Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Undergraduate Reportedly 'Unlife's' Herself Due To Alleged Bad Grades

Sunday, February 11, 2024

Undergraduate Reportedly 'Unlife's' Herself Due To Alleged Bad Grades

Rashidat Shittu, a 400-level student at Kwara State University (KWASU), Malete, tragically took her own life due to academic challenges. The 20-year-old, who was studying Accounting, reportedly ingested a bottle of "Sniper".

It was revealed that she was struggling with poor grades in school
After consuming the toxic substance, she was rushed to the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital (UITH), where she was pronounced dead on arrival.
All efforts top save her did not work and she has been laid to rest at the Muslim cemetery in Osere, Ilorin, by her family members and staff from the Student Affairs unit of KWASU.

23 comments:

1. JesuπŸ™†‍♀️ .

See the pain she has put her parents now.😞

1. Which pain? If you check very well now, they must have forced her to study Accountancy. Right from secondary school, every child is given the opportunity to choose that course which they hope to study in the higher institution and begin to build themselves towards it. Unless you were forced into the department, I don't understand the reason for low grades.

2. @Abiona, even at that, is that why she killed herself.

2. I think we have to stop pitying anybody that committed suicide cos we aid them when we do. In olden days, people hardly commit suicide cos they already know their body will be thrown into the evil forest and their generation will remain cursed.
    Imagine committing suicide because of poor grade.
    However they should have conducted autopsy before burying her in case

Fan Emmanuel

1. Honestly, I wish people can swap life ,that is people who are healthy but wants to kill themselves should exchange their lives with people that are sick and dying but doesn't wish to die

3. 400 level at 20yrs, this is the result of rushing and putting children under undue pressure

1. I agree with you. 20 years already in 400 level. The pressure must be too much for her young mind to bear. May she find rest. So much frustration in this world.

2. Chika(hello iya boys)11 February 2024 at 12:05

I just they think am self

Even at that why will she kill herself
      If she finally graduate with poor grade she can go and learn any trade of her choice nah.
      Even people that came out with good grade still dey learn work.

My friend that we graduated together in LAPOTECH
      ND her grade was really poor
      As am talking now babes dey American now with her husband

Me inko shebi I dey Niger..

May Allah rest her Soul πŸ™

4. Hmm we really need to establish student wellbeing and student advisor and tutor department in Nigerian universities. It helps alot, there was a lady that drank omo when I was insecondary school because she was among the last three in her class and her name was announced on assembly. Then people were laughing at her but now we know mental health is not a laughing matter. She was saved by the school nurse when she was rushed to the sick bay. God will help us, a lecturer of mine once said if you know you are not able to understand what you are being taught and you have tried your best just leave it and don't take life too serious because in the need all this degrees and competition don't matter but your health is key and this is the truth. What is a PHD without you being healthy. God help us Amen

1. This is exactly what came to my mind, a unit for students mental health wellbeing especially for those with low grades should be included in the course adviser office.

2. Thank you for the cerebral comment.

5. Who grade epp
    No one is using grade to build house

1. You don't know our parents. They will compare your grades with others, expecting everyone to be the same. Reminding you of the school fees they paid. It's even worst if both father and mother have the same mindset. Who will you run to.

6. What a sad and tragic end. Students should be encouraged to visit the Counselling unit of their schools from time to time, especially those struggling to keep up.
    Such a young girl in 400l already in a public institution with poor grades will definitely impact her mental health, not even with how those lecturers bully students that are struggling with their academics.

Universities should prioritize Counseling unit and mandate students to go for sessions.

7. Reminds me of when I was an undergraduate too, I had a very bad grade, I was going to commit suicide because I was ashamed to take my poor grades home but I did and I later had a change of mind not to kill myself. Came out with a PASS, I still feel bad but that is life, and I wasn't even a jaye jaye girl o. Infact I regretted that I did not even flex cos what the use?
    Even up till today my younger brother still insults me with it. O life! I always thank God I did not take that step sha..

8. Bad grades are simply an indicator that you are studying the wrong thing. Just switch to something else. Failure is a natural part of life because it teaches us lessons we couldn’t have gotten through success. No need to have taken such drastic action. I hope her spirit is at peace.

1. You've written wisely. Thank you.

9. You are correct. I heard of a student who went down to one meal a day. Some of the families are toxic and unsupportive. Some do not value education. These institutions should have a food bank and other supports to help students in need. No student should be starving for three days, you cannot learn if you are hungry.

10. God bless my late Dad. Whenever it was exam period, he added extra feeding money. He said studying makes one hungry and so he always gave extra. He even gave extra tfare in case the bus broke down and conductor runs away without out refunding our money. God bless you Dad. I practiced the same thing with my children.

11. That is why am not going to let my boy pass through depression.if any of my child faces such in the school I will simply just tell that child thatI will welcome any results he or she came home with, and then he will go and learn a skill. To me that child is not a failure.