Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Gov Sanwo Olu Re-elected As Governor

Monday, March 20, 2023

Lagos State Gov Sanwo Olu Re-elected As Governor

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, winner of the governorship election that held in the state on Saturday, March 18, 2023

The declaration was made in the early hours of Monday, March 20, 2023 by Professor Adenike Oladeji, the Returning Officer of the Governorship and House of Assembly elections in Lagos State.

Sanwo-Olu, who won 19 out of the 20 local government areas of the state, polled a total of 762,134 votes to defeat his closest rival, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party, who polled 312,329 

Olajide ‘Jandor’ Adeniran of the Peoples Democratic Party  polled 62,449 votes.

44 comments:

1. Congratulations,Babajide,your re election was not free nor fair.

1. Don't mind him...2nd term with tears, blood, death, thugs and intimidation...Make sure you hand over Lagos to the thugs you have been enthroned....Lagos people get ready did you see the army of thugs una don get ''mini terrorists''...

2. Phoenix,

I'm not even disappointed. There is nothing more to add but a few.

When you fetch ant infested firewood you should get ready for a reptilian groove.

If Gbadebo can gathered such amount of votes despite the intimidation, thuggery and disenfranchisement of people loyal to the labour party from voting, I think I will give it to him as the hero of that gubernatorial election.

2. Now I believe politics is a dirty game.
    I wished he left it to his track records to speak for him.
    So will he sincerely celebrate this?

Now what will be the aftermath of the thugs used for this election?
    They can't stay idle nah.
    Nah wah

1. Exactly what I was telling my husband. Sanwolu would have still won without the thuggery. I am happy GRV didn’t win, not sure he has any managerial experience, theory is different from practice.

That said, Sanwo has his win tainted, all because his people can’t trust the populace to think and vote, and that is a dent on our democracy.

Mystic

2. But you celebrated the 98% margin win of Peter Obi in the whole of Southeast. When it favours you, you celebrate. When it doesn't, politics is a dirty game and you want out. You will be alright 😎

3. Auntie mystic, which managerial skills did your re-elect have on ascension of the government seat in 2015. Una go just sit somewhere de yarn things.

Meanwhile we Dey here Dey argue about tribalism bc we aren’t experiencing natural disaster. Those countries, go and ask the rich Howfar with the amassed wealth. That is the least of their worries. Everyone there is thinking of survival. We need to start thinking open-minded and progressive.

Nnem Biko post 😘

4. Don't mind them jare, bunch of wailers.

5. Anon 10:14…. Compare the resumes of Sanwoolu & GRV. Let’s not even put Funsho Doherty ‘s much better resume in the picture. GRV has zero experience. That some are so bent on putting him in Alausa over three other competent candidates reveals there is a hidden agenda!
      SANWO-OLU
      -Treasurer, Lead Merchant Bank
      -Head, Foreign Markets, UBA
      - DGM, FCMB
      • Chairman, Baywatch Group
      - Special Assistant Corporate Matters, Lagos 2003
      • Commissioner for Economic
      Planning and Budget - 2007
      • Comm for Estab, Training and Pensions
      . .MD / CEO - LSDPC
      • Pioneer Chairman, LSSTF;
      - Governor, Lagos 2019.

GBADEBO RHODES-VIVOUR
      • Intern, Franklin Ellis Architects, UK
      Architect, SISA
      • Architect, KIIf Consultants
      • Consultant architect/ MD,
      . Spatial Tectonics
      . Local Government chairman aspirant
      . Senatorial aspirant
      I thought all southerners agree that merit is better for Nigeria. I see some don’t care about merit. This guy won’t be a middle manager in any Fortune 500 with no managerial e oeriebce outside of his own small business

6. I want to ask ohh, if you guys don't give him a chance to gain the experience, how will he then have the experience.
      The same thing graduate are facing at the moment, no one wants to give them a chance to gain and acquire that experience that is so sought after. If sanwolu and the rest were not given the opportunity to acquire these experiences would he be were he is today?
      Please can we stop all this experience talk, e no jig at all.
      Effort,perform and hands on deck is not by experience please!

