This is a really sad story!!!
A TikTok user MC B of Minnesota, who resides in the United States raised concerns about a 79-year-old Nigerian woman who was allegedly thrown out by her Black American employer. The elderly woman, who had been working as a nanny, is now facing severe health issues, including kidney failure.
Discovery at the Homeless Shelter
According to Narrator, her attention was drawn to the situation when a colleague informed her about an elderly woman speaking her language and crying . The woman’s belongings including her medications had reportedly been thrown out by her employer.
Upon arriving at the shelter, the narrator approached the woman and asked in Yoruba what had happened. The woman explained that her employer no longer wished to accommodate her and stated that she no longer needed a nanny.
Background and Work Conditions
The elderly woman shared that she had traveled to the US on a visit visa at the request of her children. Initially, she had stayed with another older woman while they both searched for work. However, when her companion relocated to Nigeria, she was left stranded. Eventually, she was sent to Minnesota for a nanny job, which she began in June 2024
Her job required her to take care of three children while her employer was away from 5 AM to 10 PM daily. She was promised $850 in wages, but she was not paid for eight months. During this period, she fell sick and was diagnosed with kidney failure. Her employer, upon learning about the high medical bills, refused to take responsibility for her treatment.
Her Struggles and Family’s Response
During a TikTok live session, the elderly woman was crying as she recounted her ordeal. That night, she was taken to the shelter.
A TikTok viewer later identified the woman, stating that she had previously worked for her in Chicago. When she realized she was sick, she advised her to return to Nigeria, especially since the person she had initially come to see in the US was no longer around. However, the elderly woman refused, insisting she could not go back because she had to work to send money to her adult kids.
Attempts were made to contact her children in Nigeria, but they insisted that she stay in the US. Her former employer disclosed that she sends all her earnings back to Nigeria, does not spend on herself, and does not buy her medication. Despite being urged to stop working due to her age, she refused, citing her need to support her five grown children, aged between 45 -55 years old.
Repeated attempts to call her children on phone was unsuccessful
What do we call this now? Enslaving yourself because of your adult children. This is not normal abeg.
ReplyDeleteI can't wrap my head around why a 79 years old woman has to work to cater for her grown kids. I need to background story.
ReplyDeleteGod Abeg ooo
ReplyDeleteHer Children is Suppose To Be Taking Care Of Her At This Stage and Age..
Why Still Working and Sending Money To Full Grown up Children
God Forbid abeg..
I Pray For Heavenly Healing Upon Her...
Attempts were made to contact her children in Nigeria, but they insisted that she stay in the US. Her former employer disclosed that she sends all her earnings back to Nigeria, does not spend on herself, and does not buy her medication. Despite being urged to stop working due to her age, she refused, citing her need to support her five grown children, aged between 45 -55 years old.
ReplyDeleteIs this not ment? Abi what is this?Are these ones still children? 😡
Mama, pls relocate to Naija & rest small 🤗
Adunni
This is so sad.
ReplyDeleteWhy is she sending money to her grown up kids. Are they not the ones that are supposed to take care of her?
Oh my God!! May God not let us birth irresponsible children. 45 to 55 expect their old mother to still work on her condition and send to them. Those kids are wicked and selfish and it will never be well with them.
ReplyDeleteA woman almost 80 who should be resting and being pampered. I am really irritated by this post.
I pray Help comes to her and she's well cared for.
Nawao. Please what do we call this now? A 79 year old woman enslaving herself inorder to take care of her adult kids.
ReplyDeleteIf you ask her she will say love of a mother.. what rubbish!
DeletePoint of correction, "in order to take care of her adult efulefus" biko.
DeleteImagine telling her not to come back for their own selfish benefits.
I pity her sha💔.
The problem is that whoever will help the old woman, will end up bearing her children’s responsibilities too. It’s clear that her children rely on her, when the reverse should be the case at her age.
ReplyDeleteA 79 years old woman wey supposed dey enjoy retirement dey work under cold condition to cater for her very very very useless children.
ReplyDeleteGod go punish them walahi.
Aged mother working in order to send money to her grown up children in Nigeria, mama don over pamper the children when they were small.
ReplyDeleteThis is what happens when mothers overpamper their children. In old age, you will bear the brunt of their faulty upbringing and the entitlement mentality you groomed into them.
ReplyDeleteIf not how else do you explain this?
I am so surprised people are sounding as if this is not Nigeria. So far she lives abroad, everyone will lay their tents on her land. Same as relatives and friends strangle Nigerians living abroad as if the problems of Nigeria will be solved by Diaspora
ReplyDeleteWho took her to the USA or who was her first host?
ReplyDeleteThe story from the Source is not clear.
Like in the other post on this type of issue, there is a middle story that the parties (the claimed victims) cover up to enable them ride the law as the ass it sometime is.
@15:48 the post clearly stated the old woman went to visit her equally old friend who later relocated back to Nigeria.
DeleteWell, this woman CHOSE to suffer in her old age for her adult offsprings.
Please check if she has dementia or something. This story is very hard to believe as is.
ReplyDeleteThe employer was smart. Paying you 850, you refuse to buy your meds and you send all your money home . Hasn’t even worked up to a year for the employer. She was a bad story waiting to explode. The employer no try to employ 79 year old woman sha. They should look for someone younger
ReplyDeleteWoow, her children are heartless, this one na elder abuse...what a greedy lot!
ReplyDeleteWicked children
ReplyDeleteAt 79years!! Whao! After realizing your mum's ill health, you still want her suffering.When she dies,they will borrow money to buy fat cows and aso - ebi to celebrate her.
ReplyDeleteMay we not give birth to evil children.
End time family
ReplyDeleteNa wa o...
ReplyDeletePray not to birth selfish children .
ReplyDeleteChai. May God open another door
ReplyDeleteHow many years mama wan train her children? For over four decades!!! She sef na wa! Anyone in their 40s who is still being fed by their parents is a waste!