Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Businessman Tony Elumelu's TEF Features As Case Study In Harvard Curriculum

Thursday, February 29, 2024

Businessman Tony Elumelu's TEF Features As Case Study In Harvard Curriculum

In an unprecedented move, the Harvard Business School, the graduate business school of Harvard University, is set to cast the spotlight on the Tony Elumelu Foundation (TEF), recognising the Foundation’s extraordinary philanthropic achievement in a ground-breaking case study.

The case study, first of its kind on any philanthropic organisation in Africa, is to be launched on Thursday, February 29, 2024, before a class of graduate students in Boston, Massachusetts and will explore the Foundation's unique approaches and transformative initiatives, showcasing how strategic philanthropy offered by TEF is driving positive change and elevating countries and communities.

This move by Harvard underscores the Foundation’s pivotal role in empowering young African entrepreneurs across all 54 African countries and places the Foundation at the forefront of global discussions on transformative and catalytic philanthropy, acknowledging its significant contributions towards fostering entrepreneurship in Africa.

In addition to delving into the foundation's innovative approaches and the resultant impact it has garnered over the years, the event will also feature an exclusive acknowledgment of the Founder of TEF, Tony Elumelu’s economic philosophy of Africapitalism, which positions the private sector, and most importantly entrepreneurs, as the catalyst for the social and economic development of the African continent.

The Tony Elumelu Foundation is the leading philanthropy, empowering a new generation of African entrepreneurs, driving poverty eradication, catalysing job creation across all 54 African countries, and increasing inclusive economic empowerment.

Since the launch of the TEF Entrepreneurship Programme in 2015, the Foundation has trained over 1.5 million young Africans on its digital hub, TEFConnect, and disbursed over USD$100 million in direct funding to 20,000 young African women and men, who have collectively created over 400,000 direct and indirect jobs.

Tony Elumelu who spoke on the impact of TEF on the African youth said, “TEF is creating economic hope and opportunity for African Entrepreneurs. We know that entrepreneurship is the antidote to poverty, youth unemployment and insecurity. Through the intervention of the Tony Elumelu Foundation, we are encouraging our young people, giving them hope through the seed capital we provide, capacitising them through the training and mentoring we provide and setting them up to create businesses that will succeed and create even more jobs. Collectively we are fixing the challenges that we have on the continent.

Continuing, he said, “the Tony Elumelu Foundation was set up to create more successful African business leaders. We want to replicate our own success and create entrepreneurs who will build more prosperity on the continent and for the continent. It’s all about transforming our society and making sure that we leave the society better than we met it. It is not about the money that we have in our bank accounts, it is about the legacy that we make and the impact we create. Prosperity for all is what will create the security, harmony and peace that we need.”

The Harvard Business School session will provide a platform for thought leaders, scholars, and business enthusiasts to engage in a meaningful discussion on the role of philanthropy in shaping sustainable and inclusive economies. As the world grapples with complex challenges, the Tony Elumelu Foundation stands as a beacon of hope, showcasing how strategic philanthropy can be a driving force for positive change.

12 comments:

1. Made man..
    Nigeria to the world

2. Can those from same community or village with Elumelu confirm if your roads are tarred and drinking water easy to get because of bore holes sunk by oga Elumelu. He can't be doing all these so called charity to Africans when his village is not enjoying from his philanthropic gestures. I hope it's not a case of doing for the public and neglecting your people. What is it again about Charity begining from home!
    Not telling him how to spend his money but his people and village should be his primary constituency. You give back to the society starting from your people not outsiders.

1. Na ur money?! How much have you done for your community? Take up the tuition fees of two kids in your village then you will be fit to judge! Otherwise, keep mute.

3. All this tech entrepreneurship is not cut out for everyone. No matter how you strive to be a tech person, if it's not your thing or calling, you're wasting your time. It's not only pastors that get called. If tech no call you, find another thing do. Build industries, create employment for your people. People here meaning his community.

4. His money, his choice but will he be remembered as having elevated the plight of his people? All the money he's spending empowering other Africans in the name of philanthropism and they end up trolling us after could be put in use in his state

5. It's now obvious steady light is achievable and with his connection, licenses, approval and waivers won't be a problem, he can partner with his state government to do steady light and his name will be immortalized forever and boy, the number of SME business dependent on light!

6. Tech mentorship is good and lucrative but you crawl before walking then running. Once again, his money, his choice. People need to eat before doing tech.

7. Good that a Nigerian is being used as a good example.

8. So nice! Congratulations Sir 💐