Monday, May 29, 2023

President Tinubu Removes Fuel Subsidy

64 comments:

1. Day 1: subsidy removal.
    Day2: incoming
    We go survive, we've been surviving..

1. This should have been done ages ago! Madame Ngozi Iweala tried in her time. Fmr President Jonathan tried to do it, he was bullied out of it.

This scheme was just a free Money funnel for the big wigs!
      Well done BAT.

2. My sister

Goodluck Jonathan removed subsidy
      Some people: such a wicked incompetent man, occupy nigeria.
      Tinubu removes subsidy
      Nigerians: well let’s believe he knows what is right, let us have a renewed hope

🤣🤣🤣🤣
      We go dey alright
      No matter what, I and my entire family can never ever be broke

Push up (original )

3. Agbado' supporters I hope you guys have a separate fueling station or all of us go sugar am?

4. True anon 16:46, the short term effect will be brutal, but it's a needed measure.

5. These are the types of comments that exposes some of you@ Push up.

Remember, You and your family do not live in isolation. As we are all presently witnessing, even the billionaires are no longer as safe as they used to be cos these things catch up with everyone eventually!

6. Dainty T,

A lot of people do not have an understanding of basic economics. The fact that this man has the guts to finally take out this subsidy says a lot. It will be temporarily harsh, but it's long overdue!

7. Dainty T, did you say the same thing during Jonathan's rule?

8. He did not even tell you guys how he will cushion the harsh economic effect or when we will start enjoying the benefits all we have here is assumptions to console ourselves

9. Thats how some of you here were praising the cash swap fiasco, how did that go? A whole nation was scammed and we are cool about it. If it was a beard gang young blood that carried this scam out, he will be seriously dealt with and disappear into the penal system. But as na bubu, everyone ignored the daylight robbery!

Abeg abeg abeg, reality is that It will not be temporarily brutal anything. It will just be the start of a long period of extra suffering.

We all know everything that increases exponentially never really reduces.

See ehn the middle class will be grievously hit.
      The middle class will drastically reduce expenses to cope and they will technically bcome working class.
      Previous working class go join underclass, underclass go enter kidnapping, aggressive prostitution and open homosexuality and chop stinky Lebanese shyte, sell kidney etc all to survive bcus as an African proverb says; the living are hungry and must eat.

May God take full control of everything concerning myself and my family. Make God send me more hustle to support them.

10. Exactly @castle
      We all know that this needed to be done years ago.
      It was so different during Jonathan’s time, that’s hypocrisy if this government I will keep dragging, cus they cried the most against it.

No one is saying anything, they all ran to the filling station to fill their tanks and kegs.
      It’s not even about removing subsidy but about making proper allocation of funds.

Push up (original)

11. Don't mind the educated illiterates on here @ fake economics professors on here!
      Nigeria has not reached a state of autarky, to have the audacity to remove subsidy. Tinubu, does not want to rule, because if this is enforced,Nigeria will burn 🔥. Don't come here to display your high level ignorance, that you know economics! We that even consulted for WTO dey hide ourselves. Oniyeye.

12. Your fave, me obi also campaigned on the premise that he will remove fuel subsidy. You don't need another 4-8 years of continued bitterness. The man has done what no one else has the courage to do. When a whole president was bullied from taking a decision in the interest of a nation, shouldn't he be blamed for it? Even those with terrible ideas line currency recoloring had the boldness to take a bad decision.

2. I pray this will not cause increase in inflation, and hope it will really be channelled to the appropriate quarters that will increase the general well being of the citizens.

1. Inflation is inflation. There's nothing like increase in inflation ma'am. However, there can be an increase in indices.

