She posted
''Dear Diary,
This morning as I walked out my front door to head to the gym, my 11 year old son asked me a question about same sXx relationships. The “African parent” in me would have loved to dismiss it and just say something like “Because the Bible says…”, but I understand how very important it is in this day and age to have these deep, seemingly uncomfortable talks with our children. So I stopped in my tracks, looked in his eyes, turned around and led him back into the house. We sat and talked for close to 30 minutes, his little brain trying to understand why the world is so confusing. I was very patient and answered every question adding a bit of humor to it.
Parental tip: Adding humor helps them relax and ask more questions.
Gone are the days of pretending certain conversations don’t exist. No more shying away from hard talk.
The world our children are growing up in is different. Identity. SXxuality. Expression. It’s all out there — in their schools, on their screens, on the streets and even subtly in cartoons, movies, and books.
There are silent references to same-sxx relationships and LGBTQ+ themes everywhere now — and as parents, there’s only so much we can shield them from.
Whether we agree with everything or not, we owe them understanding, not silence.
Talk to your children. Teach them empathy, kindness, and respect.
Because ignorance doesn’t protect them anymore— awareness does
This morning as I walked out my front door to head to the gym, my 11 year old son asked me a question about same sXx relationships. The “African parent” in me would have loved to dismiss it and just say something like “Because the Bible says…”, but I understand how very important it is in this day and age to have these deep, seemingly uncomfortable talks with our children. So I stopped in my tracks, looked in his eyes, turned around and led him back into the house. We sat and talked for close to 30 minutes, his little brain trying to understand why the world is so confusing. I was very patient and answered every question adding a bit of humor to it.
Parental tip: Adding humor helps them relax and ask more questions.
Gone are the days of pretending certain conversations don’t exist. No more shying away from hard talk.
The world our children are growing up in is different. Identity. SXxuality. Expression. It’s all out there — in their schools, on their screens, on the streets and even subtly in cartoons, movies, and books.
There are silent references to same-sxx relationships and LGBTQ+ themes everywhere now — and as parents, there’s only so much we can shield them from.
Whether we agree with everything or not, we owe them understanding, not silence.
Talk to your children. Teach them empathy, kindness, and respect.
Because ignorance doesn’t protect them anymore— awareness does

Good a thing he asked and thank you for explaining it very well to him.
ReplyDeleteWetin she explain abeg. Be like I miss am
DeleteWow!
ReplyDeleteHer son is 11 already!
Well done Damilola
You have not said what you told him ooo. I would love to hear. Parents and the LG.BTQ community, please what ould you tell or advice your children, nieces and nephews.
ReplyDeletePlease let's here and learn from you
If you don't have that talk with them, they will.have it with outsiders, and most times the outcome is not good.
ReplyDeleteIf we, African parents shy away from sex discussion with our children,, the outcome is always disastrous.
ReplyDeleteThat's very good of her 👍
ReplyDeleteNiceeeeeee 👍
ReplyDeleteMy Own Done Begin Ask Me o
Very important as a parent dor your kids to hear it from you so that you can guide th hem to make informed decisions.
ReplyDeleteIf you don't,the streets will do it for you!
*for*
Delete*them*
Well done Dammy 👏
ReplyDelete‘Because ignorance doesn’t protect them anymore— awareness does ‘ facts on facts
I pray God will continue to give parents the grace to guide ,teach their wards in the right path so that the agenda against them won’t stand 👏
My son asked me what is sidechic and I avoided the question 😭
ReplyDeleteI asked him if he meant side kick and went on to explain sidekick, but he listened and still asked what side chic is? i asked him where he heard such word, he gave me a bull shit response and I avoided the question.
I need to do better
Gifty
He will get the answer from a different source and the source may not be good. Answer his questions will age appropriate answers next time
DeleteEven in western world where sex education is taught in schools and at home there is still disastrous consequences. Where there is no self discipline and morals imbibed into anybody forget it people will still misbehave
ReplyDeleteShikenna!
DeleteYou ended up tell him notting.
ReplyDeleteA very wise step . If you don't educate them in love, they will learn it from outside
ReplyDeleteThat last line is so apt. My daughter knows everything and all I do now is pray and remove adult materials from everywhere.
ReplyDeleteAs a Christian, what ever the Bible says, is what I will be teaching my children about same s*x relationship
ReplyDeleteWhat the Bible says:
Gen. 1:27
Gen: 2:24
Leviticus 8:22
Leviticus 20:13
Romas: 1:24-32
1st cor. 6:9
1st Timothy 1:10