Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Legendary Broadcaster Julie Coker

Monday, May 05, 2025

Nigeria's Legendary Broadcaster Julie Coker

Julie Coker, a Nigerian TV journalist and broadcaster was born in 1939. Her father was Yoruba from Abeokuta, and her mother was Itsekiri from Warri. She grew up in Lagos with her mother and stepfather.

Sher attended St. Mary's Convent Primary School and Holy Child College, where she developed her passion for music and performance arts. In 1957, she represented her school in a festival of arts, which was featured in the Daily Times newspaper.

After completing her secondary education, she taught at a convent school in Warri. She also won the 1958 Miss Western Nigeria competition and was a runner-up in the Miss Nigeria contest.

Her broadcasting career began in 1959 when she joined Western Nigeria Television (WNTV) as a receptionist. She later replaced Anike Agbaje-Williams as a television announcer, becoming one of Nigeria's earliest and most recognizable TV broadcasters. 

#Copied

10 comments:

1. Wow her journey is so interesting.
    Beautiful woman 🥰

2. Beautiful Mama Julie Coker....Her diction is so pristine and a delight to listen to always....

1. You sabi her gaan.
      You don follow me old oh.
      Anybody wey sabi her don kala.

2. I remember her well. My mum's contemporary. Sienne came after her.

3. Beautiful Julie Coker with an equally beautiful voice.
    My childhood friend told me she was named after her.

4. My mom was always talking about her