Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Coach Siasia Refutes EX Footballer Mikel Obi's Claims Of Paying Flight Tickets For Th Team

Wednesday, June 25, 2025

Coach Siasia Refutes EX Footballer Mikel Obi's Claims Of Paying Flight Tickets For Th Team

Nigeria's head coach to the 2016 Olympics in Brazil, Samson Siasia, has refuted claims by John Obi Mikel that he paid the flight tickets of the team to Brazil.

The Chelsea legend had claimed that those in charge of football in Nigeria have refused to refund him the money he spent on flight for the team for the Rio Olympics in Brazil 8 years ago.

‎Reacting, Siasia said that: "Mikel did not pay for any flight tickets for the team. I say this as the head coach of the team then. He should bring the receipt if he paid. Maybe he is broke and looking for money. He should try other means to make money.

‎We only had issues in the hotel that we needed to sort out the bill. I think he did pay for some of the hotel bills, but the flight to Rio, Mikel didn't pay for it. Delta Airlines was the one that flew us to Brazil. Mikel should stop talking about it. If he has a receipt to that effect, let him show us that he was the one who paid."

‎BSN sports

8 comments:

1. "We only had issues in the hotel that we needed to sort out the bill", 🙄🙄. Una no dey plan??? Sha refund his money.8 years is a long time

2. Mtcheeewwww

So Mikel will just wake up and lie! Pay him the money of that issues you had at the hotel. Nonsense

3. Since his match fixing scandal among other issues
    If he tells you goodmorning,you better look at your watch..

4. Siasia trying to broke shame Mikel for me is unprofessional and this will also kill the spirit of other sportsmanship to help next time in a situation like that one........

An ingrate shouldn't be regarded( he ONLY paid for room) I pray NFF look into this

5. I still feel Mikel could not have come online on a podcast to say such a big thing to shame his country is it isn't true.

1. Cynthia I think he should... this is a public affair mind you he must have reached out to them privately countless time.... but you and I sabi this country well

6. Flight, hotel, and meals should be taken care of with no problems/issues for an Olympic team. Brazil isn’t even an expensive country to begin with and this was long before the global economic woes. Always controversy when it comes to this country and their treatment of athletes. The last Olympic one cyclist had to be loaned a bicycle from another country. A whole oil exporting country of 200 million ppl can’t afford a professional grade cycle for their athlete. Too much controversy all the damn time. It makes everyone look incompetent and unprofessional. But in a country where ppl are regularly appointed without having to have prior experience and proven ability to do the work foolishness always follow.

Give the man his money if you are owing him. And why would a coach know about the booking and payment of an entire team, is there not someone else who takes care of such matters? Is am sure he has credit card records, so it should not be difficult to show the date, time, and location the payment was made. Foolishness

7. With head coaches like this no wonder the country is in a big mess. This man is the very definition of shameless Mchhew