and they(U.K prosecutors) need this win for sure.. They will set an example with you to serve as a deterrent to others. We highly recommend that he tells his lawyers to negotiate a plea deal that frees his wife (to allow her assist and take care of daughter that needs a kidney) while you(senator) serve his and hers jail time. Men, listen to us, if you find yourself in this situation, you MUST TAKE THE FALL TO SET YOUR WIFE FREE.. It is our duty to PROTECT our wife in all situation.. In taking a plea deal, you take your fate out of the Judges hands.. Mind you, Nigeria already has a bad image and you are a serving Nigeria politician for an impoverish country, an excellent foundation for these overzealous UK prosectors to build a Taj Mahal hotel.. Whether we like it or not, the young boy or young man (whether 15,25 or 40 years) will be granted asylum because his life is at risk now. Meanwhile, we are praying for your daughter. He is ever faithful. He is listening to our wishes for a better Nigeria. May our OBI-DENT good God intervene in your daughter situation in Jesus name, AMEN...

2. 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

2. Make una forget about the boy age, it doesnt matter if he is 15 or 30yrs old.
    Per 1989 UK Law-HOTA, Live organ donor and recipient must be genetically related. Is the boy related to the Ekweremadus?
    It’s also illegal to induce, coerce, manipulate or offer monetary compensation to donors.
    Ignorant and arrogant leaders worshiped by ignorant followers like you.
    Copied.

1. No ooo, organ donors don’t have to be related ooo. It just has to match. Some people who donate don’t even reveal their identity to the receiver and the receiver doesn’t know who donated either.

2. anon 10:53, that's a different case entirely if one is donating free will as a cause to save another life and choosing to remain anonymous. this current case is very different o. he has to be certified a donor by both nigerian and foreign hospitals and he will go through counseling to ascertain he is not receiving any monetary value.

3. 2Restriction on transplants between persons not genetically related(1)Subject to subsection (3) below, a person is guilty of an offence if in Great Britain he—(a)removes from a living person an organ intended to be transplanted into another person; or(b)transplants an organ removed from a living person into another person,

unless the person into whom the organ is to be or, as the case may be, is transplanted is genetically related to the person from whom the organ is removed.

(2)For the purposes of this section a person is genetically related to—(a)his natural parents and children;(b)his brothers and sisters of the whole or half blood;(c)the brothers and sisters of the whole or half blood of either of his natural parents; and(d)the natural children of his brothers and sisters of the whole or half blood or of the brothers and sisters of the whole or half blood of either of his natural parents;

but persons shall not in any particular case be treated as related in any of those ways unless the fact of the relationship has been established by such means as are specified by regulations made by the Secretary of State.

4. Ronalda if this was the issue, that’s what the uk will be arguing. They’ll be saying he lied that they are related. There’s a reason this is not the case they are making. They are making a case about the boy or mans ability to consent

3. "Ukpo informed"???!
    So they didn't even confirm by themselves.
    Y'all continue exposing yourselves the more.
    I'm on the fence on this case.

1. gaskia ma na!

2. They got him a passport so age was confirmed
      As the age is now being contested by the uk, they are asking Nigeria to provide records to help support their case
      In a functioning society, the embassy would have come in by now to stand up for the legitimacy of their document but this is Nigeria

3. David tendered his NIN, BVN and other documents to them. He went to hospitals in Nigeria to see if he was a match and actively filled forms with his age by himself. He also filled forms for the embassy. How else do you confirm for goodness sake?

4. False prophet ♡28 June 2022 at 09:25

I see the crystalline selfishness of humans.
    That's why it's hard to feel an ounce of pity for them. You'd only associate with the 'poor' when you want to extort or use them for your personal gain.
    Imagine if that boy is of age & wants your daughters hand in marriage, would you accept? But you're willing to accept his kidney. And ure not willing to risk that of any family member as a donor. Evil

1. As in... Since they won't do the right thing here, let them face the stress and heat and feel what the poor masses have been going through in their hands.

