Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Cynthia Okereke Reveals What Her Abductors Said About Nollywood

Sunday, August 07, 2022

Actress Cynthia Okereke Reveals What Her Abductors Said About Nollywood

Nollywood actress Cynthia Okereke was kidnapped recently and set free after a ransom was paid....
In this Interview she reveals the shocking thing that those who Kidnapped her said about Nollywood....

In an interview with Sunday Scoop, Okereke said, “They told me I was not the one they were looking for. They stated that since they could not get who they originally wanted, they had to take me. It was a coincidence.”

She also stated that contrary to some reports, a ransom was paid before she was released. 

Asked how much was paid to secure her freedom, the actress said, “That is what I won’t tell you, but a ransom was paid. I don’t want it to go viral but ransom was paid. My husband was the one who took the ransom to Ngwa in Abia State.”

Recounting her experience in the kidnappers’ den, she said, “They did not give me anything. For the first two days I was there, I was not given any food. It was on the third day they gave me milk and a malt drink. Because my stomach was empty, I knew that I would vomit if I took it, so I declined.”

Asked if the kidnappers recognised her as an actress, Okereke said, “When they captured us at Centenary Junction in Enugu, they said, ‘Cynthia Okereke, you think we don’t know you’? So, I asked them what they wanted and pleaded that they should take my car when they shot into the air. They said they did not need the car.”

On how they were transported to the criminal’s lair, the actress said, “We were wrapped with a trampoline and taken to an unknown destination. It was the following morning that one of them asked me if I know where I was. I said I didn’t no, and told me we were in Ebonyi State.”

Recalling some of the things the kidnappers told her while in their camp, she said, “They said Nollywood is not supporting Nnamdi Kanu (founder of the Indigenous People of Biafra), that we should come out en masse to support him. According to them, ‘Kanu is fighting for every one (Igbo people).”

from Punch.

Hmmmm this means it was IPOB that Kidnapped her.....

56 comments:

1. Somebody will soon say she is lying. Ipob be reducing igbo population gradually.

1. This is pure politics. They r using Ipob to set them up. Something is not right here.
      I don't support ipob but this here get kleg

2. So you mean to tell that bandits and boko Haram have reduced the north to nothing.

2. Then IPOB has lost the essence of its fight for freedom. They even go as far as kidnapping their own and collecting ransom. What a shame!

1. Ransom to fund their wicked agenda

2. They lost it a long time ago. They have become the evil they claim to be fighting against

3. They are doing what their brothers are doing up north. They kidnap their own,collect ransom from them,a dfund their evil deeds. Yet they remain miserable.

3. These people want to turn the East to something else. Thank God for her freedom

4. Hhhmmm. This kind of statement that IPOB isn't supporting nollywood. Thank God you are safe Ma.

1. Just a cover up, they are not ipob

2. Jewel, "that ipob isn't supporting Hollywood"? Please, where did you read this?

5. Thank God oo

6. I know it's is ipob that kidnapped them, even our pastor that was kidnapped last week said it was ipob people that kidnapped him. They are now so toxic and wicked that everyone is afraid to condemn them openly.

1. They could be setting them up

2. Setting them up? I believe indigenes will know an Igbo person from another tribe even if the igbo people aren't members of ipob. What is clear is that they aren't Fulani.

7. Ransom or not,ipob or not, it's good she came out alive. They're stories of where ransom was paid but the victim was still killed.Go and do Thanksgiving.

8. Jesus nawao. Thank God for your safe return

9. What a shame!!!!
    Thank God for you 🙏

10. My goodness!!!

I am just glad they were not killed

11. Ipob has turned the ownce peaceful eastern Nigeria to something else. How did the Igbo race get here? They now kill, burn and maim their own people, nnamdi kanu will never know peace in his lifetime for creating this monster

1. When Nnamdi was recruiting fellow Igbo women to sleep with them in the name of radio station, it was excused that they were not good enough to be first lady of their imaginary republic. When he embezzled the 300 million that was donated by gullible folk who were tearing their passports, it was excused that he had some made up project in the works. When this same guy was caught with a strange woman at a hotel in the same Lagos he was telling his kinsmen to leave, they said he was strategizing.