7. @10:39, don’t mind them. GRV has not provided evidence he has managed 10 people, or a department, now he will manage Lagos?! Indeed.

Mystic

8. @Acenene, please you can’t gain experience on such a job, you have to show evidence of succeeding at something less complex before bigger responsibilities can be entrusted to you.

Asking graduates for experience in roles that don’t require specialize experience is wicked. But that’s not the same thing with managing a state, and not one state in the interior, Lagos state.

Let’s not cut our noses to spite our face.

Mystic.

9. Truth is Sanwo olu would have still won if that election was free and fair, a lot of people who voted for Peter obi chise sango olu for gubernatorial, I am just beyond irritated that they keep towing the thuggery and 'by force' route.
      Fgs ruling is not by force!! If people say they don't want you, why do you want to force yourself on people? Gosh... its really terrible.

3. Hmmmm.
    What happens now to all the thugs used?
    Will they be in governments payroll all through his tenure?

You didn't even trust your track records and competence to win fairly.
    Congratulations on taking your inheritance and birthright by fire by force.

1. The thugs are 'thugfully' employed. They're the ones collecting exorbitant charges from bus drivers and their conductors. They and their ogas at the top are the reason transportation is as expensive as it is in Lagos.

4. Congratulations! Agberocracy has come to stay...You could not win fairly and squarely...You had to use thugs to have your way...GRV you do well jor! You gave this man sleepless night...You did very well!

1. Serious sleepless nights. They will all reap what they have sown.

Sluttychic.

5. No need saying congrats. Go and collect it from your agberos you brought as dogs and unleashed to the people.

6. Sanwo fuck up big time! He did not need thugs to win this election. He has a track record of leadership experience which Rhodes didn't have. If Lagos were to be a fully loaded bus, it can't be given to a learner driver! No analytical, objective person will choose GRV over Sanwo. Sanwo tainted his victory with thuggery.

1. Don't mind him...It is only weak people that will go through violence

2. Thank you.

Mystic

3. Exactly!! He messed up big time.

7. Re-elected with the help of thugs.

8. Sanwolu would have still won without the thuggery yidi yada yidi. With what your people did in the East during presidential elections and in your strongholds in Lagos, and calling Lagos a no man's land, you wanted Lagosians to sit back, fold their arms and watch you force Chinedu on them right? Nah, they can't take that chance!

🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️

1. 🤔🤔 openly supporting violence. A leopard cannot change its spots

2. Thank you o. I wonder the magic Gbadebo has to perform.

3. Really? And violence is the way? No wo der Stella doesn't post your comments.

9. Sanwo-Olu might not have been involved in the thuggery as he may have followers, party loyalist etc, who might take it upon themselves to ensure he is reelected.

1. He should have called them to order. If i have followers that go about forcing my will on people even to the extent of inflicting injuries on them, I would speak against it and ask the to stop. Obi never encouraged violence. All major political parties have their thugs, including LP. It is the duty of the leaders to discourage violence as much as possible. If you keep quiet because violence is favouring you, no one will rescue you when that violence turns against you.

2. No, anon1. He is part of the thuggery. It is part of his political structure.

Mystic

10. Agberocracy and thuggery did it! Enjoy.
    God is watching y'all.

11. They have cooked for Nigerians in Lagos. Yorubas should get ready because now the SS, SE and Middle Belt wants to cook for them. Since they kept quiet for the rubbish that happened in Lagos these past weeks! We sef we go let them know how far, going forward!I am not Igbo and GRV is better qualified to be Lagos State Governor! I don't know the experience you guys are talking about! Oniyeye group of company will now mete stress to you guys in that Lagos. If Igbo people know what is good sell your properties and leave Lagos! A place that smells, when it rains is even worse!!! I am so happy, I relocated my projects and investments out of Lagos, to the south south.

1. Which middle belt? Or do you mean North central? We, from the North Central back the Yorubas fully on their choice of Sanwolu, know that and have peace!

