Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Halle Berry''s First Husband Reveals Why Their Marriage Crashed..

Friday, August 15, 2025

Actress Halle Berry''s First Husband Reveals Why Their Marriage Crashed..

Former MLB star, David Justice 59, appeared on an episode of Matt Barnes’ “All the Smoke” podcast and candidly revealed what led to his and Berry’s 1997 divorce.
It will shock you!

He said
‎“Because I was young and I had only, honestly, been in one relationship before her, my knowledge and my understanding, my wisdom around relationships just wasn’t vast."
‎So, I’m looking at my mom and I’m a Midwest guy, So, in my mind, I’m thinking a wife at that time should cook, clean. Then I’m thinking, ‘OK, if we have kids, is this the woman I want to have kids with and build a family with?
‎At that time, as a young guy, she don’t cook, don’t clean, don’t really seem like motherly, and then we start having issues, I’ll say this, we never had any issues about any women, other men.”

‎On the podcast, Justice explained that his and Berry’s romance didn’t get “a lot of negative attention” from the press “until I decided to leave her in 1996.”

‎“She asked me to marry her after knowing me for five months,. I said OK, because I couldn’t say no. But I don’t know if my heart was really into it, but I didn’t want to make her feel bad and say no, you know. I was just in the moment.”

‎The baseball legend also said the exes “spent a lot of time apart” when Berry got busier in her career.
‎“We honestly probably could have made it if I knew about therapy, If we knew about therapy, we probably could have made it.”Justice admitted

‎Justice recalled that after “the honeymoon stage was over,” he told Berry he was leaving her, much to the Oscar winner’s chagrin.
‎The retired athlete also alleged that he became the bad guy to the public after their split, especially years later when Berry accused an unnamed ex of abuse and didn’t clarify that it wasn’t Justice.

‎“She let the world think it. She didn’t come out and say, ‘Nah, it wasn’t David. She let the world think that it was me. That, I never appreciated with her. I thought she was dead wrong for that. I thought she should’ve handled that better.” justice explained “that girl really did love me. I can see why she was so mad at me.”

‎ New York post

30 comments:

1. You where young ok, which one be you can't say no meaning you don't know what you want abi πŸ™„
    Story for the gods mcteeww πŸ˜”

1. Why you com dey vex πŸ˜€

2. Some women thought that being celebrities give ticket to perfection. Your home should come first because that's where happiness/family is.

2. He married of the dirty bvs. Can't wash, can't clean, can't cook.

See as e dey go.

Same thing that crashed Cardi B's marriage.

1. Cheating men want to be treated same way devoted husbands are. There are levels to everything in this life. Imagine the effrontery these dudes were slinging dack for the community then bringing their dirty dacks home expecting to be treated like a kings, boy bye!

2. 10:53
      He made it clear there was no extra marital issues in the split
      So what is the point?
      Yet, she did not exclude him when she made the Dv accusation against an Ex, letting him to be whipped. Typical of some women as we see here too.

3. Like he wants Halle be cooking and cleaning up after him like a child Abi❗️when she can hire people to do that..only an unhappy man would bring something like this up decades later..jealous & insecure men everywhere

Her birthday was yesterday, she tweeted she’s cooking, cleaning and mothering πŸ˜…πŸ˜… i like that pettiness

1. When your son is grown up, I hope you will advise him to marry a woman that does not know how to clean or cook.

2. He had a right to expect what he expected.
      He did not say he forced her when he found out she could not.
      We make marriage appear that only women should expect benefits from it.

There are men who are doing all home chores and providing 100% marital finance. And on the one a woman is biologically fitted for they get trash.

Make una rest.

3. If you that is supposed to advocate these common attributes of a homely wife, is trying this hard to sound woke? Then it's truly finished expecting anything better from our modern amotekums!

4. 10.29, you and your cohorts here are the type that turn out to be mothers/fathers in-law! You refuse to train your sons to be self-reliant and then expect him to wait on a woman to clean and feed him? Shame on you!

