Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Fully Settles IMF Debt And Exits Debtor List

Saturday, May 10, 2025

Nigeria Fully Settles IMF Debt And Exits Debtor List

Nigeria has officially removed itself from the International Monetary Fund’s (IMF) debtor list, following the full settlement of its outstanding credit obligations.
‎Analysts say this significant step, confirmed by the IMF’s latest report, marks a turning point in the country’s fiscal journey, reflecting the success of a strategic debt reduction plan under President Bola Tinubu’s administration.

As of May 2025, Nigeria no longer appears among the 91 developing nations with pending credit to the IMF, signaling the culmination of a two-year repayment initiative.

‎This achievement, reported in the IMF’s “Total IMF Credit Outstanding” document, has been hailed as a defining moment for Nigeria’s financial management, with the country now emerging debt-free from its previous obligations.

‎The journey towards clearing this debt began in earnest in 2023, when the nation’s IMF debt stood at $1.61 billion. Through disciplined fiscal reforms, the debt steadily declined, reaching $472 million by January 2025, before being fully repaid by May 2925.
‎ChannelsTv

26 comments:

1. Wow, I pray it true. It will be a great feat and achievement by Tpain

1. Don't take everything at face value. Trust, but verify!

2. Believe APC at your peril. APC that manufactured "Bishops"? Ok.

3. You guys frustrated yourselves for 8 years of Buhari and you are still on this case, believing only evil about yourselves and being left behind in the good being done. The children born when you started choking on bile are in secondary school now. They will be writing JAMB when Shettima or someone else takes the job. Choose sweetness today. This depression delusion will not help you.

4. Yes we clear IMF loan. I checked we still get other loan from Afremix , World Bank and Chinese Bank. The list long but we actually paying them. With drop in crude oil price it could affect our efforts

2. Ah ah!!
    How come??
    Them do ritual??
    Abi another country don take over??
    Make I just de observe

3. Wow. Thank you Mr President. πŸ™πŸΏπŸ‘

4. Lies!
    They have not really told the truth.
    They should tell us what they used in exchange for the debt. Might be free oil for the next 50yrs

1. Anon too much sense dey your head. You made sense aswear.

2. You are very smart.. Good thinking.

3. So the debt has been paid. You don't have the gumption to produce anything for government to pay for the debt that was used to educate you in vain so what else will pay for the money used to lay the Internet cables you use to watch skits and type shallow noise online? Is the price of oil not set internationally by market forces? Are people who are using their education not available to query the process in case of over paying? Is it not a transparent process with the contract signed and made public? Have you the capacity to understand contracts? Since it is a serious document, do you even have the capability to comprehend? But try. If you find any discrepancy, publish it, pursue the money and get your cut as legally stipulated. They paid onigbese's debt now, poverty of gratitude is the next problem government has to tackle for you again.

5. Nice one πŸ‘
    This is Good news.

6. Congratulations to us.

na this kind good news suppose dey go viral

7. Great news πŸ‘ Weldone Pred Tinubu πŸ‘
    Adunni

8. This is a real achievement

9. But still owing 90billion in charges looool

10. This is good news, I just hope the means of payment is not trade by barter.

11. Wow. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

12. This is a good fit

13. Kai, this sounds too good to be true abeg.