Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Antar Laniyan Reveals The Things He Missed While Making Movies..

Monday, July 07, 2025

Actor Antar Laniyan Reveals The Things He Missed While Making Movies..

Veteran actor Antar Laniyan revealed that he once missed both his father's burial and the birth of his daughter because of professional commitments.

Sharing an example, he said: “I didn’t attend my father’s burial because I had committed myself for a set and collected payment. The Igbo producer would not allow me to go. I had to find a way to send my younger brothers and made sure they recorded it on VHS so I could see how it all went.”

He also recalled the birth of his daughter Ife, who was delivered via caesarean section, and how he left his wife in the hospital to film Strange Woman.

“My wife understood and urged me to go, saying nothing would happen to her. Andy Amaenechi was the director and he had to rush my scenes. I left around 12 midnight and trekked from Ojuelegba to Mushin.”
Laniyan said experiences like that are why he has no tolerance for flimsy excuses.

The Nation

8 comments:

1. It's was your choice Oga to miss your father's burial and your daughter's birth. This your excuses didn't cut it please

2. Very silly excuse!
    You didn't want to attend please cos I wonder if it's same yoruba movies we know or another. Your movies are shot within weeks and your locations are within reach so you have no excuse oga🙄🙄

1. So if they arrested him for chopping the money and not shoring up, will you provide lawyer

3. I don't understand his explanation

4. Did the movies make box office? 😂😂😂

5. Antar is a no nonsense guy where duty calls o .

6. Which kain work you dey do wey go make you miss your dads funeral???and you are putting the blame on your IGBO producer.

7. He's always been a disciplined and committed thespian and a decent man as well. I wish him more and more success.