Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Of Appeal Sacks Plateau State Gov Manasseh And Hands Baton To Goshwe

Monday, November 20, 2023

Court Of Appeal Sacks Plateau State Gov Manasseh And Hands Baton To Goshwe

The Abuja division of the Court of Appeal on Sunday November 19,2023 sacked Plateau State Governor, Mutfwang Manasseh of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

It ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, to recognise Nentawe Goshwe of the All Progressives Congress, APC, as the validly elected governor in the March 18 governorship election.

Justice Elfrieda Williams-Dawodu, who led a three-man panel while delivering the lead judgment, cited section 177 of the Constitution, noting that Manasseh was not a validly sponsored candidate by the PDP during the election.

The panel held that the party violated the court order that a valid Congress be conducted in the 17 local government areas of that state, by conducting Congress in only 5 local government areas of the state, and as such is a nullity.

The court dismissed the decision of Plateau State tribunal, and held that the issue of qualification is both a pre-election and a post-election matter contrary to the findings of the tribunal which held that the appellant lacked the locus to contest the validity of the respondent’s nomination.

The court also noted that under section 134 of the Electoral Act, it is the sole right of a political party to sponsor its candidate having met the necessary requirements to do so.
While evoking section 136 of the Electoral Act, the court ordered the INEC to retrieve the certificate of return issued to Governor Manasseh and issue a fresh certificate of return to Goshwe.

from dailypost

17 comments:

1. This sacking of governors in the north is getting out of hand.
    Does this mean the last election is not credible at all, what's it with this sacking of governors.

1. Parties should learn from recent history of they have chosen not to read. The same thing happened in Zamfara where APC lost the entire state from governorship post to state and national house of reps. In Rivers, they are yet to recover from the same blow. Get your primaries right and stop all this nonsense hoping your opponents will not be able to exploit such loopholes in court. Not every pre-election matter is safe from court ruling I. I wish them the best at the Supreme court. Whoever came second in the party primary has to be placated big time to prevent him filing a case as an affected party.

2. Na wa, so what is the function of Inec, the parties primaries and screening? After wasting funds for the election, Court now determines the winner?
    We should stop election and just do nominations or selection after four years.
    If APC takes over all the States, where is the beauty of democracy then?

1. Did the court leave it's heavy workload to come and determine? Did court not determine the case of who is the governor when your favourite went to court? If you are heading to court or you know your opponents have the shishi for it, get your ducks in a row from the party and primary level.

3. Very annoying something.this county is a huge joke.well,may God help us.y is A P C so interested in plateau state? A state they brought to the ground?our leaders at it again.and as usual,d poor will suffer.

4. Nigeria politics the opposite party will fine something to pin at you to retrieve your mandate from you . If you are smart .

5. They should stop all these court nonsense they should just remove all the governor's that are not APC.

6. Nigeria is no longer a country. APC using the judiciary to perpetuate evil. Upturning the will of the people. Their end has come!!!

7. Wats was the inec doing when they enter in d first place,to to sack remain

8. There is tension and anger currently in Jos. I don respect myself buy food stuff in case e burst, coz Jos people no get chill at all. But then I ask is election won in court or at the polls. This thing APC people are doing ehn, they will reap it.

1. There is no way Apc won @finny. apc came last. Infact cos the plateau indigenes which are the majority voted for labour and pdp. ..no way in hell Apc won the governership abeg!

9. This people should just leave my jos alone for me ooo..they should kuku say they want Apc to rule the whole state in Nigeria..

10. There is no how apc won plateau state. this is day light robbery. no way plateau pple voted apc..i still repeat it. what is this?
    - Varey B

11. Like play like play another crises don set dey wait for Jos like this o. This is madness!

But sentiments aside, anyone who has been following Nigerian politics knows that this day was coming. The PDP had violated an Appeal court order last year regarding conducting primaries. The same order was also in line with the order given by the state high court that new primaries be conducted. The PDP blatantly refused and went ahead.

The candidate who lost the PDP primaries had even gone to the courts to secure judgement to get the PDP to be compelled to abide by the judgements of the courts. INEC was joined as a respondent to these suits. The PDP remained incalciterant. They ignored the court judgements. The Appeal court president, an indigene of Plateau state, was besides himself with rage at the lawlessness the PDP was displaying.

The APC was watching all this with glee but kept quite. Fast forward to today and we see the result. The PDP did this to themselves. You don't go before the courts asking them to support your illegality.

I have serious doubts the supreme court will grant PDP any reprieve.

1. God bless you for saving me the typing time. This same fire burned APC in other states leading them to lose the states.

The same thing happened in Osun with parallel primaries and the current governor almost lost his chance. Parties should sort home issues right to avoid losing everything after being declared winner