Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Allegedly Detains EX CBN Gov Emefiele After DSS Releases Him

Friday, October 27, 2023

EFCC Allegedly Detains EX CBN Gov Emefiele After DSS Releases Him

EX Central Bank governor Godwin Emefiele, was reportedly released from the custody of the Department of State Services, DSS, on Thursday October 26, 2023 and allegedly picked up by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

Emefiele has been in the custody of the DSS since June 2023 after his suspension by President Bola Tinubu.
After his suspension, the DSS announced that Emefiele was in its custody for “some investigative reasons”.

On July 25,2023 he appeared before a Federal High Court in Lagos, where he was arraigned on a two-count charge linked to the “illegal possession” of firearms.

He was subsequently granted bail in the sum of N20 million.

On August 17, 2023 the Fl Government withdrew the two-count charge, resulting in its subsequent dismissal.

However, an additional 20 charges were brought against Emefiele by the Federal Government, which accused him of conspiring to engage in procurement fraud and other illegal activities.
On September 22,2023 CBN officially confirmed Emefiele’s resignation, after Olayemi Cardoso was appointed and confirmed as substantive governor of the apex bank.

Dailypost could not confirm that Emiefele was in the custody of the EFCC

18 comments:

1. On a serious note, which account receives the N20m bail money?

1. Is payment into government account not through remita?

2. They have sha used this guy as the scapegoat, just cos Buhari dared to make pay-for-vote difficult. Lessons to all technocrats - not all governments are worth your service. Some spineless dudes will throw you under the bus for decisions they sanctioned. Be warned.

El-Tufia talking about ‘The CBN deceived Buhari’. Shior.

Mystic

1. And did they also force him to declare for President as a sitting CBN Governor and even went to Court to challenge the legitimacy and even told Nigerians to go and hang at the height of his arrogance??? Why didn’t he resign if he knew he couldn’t do all those things??! Why did he commit so much atrocities and mind boggling corruption himself??? For all you made Nigerians go through during your tenure it will NEVER be well with you Emefiele the remaining days of your life!!! This should be a lesson for all public office holders: it’s better for you to always be on the side of the people because it’s this same people you will meet on your way down!!!

2. @21:22, notwithstanding all you have said, note his current travails are not due to his presidential ambition. They are not even due to any corruption he ‘might’ have engaged in. They are due to the stumbling block he posed during the election. This is nothing more than vengeance.

And all decisions, especially major decisions, taken during a tenure are the ultimate responsibility of the president. So I extend the curse in your statement 100-fold to Buhari. That was all his doing.

Mystic

3. Anon 4:17 aka mystic, I wonder why some Nigerians love to see the truth and choose to tell blatant lies. In d peak of his arrogance as cbn gov, did he look like he was being compelled to do anything? He was a willing tool who became soaked in the rut and was basking in it. He became worse than the ones who were supposedly using him. The Nigerian economy is at comatose today cos of this guy's terrible policies. He messed up the dollar. Messed up the economy. They shouldn't just leave him o. He must be made to vomit the billions of dollars he stole. Hopefully these ones would do the right thing

4. @17:14, I wonder the blatant lies you are referring to. Remind me where I said he was ‘forced’ into doing anything. My point is his actions as CBN governor were all sanctioned by the erstwhile president, including the change in naira. By Jove, no one changes the currency of a country without the approval of the president!!!

Who even has proof that the change was not proposed by Buhari himself? But here we are, dragging him for the decision of the executive, the president in particular.

We Nigerians chose a spineless, clueless leader and now we are absolving him of key decisions taken during his tenure. Isn’t that madness!!!

Mystic

3. He is part of the hardship that we are passing through, since that cashless policy, some persons like me have not recovered. He is part of what we are passing through now.

4. Haaaa Emefile
    What this man and his New Naira did to me and my Buisness ehhhh. Greatful to God for Survival.

5. Talk about can't catching a break

6. Very good for him. I dont care if he's unalived tbh.

7. Elefele
    Elewele (in pamilerin’s voice) 😁

8. So ds matter dey go deeper on a daily? Meanwhile, d man dey lavish Dollars for his mistresses. Abajo that queen no celebrate her birthday like last year, where dey used Azul dey wash hand & throwing Dollars in our faces. Na really a scapegoat d baba be.