Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chinese Owned Abuja Supermarket Sealed For Not Allowing Nigerians Entry...

Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Chinese Owned Abuja Supermarket Sealed For Not Allowing Nigerians Entry...

The Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (FCCPC) sealed an Abuja-based Chinese supermarket for allegedly barring Nigerians. The discriminatory practices of the outlet were reported on social media by Nigerians.....

The supermarket, located within the premises of the Royal Choice Estate, Airport Road, Abuja, was stormed by FCCPC officials on Monday, April 22, 2024. The owner of the supermarket, identified as Cindy Liu Bei, had reportedly fled before the arrival of the agency’s officials.
The supermarket will remain sealed if its owner fails to appear before the commission tribunal. 

45 comments:

1. I watched the video very disgusting act,they should carry their racism back to their country.. you cannot be in another man's country and be forming Boss there.

1. Our government gave them the audacity to do this rubbish.

2. The audacity of a lot of these foreign business owners in this country, beats my imagination. Even if the owner appears, he should be tried and his business shut down.

3. I am with the Chinese on this one. My own opinion on the matter is totally different. Are there no other supermarkets around that area or the entire Abuja that Nigerians used to patronise before this one opened? Why are they so obsessed with going where they are not wanted?

Someone said they only sell "strictly chinese consumables", so how does chinese soups, canned frogs and live roaches concern Nigerians? They employ Nigerians there who see what they sell and do so it's not like it's Ku Klux Klan. If I buy a piece of property and fence it with electric wire, it means I don't want everyone to have access. Some Nigerians will enter there now and begin to ask silly questions about some products or the daring ones will try out some consumables and fall sick or worse; then they'd still blame the chinese.

Go where you are wanted and spend your money where it is valued. Is that so hard? Hian!🙄

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. I agree with you
      Like why would I want to shop there when there are a thousand and one place to shop.

Gifty

3. I used to think you are literate!

4. I personally love certain Chinese food and go to local Chinese supermarkets in my area to buy authentic Chinese/ Thai or Malay ingredients. The world is multicultural and as such anyone can shop anywhere. A supermarket should never be closed off to anyone that is discriminatory and racist.

5. By the way this is a backward way of thinking. It is not a private property it is a business premises and a place for commerce.

6. Amebo, if you know the tiniest bit about racism, you would not say what you said.
      Firstly, this is how apartheid starts. Before tou know it, they would be in our own country and there would be shops and areas where you as a Nigerian in ur own country cannot enter. Same thing happened in kano. I heard there is a particular estate in a choice area in Kano, where you only lebanese are allowed, if you are not lebanese, no matter how rich you are, you cannot live in that estate.
      Secondly, for security reasons, you don’t want a foreigner operating a business where only his fellow foreigners visit, meet and patronise. For all we know, the business might be a cover for some shady deals, drugs, arms, human parts, you name it.
      Thirdly, i am surprised you said that Nigerians work there and see what goes on, like are you for real? If hou have ever worked a day in ur life, you would know that, even normal office work, has schedule and access to places in work places is strictly based on ur schedule, so a cashier is strictly restricted to the cash table and so is the store keeper restricted to store. So don’t assume the workers know what is going on.
      Finally, like i stated earlier, we are not fighting to go where we are not wanted, we are fighting to take out apartheid and keep it out where it belongs the same way South Africa fought it many years ago, US fought it many years ago and Palestinians are fighting it right now. So No to Apartheid, No to racism and discrimination of any form.
      Most importantly, God bless Nigeria

7. Amebo I usually feel happy and good anytime I read your writing here, but you see this one e no follow at all

8. Really? On our soil and they are still discriminating against us and you think it's the right thing? Can this be done by other entities on their own soil? You know the answer!

We can't be facing shege that our leaders are showing us and still add chinkos own join, haba mana! It's their audacity for me.

Either we eat what they sell or not that doesn't give them this kain audacity. They are discriminating against us on our soil and some of you are still saying e no concern anybody, really? Showing us to our faces how much of racists they are

9. Amebo, this your comment today get k-leg.
      Ever heard of Chinese spices?

10. Amebo na you write this one abi your phone was hacked? Jeez! E show say all those things wey you dey write before na person dey help you.
      Gosh! You fall hand aswear .

11. Amebonawork

Please ditch this Line of Thought

I’m sure someone borrowed your phone because this is not the Amebonawork I know

12. Do you think their consumables are 1 naira 2 naira?
      The people who can afford it and can shop shop their will not be asking 'silly questions ' like the iyamala people you are familiar with.
      Some of you are do familiar with subjugation that even freedom is a strange reality.

