Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer Adekunle Gold Reveals He Was Born With Sickle Cell Disease

Saturday, July 16, 2022

Singer Adekunle Gold Reveals He Was Born With Sickle Cell Disease

He wrote in his newsletter, “It feels liberating to finally be able to share this part of my life with you, to finally be able to speak my truth. When I talk about how I struggled to get to where I am today, I need you to know that my struggle was real.

“I was born with sickle cell disease. It was life and death, it was physical, mental, and financial, you name it and I went through it all. It was tough, painful and frustrating. I lived with a sickness no one around me understood. I lived with restrictions all my childhood.

“I wasn’t able to join some of the most minor childhood play and liberating activities like going out in the rain. The times when I insisted and rebelled against my parents’ orders and went out in the rain, I would end up having a crisis.

“The nights were painful and lonely, nights that no one could help me get through. It was just me, God and my mind. The pains and shivers were unbearable.

“They always came in the night, when my family had no means to transport me to a hospital. We simply couldn’t afford the constant hospital bill so I had no choice but to endure the pain.

“My mum wanted me to be well. She did her best. She took me to all the churches she could find. I’m grateful for her because she saw the future in me. A future where no illness or sickness could hold me back from my purpose, from the life I was destined to live.

“Sickle cell disease took away my freedom, my childhood. I lost friends, a lot of them. Some didn’t understand the restrictions and rules I had to live by, some just didn’t want to deal with my illness or thought it was a nasty or contagious disease that they could catch. I was a burden for some, living with sickle cell is far from living a normal life.

“One of the most intense crises I had was at the age of 20, I remember laying in my bed in the middle of the night asking for an end to it all. I begged God to take my life away because I couldn’t understand what I did to deserve the pain my body and mind was under. As usual with sickle cell after some days, the pain subsided and God asked me; “that end you begged me for, do you still want it?”

“Of course, I said no and that’s when everything changed for me. That’s when I realized that I had been given another opportunity to live my dreams and to show those that mocked me that sickle cell anemia was never going to end me; that it was never going to hold me back from my dreams and aspirations.

“My body caves in once in a while, some symptoms come back but what this disease has taught me is resilience. Sickle cell anemia gave me hope, made me tough, gave me the discipline I needed to be who I am today, built my character. I mean I went through a whole 5 weeks of back to back performances and didn’t fall sick. Grace.

“My mind and body were challenged and I’m stronger, more determined and ready to take on the world. I am ready for Adekunle Gold Supremacy. I am ready to live and enjoy the 5-star life that I deserve, that my body toiled for.

“I’m sharing my testimony with you because I hope that you can find strength in my truth. Some ailments hold us back but I’m thankful this hasn’t. I want to encourage you in whatever it is you’re going through, know that there is hope. You are strong and you must not give up. You can do this. Victory lies at the end for you just as it did for me.

“If you know anyone going through any struggle, physical, health, mental, be kind! Show compassion! In fact, be kind to everyone, you just never know what they are dealing with privately. Be supportive, be gentle and love endlessly.

“If you are a sickler, know that the disease does not define you. Don’t allow it to limit your dream or cap your potential. Spread your wings and dream big! Hope to see you soaring the big skies."

41 comments:

1. Wow!! People are fighting personal battles that no one knows of. Who would have ever thought...stay strong AG

2. It is well with you, Adekunle. May the Lord perfect his healing on you. Amen.

May anyone facing one challenge or the other get sweet and permanent relief from God. Amen

3. Awwwwww!!E-hugs to you bro
    It is well with you.

4. AGbaby thank God for your life.
    I used to have a friend in Uni days,She was always battling with this ailment,it was so pathetic.
    How she still came out with first class is beyond me.

1. They're always very intelligent πŸ‘

2. Most of them are really intelligent..

3. Like Ebuka Uchendu,very intelligent.
      The ones like Tubaba are not one kobo intelligent,it varies

4. Are you sure of what you wrote here

5. I thank God for your life. No balance for most people.

6. Awww! So touching...Thank God for you AG baby

7. Awwwww... my favourite is a warrior ❤

It takes nothing to be kind to all people, everyone be going through things silently.

Love to all warriors out there,you all are overcomers.

8. It is well with you Adekunle.
    Key word; be kind to people, you don't know what they're going through πŸ‘Œ

9. May God continue to strengthen you A.G, you are an Overcomer.

10. Who would have thought this guy was going through this behind all the smiles and bursting energy? God keep you Adekunle, it is well with you, you are a strong man.

11. The lord Jesus Christ will perfect your healing

12. I think Nigerian weather and environment contributes to why SS patients have so much crisis.
    My sis-in-law (husband’s sis) is a sickle cell patient. According to my MIL, she used to have so much crisis. She left Nigeria when she was 17 and till today, she’s only had a handful of crisis which were all in the first few months of leaving Nigeria. She’s gone well over 10 years without any crisis.

A friend of mine also has an SS daughter that battled with excessive crisis in Nigeria. This was their most important reason for leaving for Canada and in over two years now, this girl has not had any crisis.

