SAD STORY
Recently, a young lady in her late thirties shared something very painful with me. Out of a deep sense of desperation after going through three serious but failed relationships she confided in a male colleague at work. She was emotionally vulnerable and confided to a colleague.
This colleague told her he would speak to his friend, a so-called "seer," who might be able to help her. It began with a request for ₦20,000 for a spiritual soap to wash away the evil forces blocking her marriage. She paid.
Then came another ₦20,000 supposedly to be dashed to beggars to clear her path. Again, she complied.
A few days later, she was told that the seer had seen death on her path and that she urgently needed to travel to Kogi. She took time off work and went there. While in Kogi, she was told to buy two rams, cook food, and feed children to avert the looming danger.
All in all, she spent ₦720,000 on this spiritual journey.
A few days later, she was told that the seer had seen death on her path and that she urgently needed to travel to Kogi. She took time off work and went there. While in Kogi, she was told to buy two rams, cook food, and feed children to avert the looming danger.
All in all, she spent ₦720,000 on this spiritual journey.
It's been four months now. Nothing changed, and she’s left feeling broken, used, and deeply depressed. She initially kept all this to herself, but I sensed something was wrong. With some gentle pressure, she eventually opened up to me.
I’m honestly angry, with her, the so-called seer, and especially at her colleague. From all indications, it’s clear he may have been in on the whole thing. This feels like a calculated scheme to exploit a woman at her most vulnerable.
I’m seriously considering taking legal action against that colleague. No one deserves to be used like this. This isn’t just emotional manipulation; it’s fraud. And it must be addressed.
I’m honestly angry, with her, the so-called seer, and especially at her colleague. From all indications, it’s clear he may have been in on the whole thing. This feels like a calculated scheme to exploit a woman at her most vulnerable.
I’m seriously considering taking legal action against that colleague. No one deserves to be used like this. This isn’t just emotional manipulation; it’s fraud. And it must be addressed.
Hmmmmmm legal action how? The colleague can lie that he lost his phone and someone else chatted with her..He can feign memoryloss.....Taking legal actions will aggravate the matter and everyone will know which will embarrass and depress her the more...
Sometimes it is better to lick wounds in private, to heal and move on....She is the wiser now right? What you can do for her? walk her through the healing process and let her know that this thing called marriage no be by force!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I honestly get irritated when a woman makes it look like she will die if she does not see husband...WETIN?????????????????
It is a criminal offence let her take it up but you can't take it up on her behave because it is a case .So if she doesn't want to, based on some reasons you can't force hermÃ
ReplyDeleteReminds me of a supposed 'seer' I encountered during my service days in Ota. Dude forgot I and he had exchanged greetings the previous day at the local watering hole.
ReplyDeleteThe next day, I was at a shop to get some items when I encountered him again. He drew me aside and said something to the effect that he is seeing big blessings coming my way but there are certain things I need to do to solidify and hasten the arrival of those blessings. I smiled. He thought he had seen a mark but by God dude didn't know what was gonna hit him.
Knowing that he drinks, I asked him to accompany me to a nearby watering hole so we can discuss his 'vision' over cold beers. I could see the way his eyes brightened up at the mention of beer. He followed along.
At the bar, I made sure we ran up quite a tab. I told him everything was on me. Dude was gifted with garb, I'll give him that but I didn't spend 25 years in Jos to come and be made a schmuck in the backwaters of Ota by a schmooze. I listened to every detail of the vision he said he saw while struggling not to burst out laughing between mouthfuls of beer.
Feeling sufficiently entertained, I made to relieve myself and then exited the building.
I left him to figure out the bill knowing damn well he couldn't. Certainly not one of my finest moments but I figured I was doing the universe a great good.
As a general rule, I don't believe in any vision or prophecy. Anyone who does, is only setting himself up to be taken advantage of.
Regardless, that wasn't a good thing to do. Buying drinks for your fellow man and then leave him stranded with the bills
DeleteSharp guy
DeleteAnon 17:03. I did say it wasn't my finest moment. But then again he was out to scam me. I just took advantage of his greed.
Deletewhich legal action when that colleague never force her into spending such amount of money. Her desperation just to remain married or keep answering MRS. is what had led her into such. Let her just lick her wound in peace and learn her lesson in a very bad way. She has not been reading or hearing what is happening in the world. She have 720k to waste, she should go back to the seer and threaten to expose him if he does not refund her money back. Plus she should threaten that her colleague and see if anything can come out.
