Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu Reportedly Has No Plans To Relocate FCT To Lagos

Thursday, January 25, 2024

President Tinubu Reportedly Has No Plans To Relocate FCT To Lagos

Bayo Onanuga, the Special Adviser on Information and Strategy to President Bola Tinubu, on Wednesday January 24, 2024 said the President has no plans to move the Federal Capital to Lagos.
Onanuga said those peddling rumour are dishonest, ethnic and regional champions, trying to draw attention to themselves.

He claimed that those pushing the campaign of falsehood know they are playing politics, albeit dangerous politics to pitch the North against the South.

According to him, Abuja has come to stay as it is backed by law.

His statement followed the recent relocation of FAAN, a department of the Aviation Ministry, to Lagos.
Onanuga said there are many parastatals that are not based in Abuja depending on their mandate, insisting that Administrative decisions should not be politicized.

“President Tinubu has no plan whatsoever to move the Federal Capital to Lagos. The rumour first surfaced during the campaign last year by opponents looking for all manners of weapons to stop him. We trashed it.

“Those peddling it anew are dishonest, ethnic and regional champions, trying to draw attention to themselves. Abuja has come to stay. It is backed by law.

“The movement of FAAN, a department of the Aviation Ministry to Lagos, where it was based before former minister Hadi Sirika moved it to Abuja during the last administration, does not amount to moving the FCT to Lagos. The administrative move should have attracted scant attention, as Lagos is the commercial capital and the hub of aviation business in Nigeria. FAAN should be nowhere else but near the industry it regulates. FAAN will still maintain some presence in Abuja, as it is not a wholesale movement.

“Similarly, the movement of some departments of the CBN to Lagos should not trigger any hoopla. The departments concerned, including the bank supervision department, are those dealing with commercial banks, all with headquarters in Lagos. A regulator ought to be close to the businesses it regulates.

“All those pushing this campaign of falsehood know they are playing politics, albeit a dangerous politics to pit the North against the South.

“There are many parastatals that are not based in Abuja depending on their mandate. NIMASA is in Lagos. So is NPA. The National Inland Waterways Authority( NIWA) is in Lokoja, not Abuja. Will the people opposing the movement of FAAN and some CBN departments want those agencies to be in Abuja, where there is no single port and no maritime activity?

“Administrative decisions should not be politicized. Let it not look like whenever we are temporarily not at the helm of affairs, we create all manners of dangerous rumours to distract from the bigger picture and emasculate an administration led by a Southerner.

“Let’s stop the dirty politics. We can’t be playing politics with everything.”

from dailypost

9 comments:

1. Sorry unfortunately that is how politics is being played all over world! You cannot be a sane person and be in politics because it is a dirty and corrupt world

2. Sorry unfortunately that is how politics is being played all over world! You cannot be a sane person and be in politics because it is a dirty and corrupt world

2. Even if he does will heaven fall? Was it not in Lagos it was before it was taken to Abuja?

I read the northern politicians threatening that taking some key departments of CBN and FAAN to Lagos will have a political consequences on Asiwaju and I laughed out so hard. What political consequences? That you(north)will campaign against him in 2027 or is it more than that?

I think it's pretty too little too late. He already have every institutions at his beck and call to still be declared as a winner for a second time. So the threat hold no waters.

They think he's Jonathan. Na Asiwaju fit una for that North. Him no send anybody papa. I just pray the section of the CBN and FAAN will be moved already and let's see what will happen.

1. Na asiwaju fit dem for that country, baba go rule for over 20 years, even while on life support machine.