Let's talk about how you stopped your baby from sucking boobs? did you apply bitterleaf? or just decided to stop despite baby's cries? Give us tips!
Wednesday, June 18, 2025
12 comments:
Personally, I go cold turkey! Once I stop, I’ve stopped. Luckily, my kids only fuss at night for like one or two nights and they adapt to no boobs.
ReplyDeleteNo tips from me but to just endure the crying and replace with water in a sippy cup.
Those nights are horrible but they pass fast and then everything is back to normal.
I didn't apply anything, I just stopped, the first time I stopped, I still gave her, because two of us couldn't sleep because of her cries and trouble, then on the third day, I stopped totally, she was very angry to the extent of shooing away anybody that tried to intervene and pacified her, and kept disturbing me, but I didn't care, then on the second day she just kept cool and stopped disturbing me again, she stopped sucking boobs at one year plus.
ReplyDeleteI went cold turkey on him, after six months exclusive, he eats well during the day but sucks breast before sleeping and at midnight, it was tough on him, I used bitterleaf, he still has a way to suck it until the taste gets better, then I used sedatives but it still didn't work well, the cry was something else, so I introduced tea the second night and he was addicted to tea for five years, he couldn't sleep without drinking tea at night.
ReplyDeleteWell, I guess I'm lucky then, my baby just decided to stop breastfeeding, He was 2 months and 2 weeks old, I tried to force him, but he totally rejected, and since then, we are good, He doesn't miss it either.
ReplyDeleteHubby came home one night when my son a year plus 5 months, my son started crying for breast and he just said t that today is the day you stop sucking. He cried ehn! I was pitying him but hubby said laelae! He took 3 bottles of tea before daybreak after the initial shakara. I gave him 3 times after that when hubby wasn't around. Then, I rubbed bitter leaf juice on my nipples and put the leaves. He was so scared of it. That's how he stopped. My daughter on the other hand no send o. I used something bitter than that but she was still sucking. If I still give her breast now she will suck 😀
ReplyDeleteShe truly loves it hahaha
DeleteI weaned both my babies at age 1 by going cold turkey as well. I left them with my mum for the weekend, and that was the end of breastfeeding. The pain stuck around for about two weeks, and I relied on painkillers to get through it. The engorgement during those first two days was absolutely brutal.
ReplyDeleteI was still contemplating on how to stop him because of the fear of how he will cry. Then I suddenly had hysteric shock (I pray that's the real name) one day and was rushed to the hospital. Doctor said my calcium level was dangerously low and placed me on supplements and injection. That was the day I made up my mind. I went cold turkey on him and boy! He really cried and almost made me give in to his demands but I stood my ground. We gave him tea, nutrimilk and the likes and in a few days we were over it... But my boobs had other plans..
ReplyDeleteI just went cold on him. Chai! He really cried but I was determined but within 2 days he started coping.
ReplyDeleteBut the pains no be here, with pain killers, I was okay.
Shipped the first off to grandma, oh boy first still came asking for boobs even at 18 months, but we did stop
ReplyDelete2nd is still going for boobs, I have no idea how to stop and this is past 1 year...let me read and learn
My Daughter Was Bitter Leaves
ReplyDeleteShe No Even Like To Suck Breast Before , She Prefer cereal and Milo Tea, She No Give Me Wahala Rara ,Breast Feed her For 11month..
My Son Yepaa🙆🙆, I use Bitter leaves bros Suck Am Throw away ooo.. I Now Use Alligator Pepper
After Two Days I Slept Off like A Baby And I Just Notice mouth On My Breast 🤣🤣 MIL Say Chichi Pity him I no Gree oo, after One Week He Forget About It..
I Introduce Amala And Ewedu ,With Titus Fish , All Varieties of Nutribon To The Both Of Them..
For my first, I used Tea to wean him but I saw shege. I fell ill, was having serious cold and throwing up. The breast pain was out of this world. The boy did not stress me, after crying for a day or 2 he forgot. For my second, I had learnt new things, I got a tablet that help to dry up the milk and felt no pain but the boy cried ehn, neighbours were asking me what happened the next morning.
ReplyDeleteFor my 3rd too, I did not feel the pain but the boy so cried that I started pitying him. Coupled with the fact that he was a picky eater. For more than one week he was dragging my cloth, he lost weight but I made up my mind not to go back.