Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FIIRO Warns Of Heavy Metal Contamination From Local Grinding Machines...

Tuesday, February 17, 2026

FIIRO Warns Of Heavy Metal Contamination From Local Grinding Machines...

The best is buying a home blender!

FIIRO (Federal Institute of Industrial Research, Oshodi) has alerted the public that commonly used locally made grinding machines can leach heavy metals like lead, copper, chromium, nickel, cadmium, manganese, iron, and zinc into food during processing, with levels in some cases exceeding WHO and FAO safety limits, especially in polluted, high‑traffic areas.

Long‑term consumption of these contaminated foods may contribute to organ damage, heart disease, and kidney failure.
The institute’s Director‑General Dr. Jummai Adamu Tutuwa warned.

To address the risk, FIIRO developed a multipurpose stainless steel pepper grinding machine that resists corrosion and metal leaching, and the institute is working to share the design with local manufacturers so the safer machines can be produced at scale to protect households and small food businesses.

24 comments:

1. One person's business is going down while another is about to take over. This life sha.

1. That's how I perceived it
      The market place is big enough for everyone

2. Electricity is the problem oh. I have a blender at home but I xnt remember the last time I used it to blend tomatoes. I blend my tomatoes peper at the market as I am not sure there will be light when I get back home. We will have to restrategise

2. How dey wan take ground pepper and tomatoes for parties, even beans for moinmoin. Many people are aware of this, but as money for blender no dey nko.

1. That's the question begging for answer o.
      Party pepper will take time to grind sef....

3. Lies. Some people have lived up to 100 years of eating moimoi amala and party jollof. The problem is with the GMO foods we eat nowadays. They're just trying to sell their market by condemning other company

4. Ok FIRO, we are waiting for your grinding machine but it shouldn't be costly.

5. It's all for our good health, weldone FIIRO.
    Let me just be saving up to buy Ninja processor as my blender cannot do everything.
    But how about party pepper in large quantity?

1. There should be some posts where bvs learn these things, I learnt as a teenager during remedial coaching during Xmas from tutors brought in to school us.

Before you get the expensive blender, when you grind at the local street mill, allow to sit out for at least 2 hours before you fry your stew or make moimoi, the particles of metal listed up there 👆 will settle at the base of your bucket,usually grey or black. Check you won't miss it.

Or, you place activated charcoal,big shiny pitch black ones on top for like 4 hours before cooking.
      I've always had home mill. It's less expensive than the price of a wig😁😂

The comments on this post are majorly basic.
      Can't deal🥴

2. XP...is that so? Little wonder I see those akara women put charcoal on grinded beans. Moimoi beans will ruin my blender...if not na house blending straight.
      Thanks dear 🤗💕

3. i think you are mistaken . your method will only grab the heavy particles. there are still others in suspension in the food. stay away from locally made mills please. You dont want to have heavy metal poisoning ,

6. Useless lies. They just want to market thier own machines. An organisation that can't be bothered to update its website since May 2025 really can't be counted on to know much about anything.

Anyone who has an idea of the steel making process knows that the heavy metals FIIRO talks about have absolutely minimal chances of being found in the final product. If FIIRO wants to market their equipment, they should go ahead without needlessly being alarmist.

1. Another one who knows more than the people who its their job to know. Keep using them then . I will not miss you from the blog. when did not having an updated website in Nigeria become a marker of efficiency? Its Not .

7. I don't believe it. This machine has been here before most of us were born, our parents and grandparents used it. There's something else you guys are not saying 🙄

I use my big blender at home so I'm not worried but I'll still use them for my plenty grains for Pap cos it won't give me that smoothe paste. Na them sabi

8. Hmmm. Buchimix blender on my mind .

9. Is it applicable to home blenders?
    Chimo.. wahala everywhere o

1. They Will wake up one day and tell you that blender is doing one thing one thing

10. Wahala
    I hope it will be affordable

11. Blender without electricity... LoL 😂
    I cannot remember the last time I used my blender because there's no light