Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Comedian Basketmouth Reveals What Led To 17 Year 'Beef' With Colleague AY Makun

Tuesday, March 28, 2023

Comedian Basketmouth Reveals What Led To 17 Year 'Beef' With Colleague AY Makun

Wahala be like Bicycle..... 

Following AY’s recent interview with Vlogger Chude Jideonwo, where he attributed the cause of the 17 years of rift to a business transaction that went sour, a throwback interview of comedian Basketmouth, blaming colleague AY, for breaking their loyalty bond has resurfaced on the internet.

AY's recent interview led to a resurgence of Basketmouth’s old Interview on the beef which has continued to cause a stir on social media.
Basketmouth was Interviewed by serial host Ebuka Obi-Uchendu.

In the trending video, Basketmouth accused AY of sharing confidential information with a third party, which caused damage to their relationship.
Basketmouth said: “The thing is this, friendship for me is everything. I don’t mess around with friendship, I don’t mess around with loyalty. He (AY) came to my space and messed around with loyalty.
Though I don’t want to go into details, he said something I personally shared with him with my lawyer Magnus. And Magnus called me.”

from dailypost

*Who be this Magnus? So someone tell am something and he passed it on?So he is the reason these two men dont talk? God abeg!!!
Oh Lord, please gimme Solomon's wisdom to know when to talk and when to keep shut

37 comments:

1. We all make mistakes and learn from it,no one is perfect and without fault,if Ay has acknowledged his mistake. Basketmouth should let go. Just imagine if there was no forgiveness in the world! Imagine if God held us all accountable this way.
    Basketmouth should also acknowledged that he too was also fault,a hungry man can go to any extent sometimes,cos he isn't thinking straight at d time.He should stop acting as if he is innocent in all this,who knows if he intended to pay At at all?
    All sin is sin,no one is big and no one is small.

1. But AY acknowledged that he pays him till that one.

The whole truth is that AY went on a querry to find out how much BM collects for the job to be giving him 30k. And he was asking the client cos he exchanged contact with him, he also asked to handle any of his further jobs and more clients from him (as in networking ).
      BM heard it and got angry and that was the genesis of the problem before the chats were even shared.

But I feel BM should have forgiven him if he apologised. Our heavenly Father forgives us even before we ask. And it's not by force they must remain friends, they should just forgive eachother and move on.
      They are both good at what they do though and I respect both of them.

2. Judge and jury, case dismissed. Na so you take pass judgement. Una for this blog shaaaaaaa

3. I was nodding in agreement to the wise words spoken, when you started bashing the victim. Typical Nigerian. Stop preaching to or bashing the victim. The agrieved was the offended, let him heal at his own pace. Once we have corrected the offender, let's keep mute and watch healing take place. Until we all without sin, let's quit the pulpit abeg.

4. Like I said before
      Some people take sharing private details with someone else very very important. They will forever see you as a snake.
      This is 2023 sha, 17years is a long time

Push up (original)

5. Honestly @10:47, e shock me. What manner of thinking and judgement is this. Why even compare anyone with God. God forgives this, God forgives that..If you are the type that easily forgives, go ahead and forgive every tom, dick and harry so that they will mess up your space. You should not come and command me to forgive someone when you dont know how much pain i felt when i was hurt. Do not bite the finger that feeds you. Same word of God that says forgive is the same word of God that says the wages of sin is death. Let's be guided.

6. Many want to japa but we need the mindset of the potential hosts. The entire digital marketing industry here is based on this very practice. It’s not “biting” any fingers! That phrase is borne out of the poverty in the country, he worked for it.

Some hire a maid or driver & pay pittance & when the person quits they say “she bit a finger” ! I hope you realize that as soon as you search for a Mercedes online, Porsche, BMW ads is all you begin to see with their emails from then on! If the founders of YouTube, Instagram etc were Nigerians nobody will make good money off their inventions! It’s called networking.

If you are sure of your work & skills, you won’t mind who takes phone no. They are ALL listed online now thanks to πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ invention of SM unlike the analog mindset of BM! In my field everyone is listed online, it’s the reviews and stars that bring patients which help promote good customer service. I guess if you defraud clients like Bm does by overbooking you will be insecure due to your greed! Professionals should refer their colleagues if they have more than enough & their colleagues has none. Doing otherwise is “poverty mindset”. The sky is big enough and your skills & gifts will set you apart. That’s how capitalism works.

2. Are they still discussing this?
    Lol, SDK where's the "reveal"? Pls if they dnt want to make peace..fine but the back and forth in interviews are unnecessary. Bear in mind these fans, vloggers, interviewers are only looking for news not like they really care. They should learn to politely turn down questions they wouldn't like to answer.

3. At least they're doing well

1. Maybe he wants to feature in "My Flatmates". Basket (Francophone), please give him a role.

4. Pls let it go. Forgiveness is the key.

5. Someone worked for u and u refused to pay him and lied that it was because u had not been paid. Anything u see after such is ur fault and not the fault of the other person.

