Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Media Girl Toke Makinwa's EX Husband Maje Ayida Says He Was Depressed After Their Divorce

Thursday, June 12, 2025

Media Girl Toke Makinwa's EX Husband Maje Ayida Says He Was Depressed After Their Divorce

Fitness coach Maje Ayida, who was married to media personality Toke Makinwa, has opened up about falling into depression after news of their break up became viral on social media....

He revealed this in a Church programme in the UK
He said:

‎“I will be honest about the fact that I went through a divorce which resulted in me being depressed. It was a very publicised divorce.
‎And that left me feeling very alone. I withdrew from society, I was really ashamed of my situation. Not just for myself, of course, my self-esteem was affected, but legacy is very important to me. I was ashamed of what I felt I had done to my family’s name. As a result, I went into hiding.

‎I didn’t want to interact with anyone. I wanted to be alone, stay at home. I stopped going to work. I found it very difficult to work. It was very hard.

‎I not only lost focus but also motivation. I lost the essence of even getting up in the morning. What am I getting up for? Everyone already feels a certain way about me. So, I started to lose work as a result of it. That was when it really started to get to me.

‎As a man, your work is your identity, and I started to lose work, business deals so it became a real problem for me.

‎That was when I made a decision. I had to make a decision for my own survival because I was living in hopelessness. It went on for weeks.

‎I was out of the look for a whole year. I checked out of life for a year to recoup. I realised that I was in a very dark space. I was in a hole but I needed to get out of it… I was on the floor. What’s sleep? I didn’t even know what that was. I had insomnia.
‎I was paranoid as well so the few chances that I do get to go out, I have created a scenario in my own mind that everybody is talking about me, people are looking at me. And that would just send me back into my own home.
‎That feeling of hopelessness and the noise that was going on around me even though I was in silence was insane. I made a choice. I decided that I didn’t want to stay in this space.

‎I did research on how to deal with it. The top of the list of the research that I did was accountability. I took the blame on myself. It made me feel worse at first until I began to take practical steps.”

‎Maje Ayida and Toke Makinwa got married in 2014 but i 2016 SDK Blog broke the story that their marriage had collapsed.

42 comments:

1. No be lie, Man sef dey cry
    Maje that year chai !!!
    Hope everyone is alright now

1. Remember the saying 'hell hath no fury...'?

2. But why did you stay with her for that long and end up marrying her if you knew you weren't in love? Why did you continue to lead her in to the extent of marriage if you knew you didn't want her to be your wife?

3. Who’s this one gaslighting??
    You got your side chick pregnant while married and you expect the world to clap for you? Oga you’re lucky you didn’t die cos the wages of sin is death. Ask about Sammie Okposo

1. Did Sammy Okposo imprégnant his side chick while married?

2. See him forming victim now

3. This life! Sammy Okposo almost married Kate henshaw. Kate was (and still is) very pretty lady when she debuted her movie career in “when the sun set”. I love the movie, she played her part very well. Kate if you are reading this, you are one of the best that Nigeria movie industry has produced.

4. I knew that the exposee that year will do a thing or two to this man.
    The breaking news, the 'book launch' and the shameful stories it carried.

I hope he's changed and in a better place now.
    Everyone deserves a second chance.

5. He will still regret more. Agba ti de!. Toke don't take him back

6. Thank God you scaled through Maje

7. At least you had a baby mama and a son to go back to. Toke dealt with the public humiliation alone. She was trolled massively for getting cheated on. I have a soft spot for Toke till date.
    How far that his baby mama sef, Anita Solomon, did he later marry her?

1. He has another kid with her now.

2. Good for him but i don't think they are still together. He engaged one burn survivor years back.

8. Blessed are those who have something to say but decided to read comments.

9. You married Toke, had a baby mama on the side, and you're talking about depression. What about the betrayal and humilation Toke felt. What about that??

1. He obviously thought we forgot what he did..He’s a gaslighter & narcissists, if he that cheated went into depression ,imagine what Toke went through? Na wah for this type of men

2. He don forget 😌😌😌

10. Depressed that he got another woman pregnant or that all his escapades came to light?Please...

Narcissists and gas lighters always have a way of making it all about them.

11. Ole want to use style and come.back to Toke so that he go chop free money. Mugu move on. Toke healed on her own and you won't try his with her now.

12. Wicked man
    Good for you..
    I pray God should bless toke with husband and kids at the same time.

13. Ewu!!!! Babygirl of life moved on and the thigh pain u die! You thought she was gonna be miserable, but she dusted herself up and rose higher! Not a fan of Toke, but she did good after you humiliated her, your depression just start, akpa!..

14. If he was depressed that much, imagine what Toke would have been.

15. CEO Empress

Stop the Pity party Wagon

CEO Empress

16. If playing victim was a human. Chai you erred and you by yourself went into depression well-done fine man

17. Hmmmm! I don't believe men like this.

18. God's really merciful. 🙄🙄🙄

19. But that year you dey see your sef as playa. Swear say if to say Toke no pick herself up depression go catch you

20. Oga you did this to yourself na. Got and married to Toke and still impregnated your side chick. Since you were still for the street, why get married?

You won cos you had them by your side, what about Toke?

Good you're fine now.

21. This guy is a wicked man, he thought we have forgotten what he did to our plastic girl!

22. This Maje said he was ashamed of what he did to his family legacy and name but NOT A WORD OF APOLOGY to TOKE that he cheated on. What an unconscionable man ❗🤦🏾‍♀️

Your cheating broke something in that lady, Toke and drove her to extremes. I hope she turns to Christ and heals completely.

Please Maje, while you are in that church, GO FOR DELIVERANCE❗
    Maybe it's 14 demons that will be driven out of you.