The Joint Admissions and Matrimonial Board (JAMB) Registrar, Prof Oloyede Ishaq broke down in tears during a press briefing, publicly apologizing for the recent Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) failures citing systemic issues.
The emotional apology came after widespread public outcry and protests from parents of affected students, who expressed frustration and disappointment over the mass failures in the UTME results.
Due to the failures, 65 exam centers will administer re-sits on Friday May 16th, Saturday May 17th, and Sunday May 18, 2025 in Lagos and other locations in the Southeast. Candidates with scheduling conflicts will have their exams rearranged.
Crocodiles. In a sane environment, someone somewhere at the top will be resigning or losing their job over something this huge that has negative impact on the students affected and the country at large but it’s just another day in Nigeria!
ReplyDeleteImagine. A teen even committed suicide.
DeleteExactly...he should honorably resign.
DeleteReal crocodile tears. It’s only JAMB CBT that candidates have to wait before knowing their results. Jamb should make it possible for candidates to know their scores when they finish their exams, click submit and print your result immediately. All these issues will be resolved
DeleteTears? He should just carry his kaya and go.
ReplyDeleteThe tears were not necessary. Right from the day the exam was conducted till the night the results were released. You couldn't verify the high rate in the low performance, you went ahead and released it, you are apologizing now. I expect you to resign not that tears.
ReplyDeletei disagree that his tears are crocodile tears, this man has a very solid pedigree, he was a very progressive VC of the University of Ilorin and was appointed JAMB registrar when his tenure ended, we all remember it was when he got to JAMB that they stopped receiving funds from the government and instead started returning billions to the FGN every year. If you have been following Nigerian news, then you will be aware of this man.
ReplyDeleteNo doubt errors have been made but they have owned up instead of the usual denial by government agencies, what really will his resigning achieve?
Let us allow lessons to be learned and they should fix this issue
The whole of south east states were automatic failure over 300,000k. He's so good yet he could not double check the result before pushing them out. If not that people called them out massively and death of that student, jamb have already labelled the student lazy who are addicted to tiktok and facebook.
DeleteYou are an insane person, you don't know yet.
DeleteHow many centers in ilorin did students get 120 as scores??
They are eager to upgrade without proper measures , at the end it fails woefully and leaves many devastated.
DeleteSame thing that happened during Naira swap.
You know him very well!
DeleteThank you. Know body is above mistake in this life.
DeleteNo body is perfect.
Ice fish seller don't they sell dictionary in that your yenogoa..stop typing smelling English here.
DeleteAnon 11.17, you really don't deserve a response, people are freely expressing their views maturely and all a character like you can do is to hurl insults
DeleteIcefish seller ooo
DeleteApply for dictionary giveaway.
Ikwakwakwakwakwakwa
This is a blog not British Council. In social media engagement, error is allowed. Na this too much ''English 'make oyiboman dey fleece una per second. People who cannot speak or write their native dialect but vast in "Γyibo Eliza.''
DeleteYeye anons, how much life changes has your English made for you? You struggle daily yet you keep on humiliating Icefish seller because of this? You should be ashamed of yourselves.
DeleteAno12:43 and 13:48 , if I made a mistake or an Error. Why not correct me.
DeleteAre will not here to learn?
English language is one my problem, please correct me with insult. I will learn.
Thank you .
Na only icefish business full my coconut head. So help .
Thank you. Nobody is above mistakes in this life, Nobody is perfect.
DeleteInstead of him to tender his resignation letter he is busing shading crocodile tears.. will the yeye tears bring back the girl that committed suicide abi will it bring back the harm and heartache it caused a lot of people.hissssss out .
ReplyDeleteI tire.
DeleteY'all need to see the flippant way the JAMB handler on twitter announced it. And are they not supposed to give the demoralized students enough time to prepare knowing that some must have travelled far from the location of their jamb centres?