Same people defending Basketmouth will use same mouth to call our bosses that are owing their workers. Make it make sense Abeg

1. πŸ‘ŒπŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎThis was part of my comment under AY’s post. No wonder it’s the norm to owe salaries in Nigeria? They don’t see the betrayal by BM who lied he did not get paid while his then junior colleague went hungry after earning his N30K.

A people deserve the goverment they get and this story here shows many Nigerians deserve the kind of bosses that owe them money. The initial betrayal was by BM who defrauds clients by overbooking instead of linking them to his unemployed or unbooked colleagues. Try paying for BeyoncΓ© and telling them to watch Alicia Keys here! I collect MC’s phone numbers at weddings here because my children are grown up so I have phone numbers of MCs ready. The same people go under comments on Instagram to beg folks to watch their skits on their pages. BM seems like a proud toxic person & AY should ignore him. The Lord’s prayer says if you don’t forgive, God won’t forgive you too. Heaven is for forgiven people.

2. Don't mind Basket mouth. You refused to pay him and the guy was hungry. A hungry man is an angry man.

Which loyalty Basket mouth? You dey loyal to Elsie?

Park well make we see when US go start to dey share visa

3. Each of them has told different stories of the cause of their admitted feud.

Each of us judge who is guilty depending on who each believes.

Both of them know the truth and who is actually guilty.

4. Was that the first job he was giving him? If he has been paying for other jobs, why not give him time to resolve whatever the issue was?

6. These guys should let sleeping dogs lie jare. How many years now?

7. Let me go and baff fess. I will come back here

8. Have gone through so much in life, failures, disappointment etc. And they're all the things I can't control and don't have power over. And I try so much to protect my peace, atleast, this is something I can protect myself from.

If you hurt me in any way, make me feel sad in any way, have gone through alot of stress already, I will forgive you, but I will stay far away from the person. I won't want to come close anymore, to get hurt again. Because, I won't forgive myself. That, I let you have such access and power over me again, by letting you. People, think I don't forgive but I'm just protecting my peace.

Basket mouth, might not be having issues with him again, but doesn't want to experience another disloyalty

9. Stella, Magnus is his lawyer and he is in the position to tell his client whatever looks like a treason to his life or business.

Magnus was only doing his job

1. Analogue mindset. Now that EVERYONE can get anyone online how will their likes hoard help as if he is God! I hope BM has never gotten any business online by contacting clients, that may make him a “betrayer”. Thank God for technology. Many corporations post the CEO’s email & phone so your subordinate can email if you overstep your boundaries or harass. I guess there is no transparency in the country so politicians put salaries in fixed deposit and lie they haven’t received allocation from FG for a year! Overbooking is defrauding clients but I guess “betraying the fingers that fed you” is worse than fraudulently overbooking & subcontracting when you coukd link them up directly so they too can fish! The comments supporting BM’s analogue behavior by a generation that I thought had a digital mindset are eye opening.

2. 14:56
      Rest. Only a client has the right to complain about being given services other than or lesser than paid for. Do you know the terms of BM and his clients?

This is a case where each man has stated his own account. Believe who you may without condemning how one runs his business with his clients.

Your use of USA this and CEO that may not be appropriate. There are Nigerian bandmasters who have 4 standard bands that can reproduce same quality sound and songs of the band leader. People book for each band Knowing the performance terms. Patrons also have the choice of booking for the band leader to be present to lead and perform per duration. Such duration agreed on may enable the leader perform at two or more different ceremonies within 24 hours where possible. The people who do certain businesses know the rules. It is better for all to play by their business custom. Whoever is too hungry or too smart to abide by the guild rules should run solo as a Maverick not under any guild member's cloak, which is also allowed.

10. Las las,no body die, its nt that serious, forgiveness is vital, you guys should embress it please.

Ada ohafia

11. Imagine!
    And someone said it the other day o. The Anon said that people like AY will mess up with you and go around forming victim to make you look bad.

1. For real. More to the AY story let's wait for Basketmouth full version.

12. Basket mouth is at fault here, paying him his money wont cause you a thing but you choose not to.

1. Had it been he paid him his money AY wouldn't have done such.
      Next time learn Basket.

Even some of us here are like Basket mouth. Settle people what belongs to them and have your peace

13. Not surprised though,
    AY actually looks like a basket-mouth
    🚢‍♂️🚢‍♂️🚢‍♂️

1. Most of the country needs massive re-orientation and re-education like Chairman Mao did in China. Our value system has been battered and devalued. Our sense of right and wrong is sometimes defective! BM “defrauds” clients by overbooking while subcontracting at a cheap price to “hungry” colleagues to exploit them. The same way some get bank jobs at high salaries and hire “contract workers” paying pittances to exploit them! I think morality has disappeared from the country. Let’s start from there. In the west, any professional will refer you to his colleague DIRECTLY if he is overbooked but greed makes him take 3 wedding jobs to make money off the sweat of others. He defrauded his clients as it was impossible for him to execute those contracts! That we are not a litigious society is why he got away with it.