13. Very funny way of thinking amebo na work.they tried this in Jos,got dia ass--- kicked .u can't claim to be all knowing and type dis.SMH.u come to our country,get a business permit for a supermarket to serve d public and den narrow it down to a particular race? wonderful,can u try dat in dia country?and just so u know,for d person saying she can't shop dia ,dey have alot of spices.wen I got into d one in Jos,I bought a particular seasoning spice that makes meals super delicious.i miss it.

14. Amebo, i am really shocked at your comment you published. Seems you don't understand the anger of people? Someone making you a second class citizen in your own country. I do thought your IQ is much more than this.

15. Amebo na work wow wow wow, in a 21 century global world it is against human right to be banned from shopping in any commercial space. Get that right first before we continue on the minors.

16. LMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Wonders shall never end. Is this how some of you think? We can as well go back to having white only transport and black only restrooms because why does it matter when they’re a billion and one other alternatives out there. Some of you are very interesting.

4. Very good! I felt so annoyed watching the video

5. It's the audacity for me!! The way these people behave in Nigeria, you'll think they own the country.
    The agencies that are supposed to be in charge keep turning a blind eye to their attrocities. The only reason they are taking this up is because it's blown up on social media.
    Workers in all those Chinese managed factories along Mowe-Sagamu-Abeokuta expressway have been complaining about the less than human conditions they are forced to work in day in, day out to no avail, the government agencies that should checkmate them act deaf and dumb.
    I hope this company remains permanently locked. Reminds me of the chocolate Royale story.

6. If no oversabi Nigerians ! We dey eat 🐸? Or we sabi use chop stick, Nigerians and back cameras na 5 and 6..

Abeg there are other big problems , learnt fuel is 1k per litre in some places this morning

7. Pleasant surprises23 April 2024 at 10:19

Na naija I blame for being lenient from the scratch, can they try it in any African country talk less of USA and uk

8. Honestly, those people going there. Can they consume what is being sold there?

The Chinese may not have the strength to explain to people what they sell and what not and to prevent all the stress, they restricted it to just themselves.

The person denied access, what was said to him? Is there a notice that states it's strictly for the Asians?

Didn't they register this company before? What question was asked when they were registering. Does the government not know about this policy before giving permission to run the business or it was done through the back yard?

Or is it not a supermarket? Is it something else? Why are you fleeing?
    I can't tell though

Hydrogen

9. Just imagine the nonsense. Coming to another man's country with this racist attitude

10. It's the Nigerians going there that is to blame. Personally, I won't go where I am not wanted. But them coming to do racism in another man's country is very disturbing.

11. But the Chinese have shops in Oyinbo countries. They could never ban white people from eating there or using their services.
    Pure racism in a country that is not their own. Mtcheww

12. You cant do this in their land... Even if there are many options where I would like to shop. I dont like to hear anything discrimination.

13. People that are supporting the Chinese business for their discriminatory practice; ask yourselves "Can a Nigerian open a Nigerian supermarket in China and ban Chinese citizens from patronizing it???". The answer is a capital 'NO', majority of the Chinese citizens will not be interested in going to the supermarket but there are some that will be curious about Nigerian foods and snacks.

Apply the analogy above to what's happening in Nigeria and you'll see that it's Wrong!

14. It's the audacity for me. Even if we can't consume what they sell it still doesn't give them the right to any Nigerian from going there. For our own land again? no nau

15. You see the power of social media?
    Use it widely!

16. They brazen af to even try this in the capital city. Goes to show they don't even respect the government. They come for Nigerian money though. And let folks remember these folks are not invested in the country, they are transient migrants. All the money they make is shipped back to their homelands, and they do not patronize local businesses at all. When was the last time you saw any of them in a bukka, pharmacy, salon, drycleaners?

17. It is their audacity for me,i can imagine a Nigerian set up business in China and restrict it to only Nigerians over there...Firstly..it cannot happen because they have an efficient regulatory body that don't accept bribe.

18. Amebonawork23 Is the type of Nigerian that is embarrassingly shameful. A Chinese man leaves his country, comes to your country and discriminates against you and you think it’s ok?

This type of Nigerians will have us recolonized with their inane, low mentality! You should be burning down his his for discriminating against anyone that looks like you on YOUR own Land. In YOUR Fcking country!!!

I was at the VIP section in Murtala airport when a Lebanese man tried that discrimination in my country. I quickly reminded him where he was. Don’t pull that shit. Go back to Lebanon!

God punish the likes of Amebonawork23. Backwardly low mentality will have us recolonized by disease infested Chinese in our own country. The white man did enough, now Chinko want to join? Abeg burn his biz and deport his monkey ass!!

1. 🤣😂 don't mind amebo,na ovasabi dey worry am.