Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EX Footballer Mikel Obi Reveals That His Family Had Entitlement Mentality Towards Him..

Friday, November 17, 2023

EX Footballer Mikel Obi Reveals That His Family Had Entitlement Mentality Towards Him..

EX Footballer Mikel Obi while having a chat former footballer Rio Ferdinand, revealed that family members become so greedy that they sometimes threaten to go to the press to tarnish ones image if one doesn't continue to offer financial assistance.

Mikel used his experience as an example and said, "You get threatened by your own blood. Your own brothers and sisters ,When you come from Africa, when you make money, it's not your money. You have all these relatives, cousins, whatever you call it.
"And your sisters, they go off and they get married to some guy who just wants to get married into John Obi Mikel's family because then 'my life is sorted'. And then you start looking after this guy. Before you know it... they keep having so many kids and so many kids. And you look at it, OK, 'You're having this much kids, who's going to look after them?' It's you. For them you owe them that.

"So sometimes you have to be strong and say, you know what guys, 'enough is enough. I don't care'.
They give you this thing whereby, 'if you don't do it, we are going to go to the press'."

His listeners were shocked and asked, "What? Did you have that conversation?"
Mikel replied, "Yeah, yeah."

35 comments:

1. Actually true, that why those abroad want to kill themselves to please others back home like they dont have hand and leg.

1. Those abroad don't do upto people at home, the people at home who earn even the littlest still have people who dip their hands in the money all the time, even some people who earn well also have this habit of begging

2. My dear, anyone abroad trying to "kill" himself/herself to "feed" people back home, I have just one line for you...
      "YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN!!!!"
      Make you no face your nuclear fam u hear! To think that most of these relatives breed children like rats!

3. If I was a member of his family, I probably would cut him off. Just wondering why he feels a couple having the number of children they desire is because he is there or implies that he would be the one to take care of them. So all his brothers in-laws are not worthy of his respect? His sisters were not smart enough to know whom they wanted and who truly wanted them but all just married guys who wanted to be Mikel Obi’s in-laws? I don’t think saying all these about your family in an interview speaks well of you. I’d rather drink my garri with my dignity than accept stuff from you while you are thinking all these about me and I don’t think I am the only one with such mindset.

2. Is just a typical African mentality. He is lucky they only threatened going to press and not using jazz to finish him. They feel beyond entitled and will do anything to harm you if and when you say NO to their ridiculous requests. Story of my life

3. Is just a typical African mentality. He is lucky they only threatened going to press and not using jazz to finish him. They feel beyond entitled and will do anything to harm you if and when you say NO to their ridiculous requests. Story of my life

4. He is absolutely right. They keep birthing children they cannot cater for because they have one CBN Vault manager as a brother or in-law. Such a repugnant mentality.

5. Pretty sure ds was why Jude Ighalo’s family scattered his marriage, bcoz they felt they weren’t getting enough of him bcoz of d wide , so they had to take her out of d way. Same with what is happening to Phyna & her family. ATM things , na African mentality, but if u are strong enough, do what u can for them, then u set a boundary, else they’ll ruin u.

1. This act is everywhere even in developed countries,we read about celebrities with their conservative pact, Meagan, Britney etc.

6. Thats some family nigerian mentality is call our money not ur money
    Asif they help u work for it

7. Some people's entitlement mentality is sickening. Imagine birthing kids you can't cater for and hoping someone will take care of them for you and when they don't, you threaten them

8. Always set boundaries as you are making money and growing,if not some family members would make you feel you're not doing enough and they can even go to the extreme by arranging for your kidnap or going diabolical on you.

9. Chika(hello iya boys)17 November 2023 at 12:25

Is the birthing of plenty plenty Kids that surprises me ooo
    Abeg born pinkin wan you fit feed and train

10. Don't help to your detriment. If they become a leech, cut off. Imagine getting angry that your friend don't wanna go on a vacation, a vac that your one naira is not included. Go hustle and spoil yourself if e easy.

1. E shock me oo. After years and years of advice we give in this blog . Ha!

11. It happens in a lot of families. Once one person is made, others will just lose their hustling spirit. Laziness and entitlement will just take the fore.

12. I have a friend who I call out of the blue in 2016 after getting my residence permit, he was squatting with a friend. I started to give him feeding allowance till he can think what next he would do, one day he called me he had been evicted, I had to look for money for him to get a place to live and he end up getting enough money from me to rent a room and parlour self contained, I was really upset because I said that is too much for a single person, not knowing he had other plans next thing he moved in his girlfriend and I said what is your girlfriend doing? He said her sister is trying to set her up with money for selling baby stuff, and I said why don't you let her sister set her up first before moving her in. To cut long story short after some months the lady wasn't doing anything and they are still waiting for me to send monthly stipend to them to eat. I later gave the lady enough money to start selling baby stuff to stop their dependence on me, she came back telling me I need to rent a shop that cost 500k so she can start the business really well,Haa I was shocked 9months later they had a baby. That was why I cut them off and they started calling me and begging, I am not even their family. But I told them point blank that they have chosen the path of poverty. They now have two kids with no regular income, I am also looking for ways to cut them off. I hate people that don't help themselves and rely solely on others . One of the reasons we have so much social problems in Nigeria, we create problems we can not solve.

1. I cannot be u at all, which kin church mind u get, wey turn u to mumu? U still dey look for how u go cut dem off? Well done Father Christmas!

2. Hope that your friend is not using you.

3. 14:06 it’s not mumu o
      You start off truly helping until you realize they have not moved one step from where you started with them
      The thing is very maddening

4. You are an Angel

5. May God bless you.

It’s their Loss, they should’ve set up a Business with all the Financial Aid you gave them.

6. God knows you've done enough, your reward is in heaven. cut them off completely

13. Sad truth 🙄🙄🙄

14. Not everybody have entitlement mentality many wanted to be on their own but adversity happened to them all they needed is somebody to help them be on their feet they don't want to boarder anybody ,to such learn a helping hand

1. Entitlement mentality because you became the most successful of your family members, turn the tables, you'd be just like one of those siblings you're tagging ans oh.... We have a together mindset, it is our culture to do things together, grow together shouldn't be excluded from it because its coming from you the "successful one"

Not from the perspective of taking advantage of it to be lazy but why do we complain when we can just do it?

Taylor

15. Story of my life. They don't care how you are faring, just give them let them spend.

16. Yeye mentality
    The most complex B

17. If you know many stingy people, you are a chronic beggar.

18. I can't relate cos am a woman nobody asks me for anything and me sef no get

1. It’s because you don’t have. And not because you’re female. Dey play

19. If you are koboless tomorrow they will not call you again. They show Michel shege, they even kidnap his father several times just to extorted money from him. House hold enemies. My God mother son girlfriends sold him out to 419.