Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of A Person Living With A Positive Status

Saturday, August 30, 2025

Chronicle Of A Person Living With A Positive Status

I saw a news recently that WHO has approved twice yearly injections as hiv treatment. This is a very good news, I pray it's available in Africa soon.

It has a lot of benefits for people living with hiv, we won't have to be hiding our drugs cos no more drugs and also just 2 visit to the hospital in a year, this is a very good development.

I dislike going to the clinic even though I don't show it, but that place gives me a kind of anxiety especially when my clinic days is getting closer, there's this kind of feeling I have whenever I visit there, especially trying to avoid people that may know you .

So many advantages with this new development, people will hardly miss their dosage, some people react badly to the drug. Someone told me the drugs makes her throw up, so she sometimes misses her dose .I hope this injection will be okay for everyone.

Living with hiv is not easy.

5 comments:

1. This is a good development. Obviously, going to the clinic causes you a lot of stress, and if you feel it, likely many other patients do too. Twice yearly injections sounds like a relief, the convenience is great. However, those who hate injections may not like it.

2. Great news 🎉
    I pray it won't come with lots of side effects to HIV patients.

3. The drug almost lead to my death 14 yrs ago. I was down with STEVE JOHNSON SYNDROME due to reaction from Neveripine.
    3weeks in maitama hospital no food, my eyes were completely closed for 2weeks and I was also 6 months pregnant then.. In all I give God the glory

4. I understand you perfectly well. I remember when I had TB I was expected to come to the clinic every 2 weeks to come and collect my drugs. Shame wan wound me oh... I think later they now shifted it to once a month. It was one of the worst moments of my life. And TB is 9 months treatment. Imagine HIV that is for life. I really pray that twice a year works. It's not easy jare. Even that time I had TB I could remember the stigma. Till tomorrow I don't know how I contacted TB