Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: News Roundup

Thursday, October 05, 2023

News Roundup

The Chicago State University (CSU) has said it does not have the certificate President Bola Tinubu presented to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) prior to the 2023 general election. Caleb Westberg, the university registrar and deponent/witness, said this while giving an oral deposition on the release of Tinubu’s academic records to his political opponent, Atiku Abubakar, on Monday.

The Senate has confirmed the nomination of Balarabe Abbas Lawal (Kaduna), Dr Jamila Bio Ibrahim (Kwara) and Ayodele Olawande (Ondo) as ministers. Majority of senators supported their confirmation in a voice vote immediately after their screening exercise on Wednesday during plenary.

##############

A 30-year-old man, Ayobami Oyeleye is currently in the custody of the Ogun State Police Command for cutting off his mother’s hands with a machete. The suspect was also said to have left a deep cut on the woman’s head. Oyeleye reportedly attacked his 65-year-old mother, Esther, on Tuesday over an unknown argument in Akibo village, Obafemi Owode Local Government Area of the State.

##############

Men of the Lagos State Police Command and neighbours have stopped a man (names withheld) from killing himself in Igbologun, the Amuwo Odofin Local Government Area of the State. It was gathered on Wednesday that the 34-year-old man was drinking a substance suspected to be an insecticide when a labourer in the next compound to his house saw him and raised the alarm.

##############

An Akwa Ibom State High Court sitting in Essien Udim Local Government Area of the State has sentenced a pastor, Uduak Umoren, and his brother, Emmanuel, to death for beating one Iboro Joe to death over a piece of land. The deceased, a 45-year-old farmer and trader who hailed from Ikot Otu was beaten to death when he visited his sister-in-law in Adiasim Ikot Ekon to condole her on her husband’s death.

############

Only law and the constitution determine decisions by judicial officers, Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Justice Olukayode Ariwoola said on Wednesday. According to him, no matter how strong public opinion is on any issue before a judge, it does not influence judgment. The CJN spoke in Abuja while administering the oath of office on 23 new judges of the Federal High Court (FHC).

################

. A five-member United Arab Emirates (UAE) team is in Nigeria to harmonise positions with authorities for the final stage resumption of commercial flights between both countries and issuance of visas to Nigerians. The delegation comprising Almannaei Khalid, Janahi Asma, Alshehhu Rasheed, Teo Teck San, and Alhosani Talal arrived in Nigeria on Sunday.

###############

The Police in Katsina State yesterday confirmed the abduction of five students (all female) of the Federal University Dutsinma, (FUDMA) in Katsina State by gunmen. Confirming the incident, Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO), Abubakar Aliyu, ASP, said suspected terrorists’ invaded “resident of the students” behind Mariamoh Ajiri Memorial School, Dutsinma.

################

Music star, Azeez Fashola, also known as Naira Marley, and his ally Balogun Eletu, better known as Sam Larry, have been remanded over the death of Ilerioluwa Aloba, aka Mohbad. The police had invited Nairam Marley and Sam Larry and obtained a remand warrant against them before a Magistrate’s Court in Yaba, Lagos, on Wednesday.

#############

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Benue State and its candidate in the 2023 governorship election, Engr Titus Uba have appealed the judgement of the election petition tribunal which upheld the election of Governor Hyacinth Alia of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

from dailypost

11 comments:

1. Suffice it to say Baba forged certificate.

Forgery ooo.

We're heading somewhere.

Thanks for the update..

1. TeeJay. You should to read the remaining part of the deposition before making comments.

Caleb Westberg said CSU don’t have the certificate presented by Tinubu because he (Tinubu) “already picked the certificate up from the university”.

However, he (Caleb) couldn’t confirm the certificate submitted to INEC by Tinubu because he wasn’t shown any copy of it by Atiku’s lawyers. Can you imagine the lawyers not showing him copy before or during deposition? No evidence of forgery has been proven yet.

As regards F instead of M on Tinubu’s registration documents, it has been laid to rest that it could have been a mistake on the part of the person that took his details down and like most people (even in the US) who have tried to call institutions to make amendments of such errors, they give up after trying.

What will shock you is that the certificate issue can’t even be raised during the Supreme Court appeal because it wasn’t part of original grounds presented at the Presidential election tribunal.

The court is not about social media noise or opinion. It works on facts and in this case Tinubu will continue to be President. C’est la fin.

Y…

2. You don't deserve engagement. Your lies stinks to the high heaven. So what was the reason he said releasing the documents to Atiku will cause him irreparable damage if he actually picked the original himself?

Keep doing what you're paid for. It's understandable. I 'may' have done the same if I were in your shoes. So I understand.

3. Master strategist you really disappointed your local government sha.

You mean you can not use the money inside the bullion vans that mistakenly entered your compound to build an NUC accredited university for yourself that will give you original certificate.

Even Davido is a graduate of music and even has pictures of himself inside Orientation Camp.

Master strategist no be so o.

4. Oh TeeJay! You don’t understand. Tinubu led Atiku on a wild goose chase. All the appeals by Tinubu was just to fool and waste Atiku’s time. Na strategy.

You will soon see there is nothing Atiku can hold on to. That is the way politics is played. I don’t have to work for APC to know that. I am old enough and seen enough naija politics in my life to know this. You live and learn.

Y…

2. This country and insecurity sha. May God intervene in the lives of those abducted female students.

3. Which Certificate did P man present ooo

What kind of Devil lives in children esp Sons to kill or harm their Parents?

God bless that Labourer that God used to save the Man’s Life. It’s well.
    Nigeria is hard enough

4. Chai! Things dey happen for we country, God help us

5. Bad news everywhere,may God not give us children that will cause us sorrow. Thank you Stella for always updating us

6. Wow this Tinubu matter just dey start o. Thanks for these updates

7. This certificate matter. Hmmm
    The child thats machetes the mother. Where is his concience?
    May the kidnapped students be found. Stella thanks for the update.
    Bv Trendy