Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Daily News Roundup

Tuesday, March 07, 2023

Daily News Roundup

Deposit Money Banks in the country have begun partial compliance with the Supreme Court order approving the use of old N1,000, N500 and N200 notes as legal tender for 10 months. On Monday, findings revealed that commercial banks had begun partial compliance with the order even though the Central Bank of Nigeria and the Office of the Attorney General of the Federation kept mum on the matter.

The Independent National Electoral Commission has asked the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal to vary the orders that were granted to the candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party and Labour Party, Atiku Abubakar and Peter Obi, respectively, to inspect materials used for the last presidential election. The INEC said it needed to reconfigure the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System for the next round of elections.

No fewer than 50 persons have been feared killed during a four-day attack by suspected herdsmen who invaded some communities in Kwande Local Government Area of Benue State. The affected communities include Adam, Iyarinwa, Abamde Ityuluv, Waya Boagundu, Agura Ayaga and Azege areas in Turan Council Ward, Kwande LGA.

. Embattled House of Representatives Majority Leader, Alhassan Ado Doguwa was on Monday afternoon granted bail to the tune of N500 million and two reliable sureties in like sum by the Federal High Court in Kano presided over by Justice Muhammad Nasir Yunus.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Presidential Candidate, Atiku Abubakar, the National Chairman of the party, Dr Iyorchia Ayu and the Director General of the PDP Campaign, Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, are among party leaders that led a peaceful protest to the office of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in Abuja.

One person was reportedly set ablaze inside his Sienna car when gunmen stormed the Abakpa area of the Enugu metropolis at about 5:30 am, yesterday. About two vehicles and five tricycles were also burnt by the hoodlums suspected to be enforcing a sit-at-home order that was gradually being ignored by residents in the South-East.

Some members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State, under the aegis of PDP Vanguard, have drawn a battleline with Governor Seyi Makinde, who is seeking re-election for a second time in office. They said they have chosen to work against Makinde, and that they would instead support the governorship candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Teslim Folarin.

President-elect, Bola Tinubu, has urged Nigerians to come together to defeat merchants of death and terror once and for all and stop them from mindless killings and atrocities. Tinubu made the appeal while condemning attacks in Maru Local Government of Zamfara State and Maigari town of Rimin Gado Local Government in Kano State by bandits.

Ten family members were on Sunday around 5pm killed in a road accident on the Kaduna-Kachia highway while returning from a wedding in Kano State. It was gathered the victims’ vehicle had a head-on collision with a lorry conveying firewood.
from daily post

9 comments:

1. The law is for the poor masses πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯ΊπŸ₯Ί

2. INEC Chairman you will do no such thing. I pray the court don't grant that your silly request. You want to reconfigure what? To erase the hard evidence of our case. No way! E be like say una dey play too much for this country.

It's better the gubernatorial election is shifted than tampering an exhibit before the court.

You guys didn't ask question properly. You messed with the wrong generation of youths.

On Makinde bid and the threat of ousting him from seat. I have just one word for him. Go and call Nyerishi Wike to come and rescue you. Afterall, he did it in the just concluded Presidential election in Rivers state. He can still do it for you.

No be to only carry you they fight him battle. Let him fight your own battle. I'm afraid you may join your other colleague of the G5 that lost their election.

The sin of Wike will work against you all.

3. Rip to that family of ten. LP or inec should back up that bimodal data's before refiguring for next election

4. Why burn someone alive because of sit-at-home order? Why??? I don't know why it's so easy for some people to kill their fellow human beings. God have mercy.

5. Enugu state Abakpa Nike was hot yesterday...

Fathe Lord come to our rescue πŸ™ 😒 😭

6. Tinubu urged who??after you picked the person who started B H as your running mate/vice?

7. To much killing in the land, God bless come to our rescue.

8. Some of us can’t wait to get into the seat of power. As e de hot πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