Wonder what triggers it in Nigeria.

I almost shed tear reading this from Adekunle Gold yesterday and May God ease the pains of all those in such pains

1. You could be right. I strongly believe that malaria is the major cause of sickle cell crisis.
      My younger brother is currently living with it and I just pray God provides a means for him to leave Nigeria soon

2. Eka, you mentioned 2 people (you may know more), but you can't draw up a statistical analysis from a handful of samples.

I know a couple of people here in the UK that carry the cells, and went through their crisis stages. It subsided to almost none as they grew older.

As we have been told, except in some rare cases, the episodes reduce with age.

3. I believe you. My brother battled respiratory allergies and asthma as a kid. My mom was in constant fear bcos her own mom died from asthma. He decided to leave the country to further his studies and my parents kicked against it out of fear that there will be no one the care for him or ensure he takes his drugs. He refused and insisted he wanted to further his studies abroad. It's being 11 years, and not once has he had the need for his drugs. Infact the asthma attacks are a distant memory to him.
      SCD is a terrible disease. As a health worker, I see first hand the anguish patients and families go through when there's a crisis. Please people, go for genetic counseling before having kids and abort mission or choose adoption if there are chances of birthing a sickler. Infact, I wish the government will invest in public awareness programs about this disease.
      Adekunle Gold, thank God for you. I pray you continue in good health, realizing all your dreams.

4. But common sense should have told you the health care system is better over there not just weather.

5. 12:48 madam common sense it’s more than health care. It’s the weather. It’s generally accepted knowledge

6. What does health care have to do with anything when there’s no crisis at all? Una dey like find person mouth sha

13. Wow!! Who would have thought he fought battle of sickle cell? Thank God for His healing upon you AG πŸ™Œ

14. Keep being strong.

I know someone that had suckle cell too. But she is ok now.

15. “Some ailments hold us back but I’m thankful this hasn’t.”.
    Well written. It’s tiring seeing
    “But I overcame” all the time.

16. Thank God for seeing you through handsome, using you as a point of contact to others going through same, may God see you all through, amen

17. This just go to show,that we have to be kind to everyone we see. Who would have thought Adekunle is SS? A kind word and a smile,is all someone needs to hold on the struggle. Simisola,i applaud you for standing by him,through thick and thin. Now i understand you guys and your dress sense better.

1. πŸ˜‚ I’m sorry I’m laughing, but what has this got to do with their dress sense Biko?
      You are so strong Ag baby🀍🀍

2. Their dress sense represents freedom of expression.

18. Thank God for your live bro.. let’s be kind to one another always please.. people are going through a lot

19. May Almighty strengthen you..πŸ™πŸ™

20. Thank God for your life Adekunle. I pray this ailment never rise again in your life, amen πŸ™
    Let's always find strength in whatever we are going through. It's never easy but God is abundantly Abel to see us through, amen πŸ™

21. That's why I always tell people to be nice and compassionate when dealing with others. You never know what people are going through. Just be nice. It won't cost you a dime!
    Thanks AG for sharing your story with the world. May God keep you. πŸ™

22. No wonder you are this deep and the words you choose to express yourself in this post are so rich, refreshing and inspiring. God keep blessing you Adekunle Gold.

23. Be strong bro and keep soaring high.

24. May God's perfect healing continue to be yours. This testimony was truly encouraging.

25. Thank God for him. My sincere advice is they should do a bone marrow transplant since they can afford it. It’s the only cure. The reason they seem to have less crisis at least here in the US is the absence of malaria plus the daily medicine, yes daily med they are placed on permanently. That is why. As for asthma, Check the air quality in Lagos vs where your relative is now. It affects the frequency of acute attacks. I believe air quality indices are available online even for major Nigerian cities with PH, Lagos having very terrible numbers. Remember the door in PH, that can trigger acute asthma attacks like the emissions from the old vehicles in Lagos. Lack of zoning restrictions that put factories near residential areas aren’t good for the health as well.

For those buying the N500m houses near a refinery and proposed port in Lagos island, 15 years down the road, what became of Apapa may be the lot of many parts of Lagos island so be careful with putting so much on the real estate in areas that will soon house refineries, ports etc with little urban planning and no attention to climate change policies.

1. Many or most adults don’t qualify for the bone marrow treatment

26. Adekunle Gold, Jehovah Rapha is your healer. Words ever so precious. The joy of the LORD is your strength and everyone living with Sickle Cell Anaemia.

At a very young age, a doctor wrongly diagnosed me as a Suckler because I became anaemic from several bouts of malaria. I was transfused with 3 pints of blood (as I remember it).

I remember asking my mom a few years later why I 'am a sickler’. She told me that it was a wrong diagnosis, that my genotype is AS. What a relief that must have been to my mom because I had actually overcome an early childhood disease as a toddler.

God's healing anointing for everyone and every child going through health challenges in Jesus Christ name.πŸ™πŸΎπŸ’ž

27. *Sickler* (pardonne-moi)