Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Activist Dele Farotimi Remanded In Jail For Defaming Legal Luminary Afe Babalola SAN

Thursday, December 05, 2024

Activist Dele Farotimi Remanded In Jail For Defaming Legal Luminary Afe Babalola SAN

Human rights lawyer and activist, Dele Farotimi, was on Wednesday remanded in prison for allegedly defaming a legal luminary and founder of Afe Babalola University, Aare Afe Babalola, SAN. Farotimi was arraigned before a Magistrate Court in Ado Ekiti on Wednesday morning.
Farotimi pleaded not guilty to all sixteen charges and is currently awaiting a bail hearing scheduled for December 10,2024

15 comments:

1. God catch you.
    Next time you'll recognize your senior in life.

1. How did God catch him? This is the problem with Nigerians. We often idolize the oppressors. You feel Dele will published such a book and a heavy remark on a personality as such without a concrete evidence to back up his claims? Good he's a lawyer, he can speak up for himself.

2. God catch him how? If our SANs too can't be civil then wahala dey be that

3. 😂😂😂😂 Do you even know what happened, Iya Nimi...Wetin bring Senior for inside here 😂😂😂

1. And what happened to his face?
      I'm sure you don't even know whether that is Dele or Afe 😒

3. The NPF and Nigerian Judiciary keep breaking the law that their institutions should uphold and making Nigeria lawless and the land of the jackals.

A civil case of libel is being handled as a criminal case - arresting and remanding a Nigerian citizen in prison⁉️

What type of a country are these so-called leaders and fathers going to bequeath to the next generation❓

Indeed, THERE WAS A COUNTRY❗

1. Exactly my point. A defamatory remark should first be sued and not arrest. You don't use state power as an individual to intimidate, oppress and detain an accuser without first suing them.

2. The truth is Defamation, Libel and Slander are both criminal and civil, so the onus is on the plantiff to determine how he wants to proceed (Blame this on our law makers who have refused to do away with obselete British laws and replace them with laws that fit our pecularities)....However when you have been of influence and power, they use all manner of instruments to show they are intimidate.....

Nigeria can be likened to Bedlam...Abuse of power, rackeeting, intimidation... We are deceiving ourselves, claiming we are a DEMOCRACY....

4. O chim! Everything is just happening in this December

GoldenTulip ✍️🕊️

5. This is supposed to be a civil case if am not mistaken? Or was is not excerpts of his recently launched book that is termed libel...So why arrest him without a warrant? Anyways, the court will decide.

1. @Adunni it is a civil case in Lagos State but a criminal case in Ekiti State.

6. Legal luminaries are the ones who can procure midnight judgment from corrupt judges. Let's not forget that Buhari nominated one to the World Court and they denied him bc he has no basic understanding of legal principles. But he is a legal luminary in Nigeria