Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Govt Introduces Bill To Stop Landlords From Evicting Tenants

Tuesday, December 16, 2025

Lagos State Govt Introduces Bill To Stop Landlords From Evicting Tenants

The Lagos State Government has introduced the Tenancy and Recovery of Premises Bill 2025, which makes it illegal for landlords to evict tenants without a valid court order.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s administration presented the draft bill to the Lagos House of Assembly in December 2025 in response to widespread reports of landlords forcefully evicting tenants, often by cutting utilities or breaking into apartments.

5 comments:

1. Please shift. You cannot control,what you have no input. 🙄🙄🙄

2. How man low-cost housing protects has he completed and rented out to the low-earning Lagos residents to ease the high cost of rent???

None of you Lagos governors from 1999 have been able to do 1% of the development and housing protects that the late Alhaji Lateef Jakande accomplished as Lagos State governor except Fashola who cleaned up Lagos.

1. Where did you provide the low cost land, labor, cement, iron rod or aluminum products? Where will you drive property values down with "low cost" housing that will require high cost maintenance and will water down the efforts of tax paying citizens who borrow and strive to become house owners? Where will these houses be situated in tiny Lagos with an overpopulation problem?

Stay in your village, towns and state capitals, you won't hear. You'll leave your bush for Lagos and be complaining.

What prizes are Jakande' low cost houses going for to buy or rent now? What about those built by Thatcher's predecessors? You won't find anymore unbiased stable industry like real estate. The price reflects the reality.

Reducing the incentive to build means limiting supply and therefore, raising the price via scarcity. What I can't rent as a landlord, I will upgrade to motel or shortly. I will borrow against it and enter the stock market. I will rent in USD through brokers online or kuku enter Airbnb. No naira-earning scammer will stress me. Returnees will also find

If you can't afford to leave in Lagos, join your cousins back home. Sagamu and Ibadan, congratulations on rising prices due to increased demand especially if rail transport is reliable. If prices charged are excessive, reduced demand will bring them down.

2. You talk too much anon 23.05