ReplyDeleteIt was the stupid way of delivery. Devoid of emotional intelligence or empthaty. πππ
DeleteHe is a known Islamist. Ask those who attended University of Ilorin when he was their VC or if you have someone working there or lives in Ilorin. He wants to help his people in their islamitization agenda. The are using all avenues to relegate other regions in the country.
ReplyDeleteSo should the muslims believe that all the other agencies headed by christians, are also helping their brothers to christianize the nation? Abi una no want to take over?
DeleteBlame the board as a whole not only him oooo. He cannot be everywhere nah!!! .
DeleteThat's why he failed the whole south east states. SO there are no bright students in the east again? He was used to test run their agenda.
DeleteBefore you go get sense, Rapture done take place.
DeleteI don’t think Islam or Islamization agenda has to do with this mass failure. I think Jamb as an agency doesn’t pay attention to details. I admire him admitting their failure, a first for a federal government agency. If they have an agenda like the other government agencies, they won’t even admit their fault. They should streamline their work process to make it easier for candidates to get their results immediately after the exam, is the examination not computer based? The software already should be loaded with the answers, so you know your score after the exam
DeleteWhy is the results of a biometric test not printed immediately the exam is written?
DeleteOnly in Nigeria.
"Islamizing" JAMB sorry, Nigeria? How did we get here as a nation. We used to be accommodating of each others religion such that the unpopular religions also felt very comfortable in Nigeria. What went wrong, why are we now so animalistic that everything must be reduced to religion and ethnicity? Some of us Christians are still able to recite the Koran even in this our old age, so also the Muslims because that was how we grew up-mixed; a lot of us have best friends, loved ones and even intermarried with other tribes yet we allow this menace? Anyone behind this evil agenda called "religion and ethnicity" in any form or kind is the real enemy!!! No wonder Nigeria is now adrift and tilting drastically beyond measure.
DeleteOloyede is not islamist. go and check all d best candidates in jamb since he took over soem of the m are from d east and south south. again i met him in 2017 for job assistance u need to see d way he screamed at me in his office telling me he was not d person in charge of job in JAMB. yet i went there with a recommendation letter from my senator despite d fact we come from d same LG area in abeokuta. it was later i earnt d former minister of education seconded some staff to hsi office and most of them are from d north.
DeleteThey were blaming Gen Zs for the mass failure attributed it to their laziness and social media addiction. Meanwhile same kids dey ace foreign exams and waec.
ReplyDeleteThis generation no be like others wey go accept injustice against them. They are ever ready to speak up.
Jamb saw the class action suit they filed against them seeing that water don pass garri e dey burst into fake tears.
Heads must roll ooo for trying to jeopardize the future of these youngsters.
One even committed suicide because of her low score
Oloyede shed which tear? Abeggi.
ReplyDeleteWhen there's incompetence in this country, you'll start seeing all sorts of drama.
Your apology doesn't hold water Sir, I heard of a student who committed suicide, she didn't get the chance to resit or understand why she even failed in the first place.
ReplyDeletePainful something.
DeleteGod rest her soul.
You shed tears, and apologiseπ‘π‘. The young girl that took her life nko, will your stupid tears bring her back? Will it console her family??
ReplyDeleteSomeone lost a daughter and he is there crying. If that child was in any way related to him, how will he feel?
DeleteI felt sorry for Prof yesterday,when he was overwhelmed with emotions. Same way the students and their parents were traumatised. Jamb has outlived it's usefulness. The students are made to write another post utme after writing Jamb. Doesn't make. πππ
ReplyDeleteWhat exactly are the tears for?π
ReplyDeleteHow does he intend to salvage the situation?
I am just happy that an he owned up to their mess up.
ReplyDeleteBecause from the ogas at the top to the lowest level never own up to their mistakes/errors in Nigeria.Instead they look for ways to deflect and blame their predecessors
And we were blaming the innocent students....awon omolomo. Kai
ReplyDeleteHe owns up becos there's no hidden place for him again. Ankara ti tu si epo