Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Twitter CEO Elon Musk Says Inactive Accounts Are Being Deleted

Wednesday, May 10, 2023

Twitter CEO Elon Musk Says Inactive Accounts Are Being Deleted

Twitter is deleting accounts that haven’t been used in a while, according to Elon Musk’s announcement on Monday.

The action comes as Musk strives to increase engagement and revenue-generating potential at the online platform he paid $44 billion for last year.

“We’re purging accounts that have had no activity at all for several years; so, you will probably see follower count drop,” Musk said in a tweet.

Musk-mandated changes at Twitter from slashing staff to doing away with free verification check marks seen as stamps of authenticity have alienated users and advertisers.

The broadcaster was among those to protest the “state-affiliated” and “government-funded” labels Twitter attached to them; these labels were previously reserved for non-independent media which funded by autocratic governments.

Since Musk bought Twitter, the company has relaxed the moderation of content on the network. They have welcomed back many users banned because of messages inciting hatred or spreading misinformation.

Market trackers say Twitter revenues have fallen as advertisers avoid the platform.

16 comments:

1. My account follow 😂😂
    I've messaged, tweeted, replied or even tagged anyone on there
    The app is so dry

1. That means my account will end up in his pot of soup. He should be my guest, I don't like that place

2. Make I quickly check my account

3. He should help me delete my Instagram account abeg.

4. I'm sure mine will be part of those to be deactivated. I prefer to protect my peace of mind. Twitter is a crazy street

5. I am here thinking to close my IG account. Social media is not what it used to be.

6. My account will be part of the ones they will deactivate.
    Just created it, I've never used it.

7. Thank God bcos I Ve bn tryn to log in to delete. The acc is of no use to me. E remain that ig

8. lol. That means we should not open account unless we are sure of being active users. For example, one tweet a day keeps musk away.

9. Iam not really active on Twitter,I just read through,maybe I will start tweeting small small before they close my account

10. Facebook should be added

1. If Facebook was to do that half their population would be gone, maybe more. The inflated numbers they have been using to lure businesses to join would change drastically. Half the accounts on Facebook and IG are 100% inactive, and suspect it if more than half.

11. Elon mind yasef, make I no find my 2010 twitter acct o.

Wetin nah