Excuse after excuse had led to this murderous organization taking over the south east completely while cowards are hailing them and still making excuses from a safe distance. I hope Chiwetala Agu is proud of this.

You people hyped vagabonds to the point that you can no longer go home in peace. You paid to arm and drug up nonentities that are now terrorizing you. People who would kill Dr Akunyili and priests. You were hiding at home while he was decked in knock off designer wears to collect bags of money that were as real as his agitation.

Let Nnamdi continue his government version of sit at home till his boys are ready to kidnap him to fund their drug habit.

12. IPOB are violent people!
    Ignorant of the right way to go about their independence.
    I've had a couple of experience with them too

13. Ipob in the East, bandits in the North. it is well with Nigeria.

14. The so called IPOB boys are criminals just using the name for criminality. They are terrorists that have no business with secession. Bloody idiots! They kidnapped my cousin and told him to bring money for their “onye ndu” which yeye onye ndu, ndi ara.

Karen

15. So why did Actors Guild quickly send out press release that God touched their kidnappers hearts and blah blah blah...talking as if they are talking to kids. Making it look like they facilitated everything. LMAOOOO
    Anyway let Nollywood people continue flaunting their wealth upandan. You buy car, you rush to Instagram to display, because the people in your house, office and street, their congratulations are not enough.
    You buy house for your great grandfather you rush to Instagram to display, ikwawawawawawa
    In this age of insecurity its obvious that so many of them are bereft of basic common sense.

1. Well it’s stil God
      Afterall they collected from some and didn’t return the person
      And remember paying is illegal

16. Madam, you saw their faces, are they Igbos or Fulanis. Talk true

1. They are Igbo IPOB members. Read the interview.

2. 12:25, comprehension is a major problem. Please read her interview transcript again.

17. The worst part of it,is that they are unleashing their anger on their own people.smh

1. Are they supposed to unleash it on other ppl not their own ppl? See evil comment

18. What if kidnappers are just taken advantage of the not so safe condition of the country and tagging it 'Ipob'..I just fell they are being used as scape goats. The whole idea of protecting the east have been hijacked.

1. I haven't seen any ipob supporters peaceful while defending their leader

2. They don't have to be ipob but surely, she will know the ethnicity of her kidnappers. And they are obviously of Ibo extraction.

19. You can't necessarily accuse IPOB of guilt when no verifiable evidence supports such assertion. Nigerian government is known for incessant killings, false labelling and deceit. The moment MNK was arrested, 'IPOB turned brutal' overnight. Ekpenta ghuru our politicians anya.

1. Sassy girl, Chinyere is a full igbo woman. She will know the difference between Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba.

20. Just thinking aloud. What if it's not IPOB? The kidnappers may want to through some scent off their trail. Why would the kidnappers want to be found?

Anyway, if truly it is IPOB, they have truly lost it. Intel should be collected from her so they trail and aren't them.

1. Who gives out his lead and cover so easily? This is not ipob

2. Anon 13:21,that's another angle o

3. Exactly what I am thinking

21. Hmmm
    Thank God for their safe return

22. Hmm these ipob touts are really taking this thing serious.
    But they are only taking advantage of situation and hiding under ipob to do these evils

23. I feel some persons are using this ipob thing to tarnish the image of the igbos.Because,i don't think they would intentionally mention themselves when they know that if she's been released,she would talk.But if at all,it is truly the ipob,then it's a big shame to them

1. Why won't they mention themselves? Don't fulani herdsmen and Boko Haram mention themselves? Of course they are now terrorists so they will mention themselves in order to instil fear in people. Terrorists mention themselves and claim responsibility for attacks all over the world.

24. Na wa
    Thank God they came back alive.

25. ThankGod for safety,some people didn't come out alive even after the ransom paid

26. Oh goodness! Thank God for your safety ma.