Some kidnapped students of Government Girls Secondary School, Maga, Kebbi State, were released on Tuesday with the government claiming that no ransom was paid before their release.
But a video has surfaced online revealing that the government had negotiated with the abductors before the girls were set free.
In the clip shared by AM_Saleeem on X, one of the armed men is heard questioning the schoolgirls about military aircraft that flew over the forest during their captivity.
He asks how many jets passed above them, and the girls respond, “uncountable.”
The kidnapper then boasts that the authorities could not rescue the students by force and had to negotiate. The abductors also asked the girls about their condition in captivity.
“Did we leave you hungry?” one bandit asked.
“No,” the girls replied.
“Were you assaulted in any way?” he asked again.
“No,” they answered.
Another kidnapper told them, “We will take you back home safe to your parents, we are doing this based on peace deals.”
He also mocked the government again, asking, “How many helicopters did you see hover around?” The students replied that they could not count them.
At the end of the video, one of the abductors declared, “We are letting you go after negotiations. Your government cannot rescue you with might. Your government has failed.”
The footage appeared shortly after Kebbi State governor, Nasir Idris and the Minister of State for Defence, Bello Matawalle, announced that all abducted students had been freed.
The girls, who were kidnapped after armed men stormed their school and killed the vice-principal, were later seen smiling inside a bus as officials prepared to transport them to Birnin Kebbi, the state capital.
Authorities have said the students will be handed over to their parents today (Wednesday).
In the clip shared by AM_Saleeem on X, one of the armed men is heard questioning the schoolgirls about military aircraft that flew over the forest during their captivity.
He asks how many jets passed above them, and the girls respond, “uncountable.”
The kidnapper then boasts that the authorities could not rescue the students by force and had to negotiate. The abductors also asked the girls about their condition in captivity.
“Did we leave you hungry?” one bandit asked.
“No,” the girls replied.
“Were you assaulted in any way?” he asked again.
“No,” they answered.
Another kidnapper told them, “We will take you back home safe to your parents, we are doing this based on peace deals.”
He also mocked the government again, asking, “How many helicopters did you see hover around?” The students replied that they could not count them.
At the end of the video, one of the abductors declared, “We are letting you go after negotiations. Your government cannot rescue you with might. Your government has failed.”
The footage appeared shortly after Kebbi State governor, Nasir Idris and the Minister of State for Defence, Bello Matawalle, announced that all abducted students had been freed.
The girls, who were kidnapped after armed men stormed their school and killed the vice-principal, were later seen smiling inside a bus as officials prepared to transport them to Birnin Kebbi, the state capital.
Authorities have said the students will be handed over to their parents today (Wednesday).
from dailypost

There was a country
ReplyDeleteMake una dey support, defend and make excuses for this government dey go na.
ReplyDeleteOh dear 😥😥😥
ReplyDeleteHow did we get here as a nation?
This is depressing
Imagine
ReplyDeleteThe way these people ridicule this govt is so shameful honestly. It shows that the govt is powerless.
ReplyDeleteReally 😳, So the government cannot fight these bandits, What a wawu 😱