3. Hahahaaaa, my joy is that all of una go bear the consequences of your decisions. Plus the one wey dey wear aso ebi like say e dey Heaven, plus the one wey no vote, plus the one wey vote, all of una go chop from this one pot. Hehehhehee. Pray for yourselves, those of you who still believe in God, pray. Because its gonna be a looooooooong road. 😁😁😁😁

1. If they ask you, you'd think you've made sense. Something that is long overdue. Yo! Even your Gringory campaigned with removing Fuel subsidy. So it would have only being a good decision if it was PitObi that won and removed it yeah? You Obidient clowns will be okay. Same way you all believe that once PitObi wins, bag of rice will go back to 5000 naira. 🤣 And yes, Nigeria shall succeed! Fuel subsidy shall be removed and the money diverted to other sectors of the economy for the good of Nigerians!

🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️

2. 17:49 the reason why nobody, as in absolutely nobody rates you here is because of the terrible negative energy you bring with your broken teeth.
      Can't ever be caught bandying words with you.

3. 👍 very negative

4. Obi also promised to remove subsidy o, as there was no over option. Thank God BAT had summoned the courage to do it.

If you are preparing to suffer for the next four years, suffer you will. Those who are prepared for the opposite will get the enjoyment they have been praying for. Is it not in the same Nigeria that Lagos was bubbling while even Abuja felt the recession? Is it not the same Lagos that people are leaving Anambra to go to? Is it not in this same Lagos that Peter has chosen to live and register his businesses? Continue to deceive yourself. You will choose not to see anything good and expect good to manifest for you?

1. Please use your prestigious education to analyze it.

5. It’s not about him. Any sane president should have done so. The real question is what will then be done with the fuel subsidy. Snakes will just be swallowing monies meant for projects left right and center.
    I feel so bad. I’m from an oil rich nation. Suffering like it’s going out of fashion. It is well

6. 😁😅😂🤣🤣
    E be like say this man go entertain me wella o. Now, ndi fuel marketers and PimPim-RA abi werin be dat their name will cause artificial scarcity and longer queues will return. Then all the citizens from the nearly 300 ethnicities will feel the pain and realise that this like others is government of the politicians by the politicians and for the politicians. There will be no discrimination against the masses who have been wailing over LP, APC or PDP. All of them will pay same amount at the fuel stations and markets.

There are only 3 groups of people in Nigeria namely: The politicians, the criminals and the masses. The first 2 groups need each other 24/7 to survive and remain in power. The masses are the toys they only play with once every 4 years.

That's how they said Dangote cement production capacity will crash cement price in Nigeria but one bag na how much today? They have started singing Dangote refinery will crash fuel price in Nigeria when tinubu removes fuel subsidy. I hope so o; for the sake of the "innocent", suffering masses, I really do hope so.

Where is Portable Zaazu when you need him? Oya! Akoi subsidy removal. Akoi 500 naira per litre. Akoi APC. Akoi grace🤣.

1. You mean the same subsidy Peter was also campaigning to remove? How do you people cope with this level of hypocrisy? How can you be so expectant about suffering and experience the opposite? Have you ever heard anything good happen to the masses in Lagos or Anambra, Cairo or Capetown?? So how would you classify your self and your children as masses waiting for everything bad to pile into their reality?

Pray tell, what is the option b asides borrowing from China till we are fully recolonized or was it only the church campaigns during the religious war you listened to instead of investing your limited data on your candidate's comments in economic fora? Whether Obi, Atiku or Al Mustapha, borrowing for subsidy won't have gone in for more than one week with a new president who is sensible.

7. I pray that refinery starts to process crude oil immediately, because if not, e go tough oo

8. Nice one
    Let's gnash our teeth now and be happy later
    No panic-buying pls

9. He said the past government didn't include it in the budget.

10. Way to go. Best way forward.

11. Removing subsidy, lowering interest rates and eliminating multiple rates is great on paper, but can’t be done in isolation.

I suspect that these incompetent folks will use their hand to spoil these good policies by doing the right things for the wrong reasons.

Removing fuel subsidy bcos of one man’s refinery would cause undue hardship. Lowering interest rates bcos you want to borrow excessively would only cause more problems. Eliminating multiple exchange rates bcos you plan to print Naira excessively would lead to more hardship.