2. Them go say "slippers get size".
      Now e reach kidney, she no mind, as long as e match.

3. This hate sha
      why are you guys like this? He VOLUNTEERED. He knew whats up.

And who said the politician will not accept a marital proposal from the boy wh helped their daughter live?

NA REAL WA

4. yimu, this one dey dreamland. bc he donated kidney. highest na to give am money to start business or establish one for him but never marriage. your politicians marry themselves so that they can retain the clique, fame n power.

5. 12:10.
      E be like you're not real and truthful to yourself, you de this country at all?

6. There’s nothing wrong with what they did

7. Anon 14:22, go UK go tell their judge na. How about that???

8. 18:10 same can be said to all commenting

5. Whatever a man soweth he shall reap.
    Let justice be served accordingly

1. You are the same as these politicians. Are you truly ready to reap what you have sown? There is no little sin.

6. If you like sue the world. You ppl shld have just used a donor from ur family; even extended. Or simply gone to India/Turkey and skipped UK bcos of their overly strict rules on Organ donation.....But u wanted UK first Class Medical Treatment, Now enjoy their First Class Laws too.

1. Is it every extended family that is willing to donate their kidney?

2. He has four children, don't tell me at least one or even him or his wife isn't a match. but no, they'll rather a nobody who if for some reason things go wrong, then so be it.
      If they break the law where the law works, they should face the consequences

3. 11:36 transplant doesn’t work like that

4. Anon Uk laws are strict and complex when it comes to someone outside your family donating to you. That person CANNOT be brought in their country to give u a kidney and then compensated be it by promising education, better life or money.;they see that as organ trafficking under BRITISH LAW... This is why they shld have opted for countries with less strict rules like India or Turkey....

5. There is no charge related to compensation in this whole thing

6. Anon i am stating the definition of ORGAN TRAFFICKING under d British Law is against compensation and it was STATED in one of their court documents......"the 15yr old was promised a better life".
      That is seen as compensation...if u cannot still understand after dis and ALL Ronalda wrote u might have a comprehension problem o. I cant help

7. Beds - The 15 year old was promised a better life is not a charge. It’s a statement

8. Beds this is what uk police is currently working with pending formal charges

Mrs Ekweremadu was charged with arranging or facilitating the travel of another person with a view to exploitation, contrary to the Modern Slavery Act 2015. Her husband was charged with conspiring to arrange or facilitate the travel of another person with a view to exploitation.

They are going the forced act route a not illegal compensation

7. I am disappointed in this man legal team . Even if the boy is 31 years of age . For deliberately omitting the mortal consequences and risk from him , they have committed to crime of ‘harvesting’. And assuring him better life after the surgery they have implicated themselves . A donor is a donor …it must be free and willing with noting attached in return not even a glass of water .
    They erred with their intentions !

8. Hahahaha 🤣🤣🤣 na God go continue to disgrace una!

I should feel sorry for him?? Ooin😂😂 I rather feel sorry for a stone

9. I want to ask a question. If this boy is over 15yrs, what made the British police or investigators insist or saying he's 15yrs? Is it that they have a vested interest in this case or what? Do they see documents indicating he's 15yrs before they jumped out to say that or they spoke according to what they were told by the boy or his accomplices? I think if they spoke without verification of his real age, then they have shown bias in this investigation.

1. Which bias?
      They dont do that.
      Did they send anyone to fall their law?

2. Who is Ekeremadu to d British? Its d information d boy gave them, u think dey just came up with d age...plenty ppl do dis just to seek asylum... D way u just take dis ppl i dont understand. Hes not the first Nigerian to be tried in these type of cases. A lady in my fellowship her sister is presently in prison for these slavery/human trafficking kind of offences in d UK. An underage girl she brought as housemaid went to report her. D girl used dis asylum thing many use. Its left for Ekeremadus defence to prove his actual age. Xcuse typos

3. I for like tell you word this morning! but I just like the smell of my new creed perfume… I’ll keep calm🙄

4. @Teejay, the UK police will initially follow what the boy told them, then do further investigations.UK government has a lot on their plate, than to have a vested interest in Nigerian politics at this point. Rest assured they will do a thorough investigation of the boy's age, including what went down.

