Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Late Arise TV Anchor Sommie’s Father Says Her Death Is Suspicious And Demands Probe

Tuesday, October 21, 2025

Late Arise TV Anchor Sommie’s Father Says Her Death Is Suspicious And Demands Probe

Engineer Ifeanyi Maduagwu, the father of the late Arise TV journalist, Somtochukwu Maduagwu, has urged the police and other security agencies to uncover the factual circumstances surrounding his daughter’s death.
He insisted that the accounts being circulated “don’t add up.”

‎Somtochukwu tragically died on the night of September 29, 2025 after unidentified assailants attacked her residence in Katampe, Abuja,.

Reports alleged that she fell from a three-storey building while attempting to flee from the attackers. However, her father has strongly refuted the account.

‎Speaking in an interview with BBC Igbo in Port Harcourt, Mr. Maduagwu maintained that his daughter’s death was suspicious and demanded a thorough investigation to uncover the truth.

‎“What I know is that my daughter, Sommie Tochukwu Christelle Maduagwu, did not and would never jump from a building.I believe my daughter was killed.”

‎The grieving father described his daughter as intelligent, lively, and someone afraid of heights.

‎"Sommie loved her life so much. If you keep Sommie on top of a table and ask her to jump down, she can't jump down, let alone jumping down from a three-storey building. That is a lie. I want the police to investigate the incident properly to unravel the truth because the truth is still hidden,” he said.

‎He lamented that she didn’t get timely help after the incident.

‎“I heard that when it happened, they called for help, but none came quickly,” he said.
‎“Even when she was taken to the hospital, they delayed attending to her because they asked for identification papers. All those things broke my heart.”

‎Her father recalled his last conversation with her.

‎“We talked about so many things, but what made me happy was that she said she was ready to settle down soon.
‎“Somtochukwu cared about others. When she woke up, all she thought about was how to make life better for people. She always said she wanted to change how things are done in Nigeria. She wanted to go into politics someday, maybe even become a senator.”

‎ Sahara reporters

16 comments:

1. God forgive me, I suspect Ojy Okupe or whatever her name is. The co anchor on Arise TV i can't place a finger on why

2. It is only a fool that does not know that this girl was killed. If you dig further, you will not be too suprised to find that it's either a jealous friend who might have killed her bcos of man matter or a married woman who probably the husband was toasting her or she was prevy to a very serious news tip that was damaging. Most fine girls wey dey die for nijia? Na usually jealousy. May her soul rest well. Daddy take heart.

1. One these is a truth

2. Shut up your dirty mouth and let the police do their job. That's if there's police in Nigeria. Dumb comment.

3. You cannot really say,what one can do,when panicking or terrified. It's a confusing state of mind. 😌😌😌

4. But if that was true, she was not dead as at when people got to her, and no where did I read about her telling the people who first responded to her about anyone pushing or shoving her down, I believe that would have been the first thing out of her mouth if this narrative were true imo.
      I feel really sorry for the dad in all these.

3. My condolences sir
    May her soul continue to rest in peace

4. Truly the story behind her death does not add up, the police should do their findings.

5. My condolences to the family, may justice be done

6. I feel very sad 😒😭. Only God can heal the wound this has caused in the hearts of her parents and siblings....

7. Continue to rest in peace beautiful. πŸ™πŸΏπŸ˜”

8. Of course, it looks suspicious

9. Well, I have an inkling that the so-called friend who posted their last chat has something to do with the killing. Investigation should start from there..a jealous rage, a love crime. He'd been friends for ages, he never had her, therefore no one would.
    A beautiful soul who had kept her morals. It's sad!

10. I totally agree. It doesn't add up that someone would want to jump for. Three storey building

11. I understand adrenaline and the instinct to protect one's self by running or jumping. What I don't understand was the robbers begging her not to jump but she jumped. I mean how can someone jump to the hands of those they were trying to escape. Sometimes, some things will never make sense. RIP, beautiful.