Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: INEC Postpones Governorship And State Houses Of Assembly Elections By One Week

Thursday, March 09, 2023

INEC Postpones Governorship And State Houses Of Assembly Elections By One Week

The Independent National Electoral Commission has postponed the governorship and state assembly elections scheduled to hold on March 11 by one week.
The elections will now hold on March 18, 2023.

This was made known in a statement signed by the National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, INEC, Festus Okoye on Wednesday.

A state Resident Electoral Commissioner who spoke to our correspondent on the condition of anonymity also confirmed the decision.
The INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, and his commissioners were in a closed-door meeting over the governorship election. The meeting commenced at 7pm on Wednesday.

The decision was reached after the meeting with the INEC chairman and his team.
The postponement is coming about three days before the March 11 date earlier scheduled for the state elections.
Consequently, all activities pertaining to the exercise are rescheduled, especially the states inspection of sensitive materials at the Central Bank of Nigeria.

INEC’s decision was due to the commission’s inability to earnestly commence reconfiguration of the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System machines utilised during the February 25 presidential and National Assembly elections to enable their use in the state elections.

The Presidential Election Petition Court, sitting at the Court of Appeal in Abuja, had earlier today given INEC the go ahead to reconfigure the BVAS it used for the presidential election.

From Punch

18 comments:

1. Another week added to cash scarcity.

2. Na them sabi.
    They should sha do what they have to do let's have our lives back. I'm tired!

3. We will wait,shebi it's BVAS abi
    The time left is not much

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. And the suffering continues for another one week. We will survive.

6. What is discouraging my spirit is the fact that all these things will be done, Nigerians will accept the additional hardship with the hope that it would yield a better result, but at the end... Corruption will still find a way to win.
    If at the end of all these, tinibu still finds his way to ask rock, then what's the need? 😔😔

7. The naira scarcity continues, making citizens to suffer ...wicked souls

8. When will this suffering and cash scarcity stop ! Who did we offend in this country seff😭

9. Like seriously?
    So what ll happen to those that fix that day for their wedding especially my SIL
    The government should try and be putting us into consideration before making decisions now
    Haba

10. Inconsiderate and selfish government. What will happen to those who fixed their events on that day and have already printed cards? what happens to the students you have kept at home for 3weeks now?

11. Eye Neck has just disrupted so many activities ba yi ooo🥺

12. What's going on? haven't we suffered enough? Now another week added. Lord have mercy.

13. Chika(hello iya boys)9 March 2023 at 12:18

This people are not serious oo...

14. My dear Country Nigeria... What is our offense??????