Lancelot criticized the growing divide between “old” and “new” Nollywood, and questioned why many of the industry’s biggest names have disappeared instead of giving back.
In an interview with Vanguard, he said;
“As of 30 years ago, there were nothing like big stars. Everybody evolved. Those who chose to be behind the camera like myself as well as those who wanted to be in front of the camera.
“Nobody looked down on anybody. Everyone respected all that we were called to do with our talents. “But overtime, we have seen Nollywood that birthed great names being bastardized, abandoned and ignored even by those who were nobody then.
“That’s crux of this parley. Where are the people that Nollywood birthed? Some of them have become bigger than the industry that made them.
“I am calling out the Omotolas, the Genevieve’s, the Emeka Ikes and the Jim Iykes. I am also calling out all of them who benefitted from Nollywood to come and give back to the industry.
Lancelot urged these stars to return and support Nollywood, insisting the industry needs its own to survive and thrive.
Jim iyke is still in the scene, he is acting and producing movies on YouTube.
ReplyDeleteThat omotola and Genevieve side no just go there especially Genevieve nnaji before their fans go chop you.
If nah only me dey social media, Genevieve no go get fan be that. All that mysterious crap I don't fuck with it.
How her fans take dey fan her, person wey you no fit relate with. And by relating I don't mean being all over the place.
I don’t see the reason why people fan Genevieve, her acting hasn’t been fantastic to me, anyway, her mysterious disappearance and reappearance irks me.
DeleteGoodluck to her ceiling fans.
Nobody should call anyone out, I think they’re thriving in the areas they chose and some have outgrown the industry.
Maybe if they get a role that speaks to them, they might come back and “give to the industry “.
Oh we have our reasons, just as you have yours for 'faning' the actors you fan. I have a problem with people having issues with people's choices that do not hurt others.
DeleteNow, let me reiterate, Genevieve was and still is a fantastic actress.
Oh we have our reasons, just as you have yours for 'faning' the actors you fan. I have a problem with people having issues with people's choices that do not hurt others.
DeleteNow, let me reiterate, Genevieve was and still is a fantastic actress.
What would you have them do? There are streaming platforms now, everybody is trying to make money while still trying to make themselves relevant, my only concern is, they are not giving privileges to upcomings.
ReplyDeleteSame old, same old. Bunch of recycles.
The industry is becoming more like friends and family group of companies. it’s the same storyline and same actors and same awardees, nothing spectacular. Ko ye mi at all
DeleteSir,invite them for a movie,and see if you can cast them.🤔
ReplyDeleteUse rope tie them now.