My teenage sons cook, clean and attend to other house chores as well as my husband! They don't even see it as a gender thing, who gets home first prepares dinner for everyone. Is your son handicapped that he wouldn't be able to cook and clean? You and your son will wait till eternity for that kind of woman, yeye family! That is how you breed entitled boys that are supposed to be men!

4. @anon 08:49 if not married, kindly go and marry someone who can cook, clean and even bath you!

5. He Just Put All The Blame On Her.. hmmmmm πŸ™„
    That Is Why is Not good To Marry A Baby Boy

1. You sure say you read the Post? Or na only Stella headline you read?

6. ".... because I couldn't say no". Ok. πŸ™„πŸšΆ‍♂️

1. He shouldn't have married her in the first place.

7. I can cook sometimes but I ain't into any hardcore cleaning. Most I will do is laundering private things like towels, bedsheets and underwear, and that is for your dignity, sir. If I love you enough I may throw in cleaning the personal bathroom. But I am not going to be doing all that.

I think every woman will do a few things for their man. Jennifer Garner is very family oriented, cooking, cleaning and taking good care of her children and husband and her azz still got cheated on.

1. Thank God most of you know, you're no good for any real man or human, that's why ya all never forget to go anon when you want to lay bear your failures.

2. From the Post:
      "I’ll say this, we never had any issues about any women, other men.”

Cases are or should be judged per the facts of each case.

3. Thank you o! These men are always changing the goalposts. He is getting dragged severally on social media. Cooking and cleaning are life skills and not gender specific. Only a wicked man would like someone who works 12 to 18 hours a day on set to then come back and be cooking and cleaning when she is also a breadwinner. Ndi 50/50 submissive provider husbands.

4. 12:28, when they cannot afford to keep a wife at home and she must be working 40 hrs or more weekly and take care of young children for years they still want her to again come and labour in house. Then they complain about stretch marks and droopy breast while they look for her upgrade to spend on and have fun with. Please!

I have one person I know whose wife used to wake up from 4am to prepare for the day, including doing his breakfast and lunch . He had to do nothing. A birdy tweeted that one day when she was gone to work he waltzed in a young woman in his house. Another even accused him of getting her pregnant, he rejected and refused. Yet his wife was like no other. She laboured for his comfort. Stroll got no respect.

5. @11:44
      Well said. To remember the way most of the women here put down men, especially Nigerian men, hmmmnn.

8. Atink una talk say Oyibo men no dey expect anything of or from their wives.

#Yinmu

9. Sounds like a classic case of a man who saw struggle in his mother and thought that was what love should look like in a woman. He wanted a partner who fit his narrow checklist, and when Halle didn’t match that, he turned bitter for decades. Meanwhile, Halle has gone from strength to strength, thriving in her career and life, while he’s washed up and still talking about a breakup from 30 years ago. Let’s not forget, she filed for divorce first and took out a restraining order against him. Some men never heal because holding onto resentment feels easier than growing up. I feel sorry for his current wife. H sounds like an entitled narcissist.

1. This πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―

Domestic chores are life saving skills not gender based roles.

10. Mumu man. You revealed yourself when you said she asked you to marry her. She didn’t force you now. You could’ve said no if you were not ready, but instead you said yes, went through with it, and now decades later painting it like you were some helpless victim. That’s not on her, that’s on you for lacking the courage to be honest back then. Who's to say you are not lying now?

11. Cooking and cleaning still don't keep a man or a home. πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

12. This baby Man still crying after how many years. Go get yourself your slave womanwife oga.

13. Exes who don’t leave their exes out of their business are just sick, especially when you’re the one that dumped them.

14. This is evidence that emotionally immatured spouses are reasons why couples break. Mature first then go marry, abeg. Small thing a matured mind will manage well is usually why couples get divorced.