Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Presidential Statement On The Killing Of Nigerian Soldiers On A Peace Mission To Okuoma Community

Monday, March 18, 2024

Presidential Statement On The Killing Of Nigerian Soldiers On A Peace Mission To Okuoma Community

On Saturday morning, the Nigerian people and I woke up to the dreadful news of the unprovoked killing of our brave military personnel during a rescue mission to Okuoma Community, Ughelli South Local Government Area of Delta State.

PRESIDENTIAL STATEMENT ON THE KILLING OF NIGERIAN SOLDIERS ON A PEACE MISSION TO OKUOMA COMMUNITY IN DELTA STATE

On Saturday morning, the Nigerian people and I woke up to the dreadful news of the unprovoked killing of our brave military personnel during a rescue mission to Okuoma Community, Ughelli South Local Government Area of Delta State.

The incident occurred on Thursday 14 March, 2024 when our troops, responding to a crisis between Okuama and Okoloba communities in Delta State were ambushed. A Commanding Officer, two Majors, one Captain and twelve soldiers sadly lost their lives. One civilian was also killed.

As the Commander-in-Chief, I join all well-meaning Nigerians and the men and women of our armed forces to mourn and express my profound grief over the needless death of our gallant soldiers.
I extend my profound condolences to the families of these fallen soldiers, their colleagues and their loved ones. The military high command is already responding to this incident. The cowardly offenders responsible for this heinous crime will not go unpunished.

This incident, once again, demonstrates the dangers faced by our servicemen and women in the line of duty. I salute their heroism, courage and uncommon grit and patriotism.
As a nation, we must constantly remember and honour all those who have paid the ultimate price to keep our country safe, strong and united. The officers and men who died in Okuama community have joined the pantheon of great men and women who gave their all, with honour, in the service of our fatherland.

Members of our armed forces are at the heart and the core of our nationhood.
Any attack on them is a direct attack on our nation. We will not accept this wicked act.

The Defence Headquarters and Chief of Defence Staff have been granted full authority to bring to justice anybody found to have been responsible for this unconscionable crime against the Nigerian people.
My government will not relent until we achieve peace and tranquillity in every part of Nigeria.
May God continue to bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria and keep the members of our armed forces safe.

Bola Ahmed Tinubu
President & Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
17th March, 2024

10 comments:

1. ''The Defence Headquarters and Chief of Defence Staff have been granted full authority to bring to justice anybody found to have been responsible for this unconscionable crime against the Nigerian people.''

Beautiful. I love that statement.

This is where the military intelligence unit comes to play. Rather than leveling a whole community, thereby inflicting more pains and hardship to vulnerable locals, they should act like their counterpart in civilized countries would have done.

I saw people comparing Israeli attack on Hamas to what the military are doing now and I shook my head in disbelief. Are both scenario the same? Hamas was an external aggression and an act of terrorism. Israeli government is protecting its territorial integrity. So comparing both makes no sense.

Fact check me, I have never seen or read anywhere that a solder was killed in US and the next day the US military wipe out the whole city and bring them to dust. This is only applicable to Africans and Nigeria on the lead where there is no rule if law.

You can destroy camps of militants and terrorist but not innocent people means of livelihood. You don't kill innocent and vulnerable men, women and children sleeping and claim retaliation. I saw what happened in Oyigbo by the military and cold ran down my spine.

All I'm saying is that, there should be rule of engagement to issues like this.

1. The Nigerian Government will not tell us a prominent person that sent the Army to the community in the first place, make dem dey play

2. Nobody is justifying the death of our able bodied soldiers, but why not tell Nigerians the truth, rather than use the biased western media to drive home propaganda and wicked narrative, in order to justify your actions.

The Nigerian Army claimed that they went to Okuama community for peacekeeping mission.
    But you wanted to forcefully arrest 3 high chiefs, the community said nope and stood their grounds. What did you do next. Your men opened fire on innocent villagers, injuring well over 500 of them, and killing many. Both old, fragile, women and children were amongst the casualties. But nobody is telling their story, or listening to their plight. After attacking first, you all entered your boats and left.
    As you were leaving, you all were ambushed by 9 speedboats filled with militants. They were the ones who killed our gallant soldiers. Not innocent old men and women who can not operate hunters gun. People who are already injured, bruised and morning their loved ones after your 14th march unprovoked attack on them.

#Copied#

1. You don't say? Anu hula wee?

Some supposed intelligent anon that claim to be conversant with world matters were spewing trash.

Ok o, ka anyi nene

Gifty

2. Gifty and you think you are more intelligent just by reading what this anon wrote? Infact copied? No source nothing?? U didn’t read this anywhere else, the anon has been writing this since yesterday, without the copied sign, then this morning all of a sudden it has written copied, where is the source? Something it just sat in its backyard to write?
      We would still tell you, read up. U sound soo unintelligent. Acquaint urself with real news both local and international, don’t just depend on anonymous copied news on gossip blogs. Read up!!!

3. Hmmm 😔😔😔

4. I wonder where we're all these gunmen when herders are destroying their communities? That community are abating unruly people and deserves whatever comes their ways.

5. This development is so sad to read. unfortunately, many innocent lives have already been lost.

6. Anon 7:30 if what you are saying is true why is not on the media. This is Nigeria where fake news is not sin.