ReplyDeleteUnless you're the victim, you don't have any legal action over a matter that doesn't involve you. What exactly will be your basis for suing?
ReplyDeleteEven if you were the victim, I don't see any cause of action. You were not forced and they did not misrepresent anything to you. You went willingly on a spiritual journey, but didn't find answers.
Lick your wounds and move on.
I don't know if suing the colleague and the seer would yield any results positively,But I do believe it's a personal matter, for your friend and such decision should be left solely for her to take, going to court drains some people, financially and otherwise, so focus on making her over come her depression first , that's very important.
ReplyDeleteWomen always giving themselves headache because of marriage. That's how those seers will keep on collecting money from them till eternity. I'm 36. Honestly, at this point of my life now, all that matters is to make money. That's the only happiness I seek now. Poster, your friend won't stop seeing those people. Advice her and leave her alone.
ReplyDeleteShe better lick her wounds in silence. She should be grateful they did not even sleep with her.
ReplyDeleteI was directed to one,a seer
ReplyDeleteHe may be genuine or not I don’t know but I write about my truth and my experience
Firstly he charged money
Lol any pastor that charges money in books is fake,short sighted and doesn’t have the might to sustain whatever you receive
He said I will buy mirror,hahahahaahah
Mirror ke,ogbanje things I thought we are in God through Jesus,ahhaaa okay na
He said bring 25 bottles of anointing oil
Then about 40 bottles of water
Bear in mind that all these things will be bought from his shop in the church premises,then I should add stones
Hahahaha
If you go to see him one on one for counseling you must drop offering hahahahahaha
Wonderful Marvellous are the works of my Lord
You say……Ghen ghen ghen
Issa labubu something
There’s nothing I’ve gotten in my life currently that came from paying pastors none and I’m doing fairly okay
So I left and went home
In the night I had a strange dream very strange
It was a meeting with a leader,I can’t remember exactly but they brought a mirror and were invoking the spirit of what I wanted ,the earth was shaking,my eyes were turning in that dream just like you see in movies,dark smoke everywhere
Then they said the answer
I woke up and didn’t go back
Months later the answer is correct but I will never align with dark powers
Not me
God will sort me out
Like I said I’m not sure if he is genuine or not but naaaaah anything that involves paying I’m out
You're wise a lot have fallen
DeleteI’m one to say let it go
ReplyDeleteBut but if she did transfers and she’s willing to take a little risk, she can ask the coworker to either 1. Refund her money if he was part of this or 2) if he says he wasn’t part of the fraud and didn’t know that’s what was goin on then she can involve the police to track the fraudster
If she thinks coworker was part of the fraud then she should let him know she will involve HR (unless she’s afraid she might lose her job)
You see those seer that tells you to dash cripples money? don't do it oooo some could tell you to dash then ten or twenty naira, my dear people of God run,those are assignments pastor from the pit of hell.
ReplyDeleteIs a pity a lot of women fall victim to such.l hope she has learnt a lesson from this
ReplyDeleteSome ladies are just too desperate! They will do anything to get husband!! Thank God say dem no use am do ritual!
ReplyDeleteThis story is painfully familiar: a woman, desperate for healing from brokenness, reaches for help - only to be betrayed by those she trusted. A Judas-like colleague leads her down a path of emotional manipulation disguised as spiritual intervention. It’s a brutal reflection of how vulnerability, conditioned cultural pressure or expectation, and predatory deceit often collide.
ReplyDeleteHer longing for love became the bait. But the real crime isn’t just in the actions of the “seer” or the likely complicit colleague - it’s in a society that teaches women to hinge their value on being chosen by a man. This obsession with marriage stems, in part, from raising girls to believe a man’s presence is their safety net in adulthood. That mindset is not only outdated, it’s dangerous.
Her story holds grief and a rising fury. Yet the suggestion to pursue legal action, while understandable and tempting, is fraught with complexities. However, there are avenues to reclaim her money or part of the sum. What she needs now is not courtroom drama, but inner restoration - healing. She deserves space to unlearn the shame she has carried like wet clothes clinging to her soul, and drawing firm boundaries against future exploitation.
Normally, some find love easily. Others don’t - that's life. Sometimes, the only way to kill a lie is to drag it into the light, and then walk away unashamed. But a woman’s worth should not be tied to a ring or a title - Mrs.