Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Jailed 235 Years For Internet Fraud And Money Laundering

Thursday, June 30, 2022

Nigerian Man Jailed 235 Years For Internet Fraud And Money Laundering

Justice Agatha Okeke of the Federal High Court in Uyo, has convicted and sentenced Scales Olatunji whom the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) labelled  “a notorious international fraudster”.

The convict bagged 235 years imprisonment for internet fraud and money laundering although he pleaded “not guilty” after arraignment in July 2019 on 45-count charges.

One reads: “That you, Scales Olatunji Ishola “M”, Meraiyebu Charles “M”(at large), Gabriel Adeyemi Olugbenga “M”(at large), Ojomo Oluwatobi Ayodele “M”(at large) and Adekola Oluwatoyin “M”(at large), between January 2017 to October 2018 converted N525,172,580”.

The theft of the funds, which formed part of proceeds of unlawful activities to wit: fraud (Business E-mail Compromise and Identity Theft), violated Section 18 (a) of the Money Laundering (Prohibition) Act 2011 (as amended) and punishable under Section 15 (3) of the same Act.

Also, Olatunji on or about May 15, 2018, sent electronic messages (email) using   to one Monica Goulmoen of the Charity Association for providing girls and boys in Kobane with a football pitch.

He impersonated Per Ravn Omdal, a former Norwegian Football Association President, demanded and received €64,000.

The offence negates offence contrary to Section 22 (3)(b) of the Cybercrimes (Prohibition, Prevention, etc) Act 2015 and punishable under Section 22 (4) of the same Act.

Delivering judgment, Justice Okeke convicted Olatunji on all the 45- counts preferred against him by the EFCC.

The judge said the evidence of the prosecution witnesses were consistent and the prosecution established his guilt.

The prosecution was also able to establish the offence of cybercrime as it relates to count six to forty five of the charges.

The judge sentenced Olatunji to seven years imprisonment on counts one to five, and five years imprisonment on counts six to forty-five.

The sentence shall run from the date of arrest. The money in his account will be sent to the affected Norwegian citizens through the EFCC.

Olatunji’s properties in Lekki are to be sold and the proceeds restituted to the victims.

The EFCC commenced a probe after the convict was caught on March 20, 2019 at his Ikota residence, following a petition from the Oslo Police District in Norway.
from daily post.

15 comments:

1. If hes here in Nigeria, e no go do reach 10yrs, abeg leave that talk

2. I believe his jail time will run concurrently. Max 10 or 15 years he is out

1. If the judge doesn't state so, then it'll run consecutively..
      Either way, this is a good one. Not the ones the give one to 2 years. Longer years like this would serve as a deterrence to those who think they don't mind doing the short time if caught

2. Dante the one wey dey pain me pass nah that six months wey Dem dey give some.
      I will be wondering what is wrong with this judge are you sure they have not settled him/her
      Whether his sentence runs concurrently or consecutively it is still a big punishment for him. These Yahoo boys ehn their own just too much.

3. I’m not in support of what he did but I think the sentence was too harsh. We have those corrupt politicians and government officials squandering billions of OUR money and business men and women in our country borrowing bank money for business but using it for their personal lives without paying the money back to the bank and being praised and idolize in our society and being called billionaires? That is a double standard. No one should tell me otherwise until I see one of those corrupt politicians or government officials being sentenced to the same years in prison

3. He looks so relaxed.
    Local man will spend his whole eternity in prison even in death.
    Fraudsters never really enjoy the money,They always looking over their shoulders and running helter-skelter.

4. Can you imagine this?.... I'm not in support of his crime but please,,do this also to the nasty leaders we have.

5. Jail wey every fraudster from him state of origin suppose share, e reach Damola turn, he still use fraud collect everything. Hush nor do reach laikdis o. He go still continue for spiritual jail after he kpai sef. Damola, be calming down in Jesus' name!😂🤣🤣

6. See handsome bobo,see where fraud have gotten you

7. Others will now spend the money he stole through fraud. Life!