Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pastor Sentenced To Be Unalifed For Unalifing His Landlord

Saturday, February 21, 2026

Pastor Sentenced To Be Unalifed For Unalifing His Landlord

A High Court in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, has sentenced 29-year-old pastor Prince Emmanuel Umoh (a resident pastor at Living Faith Church in the Ifa Ikot Ubo–Ifa Ikot Okpon branch, Uyo)  to death by hanging for murdering his landlord. .

The court found him guilty of killing by stabbing his landlord, Gabriel Bassey Edward on December 21, 2020. Edward was a 23 year old, 500 level Civil Engineering student at the University of Uyo. 

The trouble that led to his demise started over rent issues, access to the property, and some missing items from the late mother's belongings. 
The church had rented a hall on the property, and Umoh was posted there as the first resident pastor. Things got tense when valuables went missing, keys were lost, locks were changed, and there were arguments about rent for repairs.

On the day of the incident, neighbours heard screams. Pastor Emmanuel Umoh was seen leaving with blood on his clothes, saying he had fallen. Edward's body was later found in his room, wrapped in a mat, with several stab wounds and the murder weapon a knife was nearby the deceased.

Justice Gabriel Ette, after reviewing the evidence from witnesses and other proofs, said the prosecution proved the case beyond reasonable doubt. He called the act appalling and said life is sacred, especially for someone who claims to represent God. He then sentenced Umoh to death by hanging on Thursday, February 19, 2026.

23 comments:

1. A thief, a liar, and a merderer. Can we get back to the days when pastors had to go to a seminary for 3 years+ before they could be ordained as a pastor?

1. Seminary or not, a wicked person is a wicked person. We also hear of the sodomy and other vices perpetuated by the seminary graduates. How they sleep with young boys and ruin their lives. Others sleep with married women and young girls while claiming to be celebate

2. See him looking like a cultist. I'm sure he was a cultist in school. They will just go to that their Bible school for a few months and boom! They have become a pastor in one of their church branches. Useless people

3. Do the crime, do the time ❗️
    Wicked soul

1. There's no time to be done,he has been hanged.

2. 10:56, are you the one that hanged him?
      It must interest you to know that death sentences are hardly carried out these days, the convicts rot in jail.

4. I dey fear all this nowadays pastor..

5. A young 23 year old was made a resident pastor not even student or assistant pastor.
    He wasn't spiritually, emotionally, mentally, physically matured for that position .

Let him go face his earthly judgement .

1. You are mixing it up,23yrs old Edward was the landlord. Pastor was 29

6. I saw the video yesterday and I listened to it to the last, I'm very happy that they later sentenced him to death..they should torture him very well before hanging him..

7. What a pastor! I don't like as they're no longer carrying out death sentences, anybody that's guilty of death should be k*lled, not that they should be left in jail and keep feeding on tax payers' money.

8. What's the update on the one that kpaied the job seeker girl in the same Akwa Ibom. I heard that one is untouchable bcos he got backing.

9. Rot in hell wicked soul

10. Some of these evil Pastors that called themselves....just look at how you cut a promising life short 😨
    May you rot in jail!

11. Life is a mystery... Even men of God are not spared from the attack of the devil..

12. Pastor indeed