5. Aproko, the two persons that responded to my question understand what I asked but I doubt you do.

B&R, according to your response, is it good to seek asylum fraudulently?

Thanks Anon 10:32, you answered my question.

6. Teejay, don't think they are bias. It is just that they are no respecter of persons eg 'do you know who I am' and this is a very sensitive case.

Unfortunately for the Ekeweremadus, the boy's account of events contradicts theirs. You know 15 is a minor in the UK so declaring asylum will also come with benefits eg accommodation, allowances etc. They will take care of him, offer him training opportunities and even a job.

Another sad truth is that Nigerans do not have a very good reputation in the UK and we are known for cutting corners.

7. @Teejay if not for the poverty and dire desperation Govt have put Nigerians will young ppl need to do these things? People like my Grandparents went to d UK in d 50s for University,some even sponsored by Govt. They came back after their studies, had good jobs waiting for them. They did not have to scheme and lie just to remain in UK. Nigeria was GOOD. How many ask for asylum? Im sorry if i have no empathy for govt officials, let him face the EVIL he helped create.

8. @ Teejay because of this seeking asylum fraudulently that is why the UK now wants to ship asylum seekers to Rwanda to deter every Tom , Dick and Harry from seeking asylum. They haven't started implementing it yet so maybe this boy would be one of the first set that will be sent to Rwanda, let me see if he will stay there. People like these will always mess things up for genuine asylum seekers.

9. Thank you B&R and Ms Abroadian. Nice rejoinder from you guys.

10. Abroadian Bv how many people seek asylum truthfully in the UK these days?? They tend to believe lies than truth, abeg make we leave talk! Opportunity came for him on a platter of gold, I’m happy one politician is being used as a scape goat and they won’t deport him to Rwanda! He is from Africa he might as well claim they will kill him if deported back to Africa and his state of mental health will detoriate

11. Thank you Miss Aproko. They think this boy will be kept in the cold. Their wish. How many couples are in prison today for mistreatment of their wards. We all know how wicked Nigerians are to their wards they bring over. A lady from my place brought a minor, it was her class mates that reported to their teacher. That child was taken from her. They already know this boy will be harmed if sent back home. Make una dey there dey make noise.

12. @ Aproko, so he is as guilty as the Ekweremadus, he is not the naive boy he is trying to portray himself to be.

10. UK will not trust Nigeria system because they know that in Nigeria anything can happen. They know that anything can be manipulated....

11. I saw a boy hawking phone accessories in my estate yesterday and my mind flashed to the young man David. Whether he is 15 or 22 is irrelevant. There was an inducement, period! Is there no one available in the immediate and extended family of the Ekweremadus who can donate a kidney to save their loved one? Why induce someone from an underprivileged background? This is pure human trafficking.

1. Induce you say? I hope if they coerce him to go to Ukraine, he will agree since we are making it seem like the boy is blameless and had no choice.

He could have said No!!

2. There’s nothing underprivileged about this guy
      Check out his family members

3. You don't see the politicians or policemen who accept bribes as victims who have been induced but Mr David who clearly knows what he signed up for is suddenly homeless and demented because it is a crooked politician that is on trial.

12. Hmmmmm, its just a pity, feels the boy is trying to play a fast one on them, guyman no wan come back naija
    See details everywhere, scammers are at work checking if there is small change in the aza so they can take their share.

13. Hahahahaha, he should also sue us on social media. Na we make matters worse by talking about it daily. Truth is that oga senator fuck up, he has forgotten that no be naija he dey. With all this sueing, the boy has a good case of seeking asylum. Cos I heard that when it was found out that he wasn't a match, they wanted to return him back to naija, which he didn't want.

