In a statement signed by the ‘Administrator of the Estate of the Late Mrs Esther Ibeto’, the family said Uche’s claim was completely false and totally untrue.
The family noted that the property in question was duely and lawfully sold, adding that the buyer took possession as the rightful and lawful owner. The singer, Uche Ibeto, is the third child of the Late Mrs Esther Ibeto and not the Administrator of the Estate or the sole owner of the property, the family stressed in the statement.
Parts of the statement read, “The attention of the Estate of Late Mrs Esther Ibeto has been drawn to spurious, malicious and utterly misleading publications recently sponsored in the press by Ms. Uche Ibeto, a disgruntled beneficiary of the Estate, who has deliberately sought to mislead the public and undermine the lawful administration of the Estate.
“Ms. Uche Ibeto is the third child of the Late Mrs Esther Ibeto. She is not the Administrator of the Estate and is not the sole owner of the property. She has absolutely no legal right, title, or authority to make unilateral claims over the Estate or to parade herself as the owner. Her actions amount to a deliberate usurpation of the powers of the Administrator and are unlawful.
“The property has been sold and the buyer took possession of the property as the rightful and lawful owner.
“The Estate wishes to state in the clearest possible terms that Ms Uche Ibeto’s claim of ownership or allegations of unlawful eviction are completely and totally false. For the record and for all intents and purposes, the property belonging to the Estate of the Late Mrs. Esther Ibeto has been sold and there are no issues of forgery of any document with respect to the property.”

Why evite a child from her mother's house because she's not the first child?
ReplyDeleteNo because she’s a female child but when there’s problems in the family they remember the daughters to come help them. Ndi ojoor
DeleteSo Bad
DeleteYou are right @Fan Emmanuel nah Time them go know say They get Senior Sister Ada
I don't think she was given information prior the house being sold. That's not a nice thing to do.
DeleteThey didn't do well
DeleteE no go better for una. God will punish all of you evil brothers from Igbo land where a woman can only inherit family curses but not even a pin from the family. All Igbo brothers except the kind ones
ReplyDeleteFan nwannem it is indeed an ikegwuru situation.
DeleteVery wicked tradition.
Seconded by me
DeleteFan Emmanuel, that tradition has been overruled by the courts and Nigeria's Constitution.
DeleteThe female child is entitled to inheritance from their parents including landed properties.
Very evil tradition. She can't inherit from the father, now she can't also inherit from the mother!
DeleteThey are all so evil and many of our women are enabler of this evil. Anyways, thank God my father was not rich., and I was among the ones that actually got inheritance by good education., and the funny thing is that I’m the one carrying that family financially now. But you see ehn, I have only daughters and I plan to buy properties and befit them, I’m not adopting or surrogating any son. If their father like, let him befit them or adopt a son and give his properties to his siblings. He was okay with his his daughters and never wanted more kids but na him know. I’m going to tell my daughters never to will any property I gave them to any child on account of them being a male. As a matter of that, those my properties must always remain in the daughter’s lineage. Yes I’m starting if. They can give them to their daughters and continue that way. Let the fathers continue giving to their son’s .
DeleteDon’t carry family financially, train, educate and give support. Cut off
DeleteEven if she is not the administrator, was she duly notified of the sale? If she was a tenant sef she will be duly notified.
ReplyDeleteDid she also get her own share from the sale?
As una dey heap Blames and Causes on the act and traditions, let us also ask if this case is polygamously originated as na only polygamy children dey fight over inherited properties.
ReplyDelete#Yinmu
Na her mama property. You dey here dey talk of polygamy
DeleteYou will not reason well now. Didn't you read that it's the mother's property? Please learn to analyze things properly before you choose whose side to be on.
DeleteUntil the igbos abolish that wicked tradition where female child is denied inheritance.
ReplyDeleteSince the tradition still exists, female children should also help themselves by not depending on their parents' properties. Some stupid parents who think its only when they are on their death bed they should share their properties. If you have plenty properties to share, be good enough to share them before leaving the world. You dont want to know that in your absence, your kids were fighting over properties.
DeleteNot nice. In my place or even here South West, all the children gets something from oldest to youngest, male & female. I thought they have stopped this tradition 😐
DeleteIts been Law now for more than a decade that Female Igbo Children have a right to inheritance.
DeleteFight for your right o.
Igbo misogyny is deep , cruel and hateful
DeleteIf she was informed, will she bring still be in the house? Wicked people!
ReplyDeleteYou sold her residence without her notice?😠😠😠
ReplyDeleteThis is a very wicked thing to do😡😡
ReplyDeleteYou sold her mother's house without her consent!
ReplyDeleteWhat sort of wickedness is this?
I am Igbo
ReplyDeleteIn my culture you can’t evict a child from their parents house
Even if you are the first born or you inherited it
You can only buy land elsewhere build for them and move them to it if not you are totally wrong and in trouble
What most parents do is to share their properties and create Ala Obi for everyone
Regardless you can’t chase anybody out of their fathers house when their parent die
That said, we are igbos but have different cultures
If her culture isn’t same as mine
She should’ve gotten ready
However the brother should relocate her
Thank you for your informative comment. The challenge is that most inheritance customs relating to land property are rarely strictly enforced outside the ancestral homeland of the late property owner.
DeleteFor example, the Binis have a tradition on the inheritance of the home (called Igiogbe) of a father. But if the father build the home outside Bini land, the Supreme Court of Nigeria says that the Bini tradition of inheritance will not apply to that home.
This is ill treatment,why sell the property when a child is still living there? This can happen anywhere when selfish people are involved.