Lying by insinuating the client hadn’t paid because AY’s performance was “unsatisfactory” not realizing people, even wedding guests exchange numbers at weddings is horrible. This guy waited for two weeks! Yet some folks are taking of betrayal? Some of those talking of betrayal can be owed N5m for one week without camping in front of the person’s house! No wonder governors & employers see nothing wrong in owing salaries! I think many younger Millenials & Genzs have forgotten normalcy! There was a time in Nigeria nobody owed anyone salaries, bought Tokunbo cars or electronics, applied for UK visa etc! BM was wrong from the start. You can’t pay for Davido or Wiz and get Skales (not that Skales) isn’t as good but they are different. In the west, when you are overbooked you refer the client DIRECTLY to your colleague. Why are we like this? I hope BM is perfect and has not sinned against God, his wife and anybody in 17 years because it’s the same measure God will use in dealing with him.

14. Eeeeh! Since you guys refused to settle it yourselves and brought it to kinsmen. Here is our judgement: You two belong to the same profession. You had a misunderstanding, which is a part of life (even twins and couples dey fight). We have gone through this matter and discovered it was a mistake by both of you. So, you two should quickly arrange to meet so that you can reconcile. The truth is: If you don't forgive, Almighty God will not forgive you, and this may delay blessings from God. You two should ponder on this.

15. Well if Ay nor tell Magnus anything, Magnus nor go tell Basketmouth anything.
    People like Ay should be avoided, loyalty means nothing to them.
    Person first dey give you work and pay you before, just because he nor pay just one instance, you run go betray am. You don't bite the hands that once fed you/has fed you before no matter how bad things were for Ay.

1. Which loyalty? If BM had paid him, he wouldn't have done that, simple.

BM should release himself from unforgiving bondage.

2. How is BM holding him in 'unforgiving bondage'? Any of them can initiate peace but seems pride is in both of them. Both of them got it wrong, so they should be real big boys and apologise to each other and move on. They don't even need to be friends after, just cool.

3. Those asking "which loyalty" are those that are myopic in business dealings. They fail to see the bigger picture. When you have a trader who you buy stuff from frequently, there may be times he/she may dash you stuff or sell stuff at a lower price to you. He/she is looking at a bigger picture which is the frequent patronage and how much he stands to gain over a long period of repeat business with you. If as a trader, your one naira cannot be left on the table during negotiations, you will wonder why people buy from you once and then switch to someone else. Had he done other job deals with BM? Had he owed him before? If he did not have a history of always owing him why not give him the benefit of doubt? What has not paying him got to do with forwarding BMs text to the subject of the text? Is basketmouth the only comedian in the industry that is not his friend? He should invest his time in becoming their bestie if he wishes. Friendship is not by force. If someone cuts you off, respect yourself and face front. Stop the image smear. If BM stopped giving him jobs, those jobs must have been given to another comedian. Has anyone else come forward to say that he has a habit of not paying them for jobs?

16. “Weak people revenge.
    Strong people forgive.
    Intelligent People Ignore”
    ALBERT EINSTEIN

One of the most bizarre things I hear is when people, Christians who receive forgiveness endlessly from God brag that they cannot forgive. To all “perfect” BM supporters here, read “The Lord’s prayer” in the Bible agsin and see why he is on the wrong track. Nobody is perfect. Not forgiving someone is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die of poisoning. Why do you think Jesus asked us to forgive 70*7 times in a day? He knows we cannot be his children if we do not learn the most important attribute of love, which is forgiveness. AY move on. You are obviously the better man.

17. As magnus told you why not confront Ay n settle with him? 17 yrs is too long to carry a grudge o
    Ay did u a big favor by going to the event for you, becos it would have lead to a big problem from you client if he didn’t show up
    When time to pay y not pay? You both are a fault make una settle una selves

18. Basketmouth you can forgive Ay and still choose not to have business or personal relationship with him. And those of you saying Ay is a better man, I laugh at you. I pray someone will be that kind of better man to you. Even the apology will annoy you sef pass, especially as Ay feels he is older than Basket and would use scoop to apologize. Imagine coming on to him and saying, my guy let’s squash this beef, we are too big for that. How about acknowledging the betrayal and how deeply you regret it, how would never attempt such a thing to anyone again, instead you were acting unremorseful and and rallying the fans for support in the court of public opinion . All those of you always calling God into every matter, I know someone of you only call God when you want to get away with your no nonsense. I’m sure none of you practice what they preach , you only rush to the one that will condone your evil ways, even God forgives,thou shall not judge but you will ignore that shall not sin others sins that brought the unforgiviness and judgement