Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctor Tweets Shocking Side Effects Of 'Agbo Drink'

Tuesday, July 05, 2022

Doctor Tweets Shocking Side Effects Of 'Agbo Drink'

Dont scroll pass this post......

37 comments:

1. That's one of the major causes of kidney failure among youths in Nigeria now, Agbo plus drug/substance abuse.

1. How people can drink somethink which nobody monitors what goes into is beyond me. You think NAFDAC is there as a joke? They could add windscreen cleaner or coolant and you will have no idea. Continue drinking in any quantity.

2. The people preparing these agbo need to be checked. Thesame herbs that people in the villa drink all the time, grow old without any complications?

1. Who told you they grew old, be deceiving yourself @ij ph

3. Boiling and drinking the liquid from vegetables or squeezed out vegetables should be something a person does every once in a blue moon and in little quantities. Research has backed it many times that this amount of vegetable concentration gives the kidney and liver excess work and weakens them with time.

1. Then they add energy drinks and alcohol to the mix

4. I dislike agbo because it doesn't have dosage, they will just be drinking till their ancestors whisper 🆗

5. That is just like telling the Yoruba person to stop eating pepper, how will that work?

1. 11:21,I don't know where everyone got the believe that all Yoruba eat/like pepper. I'm a Yoruba lady and I don't eat pepper,my parents also don't eat pepper. Not all Yoruba like or eat pepper.

2. We know that 'not all yoruba' people eat pepper but in general, they eat more pepper than people from other tribes. Same way Nigerians in general eat more pepper than Americans.
      Not every Nigerian eats pepper, but you get the gist...

6. They will say it's cream. Meanwhile paraben full the cream.

7. I wrote my thesis on the daily use of vit c and how it prevents kidney diseases and cancer. This was back in 2002. I and my course mates went to mechanic villages and took blood/urine samples of some of the mechanic men plus agbo sellers, we then gave them 2 weeks supply of vit c to use. After 2 weeks, we came back to take another blood /urine sample of those who diligently took their dairly vit c for 2 weeks. We recorded the result and oh boy
    ..the difference was humongous! We noticed that the lead (Pb) content found in the blood of these mechanics workers and agbo sellers were seriously high, but after 2 weeks of vit c, it was negligible. If the Pb content in your blood is high, you may end up with kidney related problems in your later life. DRINK VITAMIN C EVERYYDAY MY PEOPLE.

1. Wow. I've learnt something today, thanks for sharing

2. Why not publish your research to contribute to the existing body of knowledge!!!!!

Every year thousands of our graduates carry out researches, as a requirement for graduation, they graduate and close the book on their research, this is bad, contributing nothing to existing knowledge.
      You can do a short publication online from your project and people will see and read. How many people want to visit your school library to read your research!!!!

3. E dakun? Who has asked you to go to a library to go find my research? I've only adviced people to drink vit c. Did you wake up from the wrong side of the bed this morning? This one that you're coming after what I wrote here. Naija people sha...no one dey chill...blood just running hot for no reason this early momo. For you I will advice you to take probiotics along with vit C,as your body just dey hot like this, you obviously have mood problems.

4. Thanks for this.
      I have a question: Are there side effects to taking much Vitamin C especially the tablets
      I once read the excess can do more harm to the filtration process by the kidney abi na liver???? Can't fully recall

5. Aptly said, Yori. However, the recommended dosage should be consumed as continuous consumption of high dosages could result to kidney stones. Better still, consume lots of water while on this routine.

Get well soon, Stellar and hubby. E-hugs.

6. OAP

Of course. If you take more than 2000 milligrammes per day. I take 1k mill daily

7. Yes there Is side effect especially if its in excess and it causes KIDNEY STONES.

8. People don’t know the power of vitamin C. If they do, them for use it everyday

9. Pls is it the white vit.c or the orange one?

8. In my opinion, the issue with Agbo is the dosage and knowing individual body requirement, people drink it like water and some misuse it, the terrible one is taking agbo with medicines.
    If not that we are unserious in Africa, we should have maximised agbo to our benefit, my roommate and her supervisor worked on this, she said they wanted to created an app or programme like that will help with dosage, I doubt if her supervisor was able to achieve that beautiful dream due to funding.

Felicity.

9. It baffled me how someone will trust those selling agbo to the extent of drinking it.

10. Which is worse between Agbo and all those bitters drink? Check all the people poisoning their kidneys with the Odogwu Bitters, etc. Final final, the vendors smile to the banks while the consumers come to beg for money for kidney transplant.

1. I think the content of bittees are known and stated and they're also nafdac approved. Excessive consumption cannot be blamed on the manufacturers. Cigarettes adverts go with the warning that smokers are liable to die young yet people still consume them.

2. @sweet mother: Cigarettes come with warning labels. Even if the Bitters come with warning labels, it doesn't negate the fact that it is poison to the kidneys just as cigarettes are poisonous to the lungs. On your dying bed, I hope NAFDAC will give you the kidney you need.

11. Na wa o
    I personally l don't like agbo,but my neighbor always cooking different types every two weeks...

12. The problem with the agbo lies on the inability of the producers to sieve it properly and the quantity consumed per time.
    There's always residue at the bottom of the container and the products are usually preserved with concentrated alcohol.

13. Na Agbo give me ulcer. I no dey drink again