1. I’m telling you. He is not wise at all. He supposed pipe no but mbanu, he’s still flexing his political muscle. These people go believe say this guy was coerced after all. With the track records of Nigerian politicians of oppressing the poor, anything way this guy tell the court will appear more credible than theirs.

14. David... You think you are wise, but this is the beginning of your misery.
    This case reminds of the one that happened to my friend. This my helped this poor smart guy (family friend) to get job at dangote company, only for this guy to stole their millions and ran abroad. The company locked up my guy even nearly sacked him. But because of how d dedicated he is, they resolved by taking half of his salary, until he pay the whole money. The company hired private investigator that tricked the guy man back to Nigeria, maybe na jazz he used to bring him back sef. The guy is the village now, nobody trust him,or even want to help him again.

1. This case is different abeg shift.

2. David and the Ekweremadus are the same. If Ekweremadu can entrap himself this much, his protege in wickedness should not feel too relaxed.

15. Reading mode activated
    Let the drama keep coming

The rich and the poor in British law

16. 1Prohibition of commercial dealings in human organs(1)A person is guilty of an offence if in Great Britain he—(a)makes or receives any payment for the supply of, or for an offer to supply, an organ which has been or is to be removed from a dead or living person and is intended to be transplanted into another person whether in Great Britain or elsewhere;(b)seeks to find a person willing to supply for payment such an organ as is mentioned in paragraph (a) above or offers to supply such an organ for payment;(c)initiates or negotiates any arrangement involving the making of any payment for the supply of, or for an offer to supply, such an organ; or(d)takes part in the management or control of a body of persons corporate or unincorporate whose activities consist of or include the initiation or negotiation of such arrangements.(2)Without prejudice to paragraph (b) of subsection (1) above, a person is guilty of an offence if he causes to be published or distributed, or knowingly publishes or distributes, in Great Britain an advertisement—(a)inviting persons to supply for payment any such organs as are mentioned in paragraph (a) of that subsection or offering to supply any such organs for payment; or(b)indicating that the advertiser is willing to initiate or negotiate any such arrangement as is mentioned in paragraph (c) of that subsection.(3)In this section “payment” means payment in money or money’s worth but does not include any payment for defraying or reimbursing—(a)the cost of removing, transporting or preserving the organ to be supplied; or(b)any expenses or loss of earnings incurred by a person so far as reasonably and directly attributable to his supplying an organ from his body.(4)In this section “advertisement” includes any form of advertising whether to the public generally, to any section of the public or individually to selected persons.(5)A person guilty of an offence under subsection (1) above is liable on summary conviction to imprisonment for a term not exceeding three months or a fine not exceeding level 5 on the standard scale or both;

1. You sure say these people can escape all these charges. Hian

2. False prophet ♡28 June 2022 at 15:19

I see you're still filled with wisdom, welcome back Ronalda.

3. Thanks darling, @false prophet.

17. Before you travel to a foreign country for any medical procedure, be sure to do your due diligence. Speak to the health professionals who will guide you as per the rules and regulations. Don't assume anything. Ignorance of the law is no excuse, though it could be a ground for mitigation of penalty. Also, be advised that mitigation is at the discretion of the court, it's not guaranteed. The law I just posted is Human Organ Transplant Act 1989, CAP 31 of Great Britain.

1. What due diligence do you think they didn’t do
      Y’all get carried away by a foreign governments charges
      They are not infallible

2. Politicians do due diligence indeed??? Its really showing in d way they run the affairs of the country. When they launder money too and use all manner of illegal means to hide it in UK do they do their due dilligence or they try and find loopholes in d Law and use it.

3. In UK that you will receive 1,000£ they will block your account

Lillysimple

18. If he likes, let him sue Aso Rock. His case is in UK court and he is in their custody. Shikena. He ain't coming out until at least July 7th. I hope he keeps butt plug because he is a fresh meat.