2. Nope GRV is not qualified anything, Doherty is a far better candidate.

3. ,@ Dainty T are you okay? Please don't be unfortunate here o. Write your opinion and move on! Is not everyone that comes here that's your rank and file! If you are not properly trained , go and learn manners!!! Don't ever come and respond to anyone's opinion! Do you know what it is to be trained in 2 top schools in the world? We are global citizens;you guys can keep churning out mediocres for all I care! It's you all that will bear the damages!!! Nigeria government does not pay my bills, so be warned!

4. Have you cared to look at Doherty’s CV? He is the best on paper of the three front runners.

5. A degree from any school including MIT prepares you for the work environment.
      The best candidate was Funsho who I worked & attended training in Europe with decades ago. Since then he has gone on like me to acquire more experience at more global corporations, living in surbubs of US as well. Why is this relevant? Here is an example. Many guests from 🇳🇬 years ago used to wonder why our suburb & many(you call them estates) has a huge lake within it, different from the swimming pools in the homes. These guests are rich folks from 🇳🇬. I used to explain that the lakes are artificial showing them sunk pumps that pipe rain and flood water from EVERY house to the plots designated as Lake to reduce the risk of flooding. I’m sure many homes now have it in Nigeria as that was years ago!

There is so much to learn about how to develop a place. An F1 visa to study and return from living in the dormitory or just staying for a few weeks in a low income area does not give you the depth you need to gain some infrastructural knowledge to apply to the problems of 🇳🇬. Even when they own homes, it’s in the same southern ATL, Houston warm areas that may not present diverse infrastructural learning opportunities. Sanwoolu resume has way more experience than GRV. I’m stunned that GRV supporters who were quick to tell Sowore to start as a councilor did not seem to care that GRV is even less experienced than Sowore. I thought Fulani mediocrity brought Nigeria down but now I see that every group just wants control, even if it’s their most unqualified candidate. Lagos is too complex to put in the hands of someone with a light resume & many godfathers (Bode George, Kofo Buckner, PO, Lagos PDP establishment). GRV did not win & would not have won because Sanwoolu was still popular with many people. Jimi Agbaje (backed by huge GTBank & old money) tried to dislodge apc for years. Lp should have brought a more competent candidate but didn’t.

Btw MIT, Stanford, Duke, UCLA, Urbana, Uchicago, Northwestern, UCBerkely ARE better than most ivies in Engineering and many fields but NONE of them is IVY league. MIT is NOT an Ivy League school but one of the best engineering schools and no 2 in Architecture. Ivy League schools are mostly in New England states where the Europeans first settled. and many are not the top 10 in some majors/programs ,those schools I listed constantly beat them in engineering & many programs.

The US has so many developed areas that the kids with the perfect or high scores in many high schools do not want to travel far from home to New England so they go to the best ranked school for the program they want to study near their families. GRV has a future in politics if he is able to navigate the nuanced political environment.

As to thugs, I have been to Ariara in Aba & Onitsha markets. There are thugs in every region. There were 20 local governments. GRV lost his polling unit. Was that rigged too? Gbaja, the HOR speaker lost his ward to lp’s PO during the presidential election & didn’t say it was rigged. When you practice cyber tyranny, you live in a cocoon of people pretending they are for your candidate when they are not. See how the actor’s kids were cursed & the husband had to “diss” his wife to protect his kids? Cyber bullying can cause suicide & mental illness so it’s not much different from the Mc oluome bullying. Llp had more of that before the election so I’m sure many celebs pretended online to avoid toxicity. Democracy is about choice! I saw them eat suya & drink in some polling stations online & many friends said their areas were very peaceful. Violence is intolerable but was it hyped in Lagos & ignored in other parts to make a point✌🏾

12. Congratulations my Able and Credible Governor. You did well! Please Continue the good works and make all the wailers eat their words and heap of curses. We love you!. God Bless Sanwo-Olu. God Bless Lagos State. Good Bless Nigeria

13. Congratulations Sanwolu, wailers can keep wailing.

14. Congratulations to a very high performer. You have earned this one. Wishing you many more years of effective service. Omo to see dada.