Good policies are not done in isolation. Abolishing bad laws is one thing, providing enabling environment for good policies to thrive is another.

1. Well said

2. 17:03,

And you believe these measures were not duly considered?

People really should try to take time to listen properly. The budget has been passed. And there was no provision for subsidy! But most importantly, there is no basis for the payment of subsidy!

3. Immediately after the swearing in, the AIDB projected a 4.1% growth in the Nigerian economy. There's investor trust in the new government.

4. Removing Fuel subsidy because of one man's refinery. Na them 🤦‍♂️

5. Removing fuel subsidy will lead to investment into more private owned refineries where govt will actively participate in to limit monopoly and price of the commodity which is exactly what is happening in Dangote Refinery. Govt owns 20% hence they will control stakes and not leave it to Dangote to control solely

6. Lowering interest rates will encourage business and individuals to participate in Business growth. Leading to export and enough production to service the nation and making more profit to expand business.

Now on the last one having a nor aligned exchanged rate. If there is enough expert we will repartrate funds back into the country through CBN. That way we will grow foreign reserve. Black market and official rate will not be too far away. You don't have any business printing more note. This is the time for those that have sense to make money and stop criticising govt activities.

You cannot from day one start saying all you will do for the masses when you have not checked the books to see hoe you can expand. Ofcourse salaries will increase next. Students will go to school free. Tinubu yes a their on some ways expanded lagos and you think he won't do more in Nigeria. Weal should chill abeg.

Personally as a business woman myself I am already thinking expansion with all this policies. Sir back and think and do same.

7. Use sense now. The lowered interest rate will be coming from CBN and it's not about foreign loans that are set at about 1 percent interest. It's actually about private individuals and businesses being able to approach banks to get loans at less than the current 22 %. This would make mortgages and business loans more accessible, boosting economic activity.

Why would a country print more naira and weaken their currency when they need a strong currency to buy forex to pay back loans? And the poorly educated who have decided to suffer through the next 8 years are hailing this kind of comment? What's the point of universities going on strike? With products like this, should they not be closed for public safety?

12. Somebody must bell the cat

13. Please o pardon my ignorance

Does this mean fuel will be sold at a cheaper rate

1. Lol
      It will be at a higher rate but the price could crash to all time low much later

2. Yes please.
      It will be sold at 1 naira per litre.

3. Lol
      Sorry Mor, I had to laugh. I am sure someone more knowledgeable will answer you soon.

4. Thanks milk.. vikx.. do appreciate your inputs.. annon thanks too I had a good laugh.
      Thank you all

14. Na everybody go queue and buy fuel. No where dem write Igbo here, Yoruba there, Hausa this side. Las las breakfast for everyone

15. On behalf of the poor masses, We look to the mountain where will our help come from?
    Our help comes from the lord, Maker of heaven and earth

1. Lollll, this one is quoting scripture 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

16. Akwo b'eghi beans akwo, akara n'eshi meaning dem never grind beans, akara don dey smell. God abeg oh, let it be that this subsidy removal will be a temporary stress for something better.

17. I pray that me and my family will survive what will come temporarily after this, we shall survive till things stabilize (hopefully)

1. Amen o and amen

Push up (original)

18. It will lead to inflation. At least this decision can be taken later not now.people are suffering already. Now the prices of goods and services will be increased as well.

19. Why did they sabotage the effort of the previous administration of Sambo from removing this subsidy when the economy was better? Will this government bring back the lifes that were lost during the protest the sponsored. If you talk some people will say you're a hater hmmmmmm. Whatever

20. I pray that fuel sells for N1000 per liter.

21. Why are they not saying anything about making our Refineries work?? Is that not a simple solution to all these subsidy brouhaha? They said Tinubu has been prepared since 16 years ago to be President... he should at least do the basic things. I paid N700 this morning instead of N300 or N400. You cant just announce removal of fuel subsidy without mentioning ways of cushioning the effect and also giving it a time gap like 3months, 6 months, 1 year. Haba!